ULOG #2 - Parents love

in #ulog6 years ago (edited)

20180722_004815_0001.png

What an eventful week it has been, as I scrolled through my phone photo gallery in the quietness of the night, the faint breathing sound of my loved ones echoed ever so gently, signalling me to rest my eyes and dream away. I guess that's what mamas do, it's been a long g day and you're not ready to throw in the towel just yet and surrender to rest.

We just had a crazy past weekend with my younger sister getting married to her best friend and my parents just flew home yesterday.

I can't tell you how homesick I have been lately, and I still do, but I'm thanking God that my home tank is filled. I realise the more I grow the more I feel attached to home, and it feels like a little child missing home from a camp retreat. Only for me, this isn't a camp.

IMG_20180722_010911_183.jpg

Just earlier this week we were out for lunch and as we waited for my papa and my sister shopping for some bedding stuff, I was nursing the little boy while watching the little girl play with some young promoters for a children's game. My mama, she being a mama just decided that I was having a bad hair day and swiftly took out her comb and started running her hands through my hair.

I remember sitting there holding my little guy and almost cried. Almost. I can't remember the last time my mama did my hair like she did when I was in primary school. It's true, time flies and there are so many things we think we'd be doing still for a long time and before we know it, we couldn't recall when was the last. Those few minutes slowed down my inner world and made me reminisce and recapture my childhood memories. And so, I quickly took out my phone and snapped this photo to remind myself, time is fleeting, so enjoy it while it lasts.

🌸🌸🌸🌸🌸

One of the things I'm really thankful for is to see my parents enjoying their grandchildren. I can't help but beam with joy whenever my parents are around, because not only do my siblings and I get to enjoy lots of loving, my babies aren't spared from it! We get lots of hugs and kisses and just being with each other.

IMG_20180722_003531_540.jpg

IMG_20180722_003531_541.jpg

IMG_20180722_003531_539.jpg

I love seeing my parents loving on their grandchildren, and I can't wait to see my siblings have their own little ones and have them enjoy being smothered with lots of love from their grandparents.

Because of the little ones, I get to witness the different side of my parents that I have not previously seen. It's true that parents love differently when they become grandparents. I've never seen my papa being so gentle and smiley as when he plays with my babies. The way his lips curve up to form the biggest smile, and the baby sounds he try to make just to get their attention.

Those moments make my ovaries explode.

IMG_20180721_140841_955.jpg

IMG_20180721_140841_956.jpg

IMG_20180721_140841_954.jpg

I can't wait to see my parents again, and for all of us to gather together. But for now, when they are home, I'm grateful for my siblings who are around. We try to meet at least once a month especially when my brother is back. And with my two newly joined brothers-in-law, the fam just expanded with more awesomeness.

IMG_20180722_014535_124.jpg

If you're reading this and it makes you feel homesick, call home. Don't wait. 'Cause in the end, the ones closest to your heart are the ones that matter. Never take them for granted.

Sending you lots of love and hugs. 💞


20180212_193505.png

IOW COLOR LOGO.png
art and flair courtesy of @PegasusPhysics

20180516_002249_0001.png


@steemitbloggers

Asapers.gif

The STEEM Engine

Sort:  

Very beautiful memories ma, you are blessed to have such love in your family, and for the children to see that and have that at a young age, is priceless. Thanks for sharing, it made me smile. Grandpa is smitten with the babies.

Haha yes he is, thanks @lovenfreedom, glad the post made your day :) xx

Glad you were able to spend some time with your family... times like these are truly precious.

Yes, I'm so happy to be able to have some good time with family. All the eating and talking and laughing and hugs and kisses were just wonderful!

Such a beautiful story! Parents are a blessing to our families in so many ways, and you captured that very well in your post. Thanks for the wonderful reminder! 😉

Thanks a lot @mrscwin, glad you enjoyed the post. Yea, it's a blessing to have our parents around especially when they get to take part in our children's lives 😊

It’s so true. Sometimes I still get to brush my oldests hair - sometimes it’s such a chore, but sometimes I am just so thankful that I get to do that.

My parents are like that too, constantly showing me a side I didn’t know existed.

Yes, goes to show that it takes a lifetime to know someone and still be amazed that there are plenty we do not yet see or yet to discover. And we're all constantly changing and learning new things everyday :)

Hugs to you mama!

Oh, this is so sweet!! I completely understand. We moved out of state, which means a 17 hour car ride to get to our old hometown. My parents fly out here twice a year and my Dad is the same- so gentle and sweet with my kiddos. I always knew he loved us growing up,, he just worked very hard and didn't have as much time or patience to play with us, so it's nice to see this side of him with his grandkids.

As for your mom doing your hair, I almost cried too!! I remember reading somewhere to cherish memories because you never know when will be the last time you have to help your daughter wash her hair, for example. I think the author had said she was in the midst of reading a book when she heard the shower and asked who was in it. Her husband told her it was their daughter, and suddenly she realized that she hadn't asked her to come help her wash her hair and then sadly, she couldn't remember the last time she had been asked to help. That small event, that would sometimes be a nuisance, not for the child, but simply because there was so much more that also needed to be done! You know how that goes as a mom. Anyway, that story has stayed with me, and I still have to check myself and remind myself to be patient with my kids and with myself. Much love to you dear. So glad you got to capture some beautiful memories! 💖

Thanks a lot for the heartfelt comment @crowbarmama, truly made my day when I read this. I love that you made a short video sharing this in your post, and I'm grateful for the mention of this post on your page. It's true that with so many things at hand it's easy to just hustle through the days without realising that many of the little little things may be the last in its own season. May we always remind ourselves to stop and stare. Hugs to you! 💞

Oh, my heart! Hubby and I just brought our girls (23 and 18) to visit my mom last week (she lives 90 minutes away), and while we talk via text and phone a lot, there's nothing like an in-person visit to soothe the soul. I totally get that hair fixing moment, and that's so cool that you were able to memorialize it with a photo. Thanks for such a lovely reminder to appreciate our loved ones.

You're right, nothing beats meeting face to face and spending time together. It brings a lot of comfort and healing in many ways! I'm just so glad I decided to act quickly and snapped that photo, though my MA couldn't be bothered, she was clearly very busy sorting my messy hair lol! Thanks for dropping by, @traciyork.

You're very welcome, @alimamasstory! 😊

Those moments make my ovaries explode.

That's an amazing expression of joy @alimamasstory!! Blessing to you!

Lol thanks @joelai, hope you enjoyed the post as much as I do :) blessings to you too

I did, I really enjoy it!

There really is something special about about the relationship between grandparents and grandchildren isn't there? : )

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 57453.27
ETH 2928.75
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.67