The Cultivated Apothecary: Week 9 Edition 1- Your Medicinal Herb Garden Needs

in #tribesteemup6 years ago

wwww.png

Over the weekend I was reading numerous posts and articles online ranging from medical marijuana to herb gardens and uses. One article that stood out in my mind was one about Commonly Used Medicinal Plants and Herbs from a survivalist and prepping website called "Modern Survival Online; and the article was called "SHTF Apothecary- 15 Plants to Grow for All Natural Healing".

Here is the list mentioned in the article; and If I have them in my own herb and flower gardens or plans for the future to grow.


  • Garlic- I have grown garlic in the past and will do so again in the future
  • Dill- ALWAYS have in garden and dehydrated in pantry
  • Rosemary- never have grown; not sure if I will grow
  • Lavender- have in garden and will continue to grow
  • Sage- always have in garden and dehydrated in pantry
  • Ginger- attempted to grow with no success to date but will continue trying to grow
  • Chamomile- have in garden and plan to double or triple this coming season
  • Basil- always have in the garden and dehydrated in the pantry
  • Mint and Peppermint- always have in the garden and dehydrated in the pantry
  • Thyme- never have grown; unknown if I will grow
  • Oregano- always have in the garden and dehydrated in the pantry
  • John’s Wort- have seeds just didn't have room this past season
  • Echinacea- always have in the garden and dehydrated in the pantry; will be adding more next season
  • Clove- never have grown; unknown if I will grow

Others that I would consider adding are:

  • Red clover- great for making a tincture and salve; what I consider to be Mother Nature's multi-vitamin
  • Yarrow- for having a first aid salve on hand
  • Feverfew- for making a tincture for headaches, migraines and all-over pain reliever

I would highly recommend reading the above mentioned article (see link above) for more information about these herbs and plants.


The Cultivated Apothecary Series


signature.gif

banner.png

Sort:  

It's so empowering to grow your own herbs for food and medicine. When I moved from the house I was renting for 9 years in town to the country where we now live, I brought all my herbal friends with me.

One day I may have my own house, and then I will grow things

You grow so many herbs! Your meals must be delicious! :) My dream would be to have a house with a huge garden and spend time growing all sorts of veggies, fruits and herbs. What a life! :)

Interesting how different people are! I would love to grow red clover and St. John's Wort but we can't get either in SA. I always have plenty of rosemary, oregano, and feverfew. The others I try to keep although I've never grown clove

Thyme is one of my favourites both to grow and in cooking. Interesting to go through the list.

Posted using Partiko Android

I grow all but the clove and John's Wort...

This post was spotted by @theluvbug and has received a 100% upvote and a resteem.
If you would like to possibly receive future support from @theluvbug
then please make use of the #theluvbug tag.

Spreading the STEEMIT LOVE with upvotes and resteems of AWESOME Steemit content. Use #theluvbug to get my attention :)

In Proud Collaboration with @steemitbloggers
and their founder @jaynie

interested in joining the Steemit Bloggers Community?

Hi @goldendawne!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 4.672 which ranks you at #1519 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has dropped 11 places in the last three days (old rank 1508).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 388 contributions, your post is ranked at #90.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Some people are already following you, keep going!
  • The readers like your work!
  • You have already shown user engagement, try to improve it further.

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Thanks for the upvote on my last post. my family and i are into natural medicines... Following...
One thing we use a lot of is indian healing clay mixed with a little bragg's vinegar; it's great on poison ivy, bug bites etc. That and an onion poultice for tick bites..

Looks like you've been busy while I've been away... I've got lots of reading to do to catch up with your articles!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63815.31
ETH 3124.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99