The Cultivated Apothecary: Week 8 Edition 2: Calendula Salve- The Potent Skin Healer

in #steemitbloggers6 years ago (edited)


Calendula Salve Uses


Not only are these a beautiful addition to a flower, herb or vegetable garden (and a pollinator for all our bee friends), but calendula can be made into a salve; which has some great healing properties and can even be used on infant's and toddler's sensitive skin.



ca1.jpg

Calendula from my flower garden this season


Here are some common uses for calendula salve:
  • Diaper rash
  • Lip balm
  • Healing balm/salve for cuts and abrasion
  • Skin irritant soothing salve
  • Razor burns
  • Minor skin burns and sunburn
  • Insect bites
  • Dry skin/eczema
  • Facial moisturizer during arid months/seasons


▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS

Calendula Salve Recipe

  • Four ounces of infused calendula oil (fill a quart glass jar 3/4 full of dried calendula flowers then fill to brim of jar with olive, sunflower, almond oil- let sit for 6-8 weeks until flowers and medicinal properties infuse into oil then strain well with cheesecloth. Store in glass jar)
  • 1-ounce beeswax- about 2 tablespoons
  • Essential oil 20-25 drops -optional

Combine calendula oil and beeswax into a double-boiler and melt. Add essential oil and pour into prepared/clean jar for storage.



thumbnail.jpg

My finished calendula salve for the culinary apothecary herb cupboard



signature.gif

banner.png

SB-Marvel-Family.gif

Sort:  

Agreed! Making your own salves is quite empowering! I also make my own infused oils from herbs grown in the garden.

And then there is always extra, so then you have gifts to give to family and friends. I love it!!

Thanks for sharing Calendula Salve Recipe..
i will try this...

I don't make my salve with essential oils, just calendula, oil, and beewax. I make a quart at a time, and give it out to friends.

I always find your natural medicane post so interesting, I Have some calendular cream in the house froma Natural products store and findit very good

Hi @goldendawne!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 4.665 which ranks you at #1512 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has improved 3 places in the last three days (old rank 1515).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 597 contributions, your post is ranked at #145.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Some people are already following you, keep going!
  • The readers like your work!
  • You have already shown user engagement, try to improve it further.

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

I have some calendula seeds for next year. I mainly got them for their medicinal uses. I didn’t know what the flower looked like, but I see it’s a pretty one! I also wasn’t sure how to make oil from it either. Thankfully the process is easy! Takes time, but easy!

Calendula is amazing @goldendawne. Our garden is currently a picture with the pretty calendula flowers! I love adding the dried petals to my goats milk soaps

howdy this fine Friday goldendawne! wow and to think we just, or at least I did, used to think of pretty flowers as pretty flowers. Now I see that they have tremendous health, beauty and healing properties! amazing. and thank you for always bringing practical, useful, educational, informational and interesting posts!

This post was spotted by @theluvbug and has received a 100% upvote and a resteem.
If you would like to possibly receive future support from @theluvbug
then please make use of the #theluvbug tag.

Spreading the STEEMIT LOVE with upvotes and resteems of AWESOME Steemit content. Use #theluvbug to get my attention :)

In Proud Collaboration with @steemitbloggers
and their founder @jaynie

interested in joining the Steemit Bloggers Community?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63061.76
ETH 2602.70
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.75