The Cultivated Apothecary: Week 2 Edition 1: Sweet Orange Luffa Soap

in #tribesteemup6 years ago (edited)


Last week I mentioned some of my previous soap-making posts (using melt and pour) and steemians were commenting and asking for me to make a melt and pour soap... so here it is!

I have been wanting to make a luffa gourd soap for quite some time now; and I have finally found a morning to get the task done. Now I just have to wait for the soap to cure a little and I can start using it.

For melt & pour soaps, you can usually start using them in about 24-hours after making them; which I definitely plan on doing tomorrow.




soap 1.png


You can see in the above picture the soap mold. One side has the pretty flower from the mold itself and the other soap is flipped over and you can see the luffa gourd design coming through.

While I wish the orange color was more vibrant, I am quite satisfied with this batch. The orange scent is over the top.


Here is the recipe for this Sweet Orange Luffa Soap

1/2- lb Shea Butter M&P Base
1/2-lb Goats' Milk M&P Base
1-tsp Tea Tree Oil
20 drops Sweet Orange Essential Oil
Luffa Gourd cut into 1/2" sections
Red & Yellow Soap coloring

Follow directions on M&P base soap container (I also explain the melting directions in my DTube video- link below).

MAKE SURE to have a spray bottle handy to spray each individual luffa gourd piece. You want to spray the luffa all over with the rubbing alcohol; as this helps the soap stick to the luffa

NOTE- Sorry for the video. I had it set to landscape but for some reason the video is NOT taping that way

Golden D's Cultivated Apothecary Series



Golden D's Cultivated Apothecary: Week 1 Edition 1 Red Clover Salve

The Cultivated Apothecary: Week 1 Edition 2 Comfrey Salve

signature.gif

Join Us On Discord

SB-Marvel-Family.gif


▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS
Sort:  

I have never made hand/bath soap before. This looks easy. I make my own laundry soap and this seems simpler.

This is actually easier than making laundry soap.
One day I will find my pre-stain stick recipe to share. I used to make it ALL the time when the kids were younger... messy on the 5-acres of land, raising chickes, etc.. but now I don't need it as much and haven't made any in forever.

Please! I would the recipe! We have lots and lots of dirty clothes here...

howdy there @goldendawne! I've never seen anything like this product before and it looks rather remarkable! I know a hundred years ago people made their own soap but not like this!

No they sure didn't. I also make cold ad hot process soaps using lye. I'll have some of those procedures and recipes one day again too

Thank you so much for sharing your recipe!

You're very welcome! I have more soap posts planned; using the cold process and maybe even the hot process. But this was the easiest and I've been pressed for time lately.

Oh I understand! Look forward to them.

How fun! Cultivated apothecary is a great name. Have you tried using foods to colour? Like beet or tumeric? I just find you need to experiment because often the colours goes way off

No I haven't yet.. but I have been reading about the natural food dyes. I had a problem getting this orange color right.. hopefully in time I'll get better at it.

It's fun to experiment - if you have the time. But I have had too many disappointments. Adding dried petals for example which cause a reaction and make this dirty spots or introducing a food that turns scary looking

Now that reminds me! Ive been doing a little experiment and saving up old soap scraps for a long time now... Might make me some hybrid soaps, just havent got a soap mold.. I'll have to improvise.
Your idea of adding essential oils are great, i didn't /wouldn't have thought of that.
Great Job.

You can use almost anything for a soap mold. I have used aluminum muffins tins before, or even the aluminum loaf pans... just line them with parchment or wax paper so the soap doesn't stick. I used the soap molds because I want to give some away to family. My daughters LOVE the essential oils and I make a soap recipe with ground up oatmeal for my youngest daughter and grandson... he has extremely sensitive skin and the oatmeal is a great exfoliator.

Brilliant! Watch this space.

Love this series. I'm still too scared to make soap, but I'm going to do it next holidays when I have more time to think. I'm always impressed with people who make soap!

this melt and pour is super easy and with no fears. When I make lye soap (cold or hot process) I am always on high alert and extra careful. You should try the M&P... you'll love it!

I definitely will... thankyou!!! I feel it have an anxiety attack with the other way...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 53699.14
ETH 2213.00
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.28