The Cultivated Apothecary: Week 2 Edition 2: Ginger Bug Recipe

in #tribesteemup6 years ago (edited)


Making this fizzy ginger bug recipe from organic ginger I grew in my garden is a fermented starter for my future plans to make lacto-fermented sodas.

gbug.png

Did you know that in a 12-ounce serving of regular (not diet) soda pop there is about 140 calories? Some sodas are higher in calories; to me these are not beneficial and a waste of your calorie intake every day. This is just an empty calorie drink

Maltose, sucrose, glucose, dextrose and fructose- WHAT ARE THESE? And how healthy are they?



Imagine all the preservatives and chemicals... the high-fructose corn syrup all adding into an unhealthy diet.
And we wonder why obesity is on the rise.

I'll admit to being a soda addict... always had been. But recently I have been turning my passion to living healthier (and hopefully longer now that I am approaching my 50th birthday in less than two months) and thanks to fellow steemians (especially @walkerland) for their recipes and ideas on fermenting and healthier ways of life, I can profess I am on the trek to learn more about this fizzy substitute for my delegated soda serving every day.

So once this ginger bug has fermented, I will be making a lacto-fermented raspberry soda. We have some wild raspberries in the back of the property that will need to be picked in the next few days and I want to get some use out of them before the birds start flocking to them. So this seemed to be a great choice and the perfect time to experiment with this recipe.

Golden D's Cultivated Apothecary Series



Golden D's Cultivated Apothecary: Week 1 Edition 1 Red Clover Salve

The Cultivated Apothecary: Week 1 Edition 2 Comfrey Salve

The Cultivated Apothecary: Week 2 Edition 1: Sweet Orange Luffa Soap


▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS

signature.gif

Join Us On Discord

SB-Marvel-Family.gif

Sort:  

superb.

Ginger is used so widely in ayurveda(ancient indian medicine) that it is an entire medicine chest in itself. There is an ayurvedic sutra (verse) that says that everyone should eat fresh ginger just before lunch and dinner to enhance digestion. Not only does ginger stoke the digestive fire, but it also whets the appetite, improves assimilation and transportation of nutrients to targeted body tissues, and clears the microcirculatory channels of the body. The few situations in which ginger is contraindicated are in cases of hyperacidity; during any form of hemorrhage (including menstruation); vertigo; and chronic skin disease.

Thank for sharing!

I have never been a soda fan, but sweets are my kryptonite (haha) so i feel your pain! Now i make organic home made cookies and other baked goods so i still get to eat them and not feel so terrible about it.. (i call that winning, lol)
Anyhow, good luck with your raspberry soda, i hope to see the post when you finally get to try it! 😎

Definitely the way to go when it comes to sweets. You can control ALL the sugars, or lack there of, when making things organic and at home.

I'll make a post probably when I make, or test, the raspberry soda.

Nice!! My husband keeps a gingerbug on hand at all times :) Never know when you'll want some soda!

I had heard of it before but never really had enough time to make one, now that I see how easy, and beneficial health-wise, it is.. I'll make sure to have them around too

They can mould on you, we had that issue a while back, but if you're using it often enough it usually lasts a really long time :)

To be honest with you I didn't have a clue of what this "bug" was. So after reading your post I get it...But I'm not sure if I'm ready to take the plunge on the real deal natural bug soda. Ginger is a pretty strong natural medicine and I'm glad you shared the recipe with us and your enthusiasm of heathier ways to partake in sweet drinks though.

Posted using Partiko Android

Thanks! Yes, I feel I'm at a time in my life (physically and more) that I am all about making positive changes and this s just one more step I am taking towards a healthier 50+ age.

I am so glad I found and read your post! My husband is really addicted to soda and I am “somewhat”...maybe a “little” addicted to them (😁). I am going to look more into this method you are doing and maybe we could give it a whirl too. We need to get back on track with healthier living...thanks so much for sharing this!

This sounds great @goldendawne, I've never heard of lacto-fermented sodas, will be looking into this for sure, thank you!

This excellent post was included in the latest issue of The Inbox Runneth Over. Stop by when you have a minute and see what else I found along the trail. Your companions here are all interesting in their own way, and your support for this project and especially its occupants would be very much appreciated. Thank you for everything. Have a lovely day!

Thanks for sharing

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64271.38
ETH 3157.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.25