The Cultivated Apothecary: Week 7 Edition 2: 4 Ingredient Homemade Deodorant

in #tribesteemup6 years ago (edited)


Making your own natural home remedies and health and beauty aids has become a vigilant goal of mine over the last two or three years.

I make so many products right now from lotions, salves, tinctures, herbal tea blends and this... my deodorant.
I had made a post about a year ago using pictures and text to show everyone how I made my deodorant, but alas, my steemit skills have advanced and I thought I'd share in video form, how I make this simple recipe.

Have you ever tried to read the ingredients on your health and beauty aids? Can you even pronounce them without stumbling over the letters? I know I can't

Years ago I started having reactions to the store-bought deodorant I was using; so bad in fact, I had to go see a doctor and get a cream to apply.

Really? This $1 deodorant ended up costing me about $45 ($30 for the doctor visit and another $15 for the prescription). Who knew being dry, irritant-free and not smelly could cost so much!

That was the first time I realized I needed to change things up in my life. Hence... my quest commenced for a more natural lifestyle.

Homemade Deodorant Recipe


1/3 cup coconut oil- liquid form
1/3 cup corn starch
2- tablespoons baking soda
*optional essential oil scent of choosing

Mix all ingredients together then pour into container.


▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS

So simple... everyone should do this!

signature.gif

Join Us On Discord

SB-Marvel-Family.gif

Sort:  

I would give this a try if I didn't already smell awesome.

Posted using Partiko Android

lol- modest? this comment made me laugh out loud- thank you for that

So helpful for us,keep this content

Posted using Partiko Android

really? that's it? wow who'd a thought that it could be so simple?can't be much cost involved in that either and it just hardens up in a couple of hours? this is quite clever goldendawne!

Yup- super easy and basic recipes. The essential oil is optional but I DO love this lemon one I just made. I'll definitely be using it again in the future.

Wooo...is that so simple to make and balance your expenses....we have spent so much money to all those costly bottles..and it cost only so less...unbelivable.. @goldendawne....i would try to make one..when i get free..simple and excelent way to be economical

Posted using Partiko Android

I highly recommend homemade and natural products. I've always hated the commercial ingredients and chemicals and this way I can control what goes into my body... for cheap.

Cheap??? It has more worth than anything else..👍

Posted using Partiko Android

Doctor visits are not cheap... Especially when you got now health insurance....

Okay but back to topic. I will try it out. Looks like a affordable invest 👍

Oh absolutely! One doctor visit can out people into a huge debt.. for what? Like this example... a rash? That is just awful

There is so much bad "stuff" in the store bought items of these deodorants it isn't surprising you had a bad reaction. I was talking with the Mrs. just the other evening about finding a home made recipe and it looks like yours is just the ticket. Thanks for sharing this and now I will make sure the Mrs. gets a look at it as well.

Oh so true!! All those chemicals.. all those things and ingredients we have no clue what they really are?

What a brilliantly SIMPLE recipe!!!! Definitely think I will give this a go - but I will have to re-stock on some of my fav essential oils first!

It really is so simple... plus no irritations!! Which I love!

I think even I can do this one! Thanks for the "recipe"!

Great idea. I used to make salves and lotions, but it never occured to me I could make my own deodorant. Gotta try this some time

Posted using Partiko Android

cool natural deodorant u got here. i read before someone drank tea so much that his sweat smell of tea to skip the aftershave 😂 lol

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 63659.40
ETH 3075.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.01