Travel Norway #18 - Autumn in Sylan p.1 - On the Way!

in #travelfeed6 years ago

Welcome Steemians!


Long time passed since my last post from the series, now I am back with very fresh stuff, trip done few days ago so You can see how the actual autumnal landscapes in Norway look like.
First part will show some places in frames which I took on the way and near the final location. Some distant views on the mountains, some colours, few nice motives - Hope You will like it!
I had to split the whole journey into two parts, beacause of number of photos I wish to share... So, let's go!


IMG_9229.jpg


Location - Sylan area is a high plateau with main, highest mountains in center, surrounded by miles of plains, small forests, lakes and rocky hills. Great open spaces is something which dominate the landscape there.
Mountains are situated in middle part of Norway, on the border with Sweden, some parts of the mountains and area is in swedish site already.
Going south from Trondheim to Røros by the road Fv705 we are passing by Selbu, really nicely situated small town, some deep valleys, the road leads just next to rivers, lakes and waterfalls - but, because my final destination was Sylan - I didn't stopped to lose any minute.


IMG_9018sm.jpg


My first stop was by the lake Stuggusjøen - one of the biggest on the way - there, autumnal colours were already fantastic, so I had to took some shots. In Stuggudalen by the same lake, I was turning left, taking the ground road up to the mountains...


IMG_9032sm.jpg


Shores around the lake are covered by forests which hides a lot of Hytte - norwegian wooden cabins - used for recreation, some of them are really huge and are used whole year round, every season.


IMG_9011.jpg


The way towards the mountain lead in its first stage among golden forests of miniature trees - like a bonsai forest, birch trees with their golden leaves looks simply amazing!
I stopped by the stream to take another couple of shots. This area is also full of Hytte...


IMG_9042.jpg


IMG_9051.jpg


The road itself is a great motive to shoot. It leads through these miniature forests, straight to the Sylan mountains in far horizon...


IMG_9063.jpg


IMG_9084.jpg


I stopped on my way many times there, watching the fast changing lighting conditions, using the road as a motive for wide angle shots and also shooting the distant landscapes with my 300mm lens.

In such open areas is always good to have a big zoom lens. We can stay in place and just a scout the area with our lens, looking for good frames to catch...


IMG_9086.jpg


IMG_9087.jpg


I took also few shots of distant Sylan mountains - they are not the highest maybe, but reaching the hights over 1700m - looks really nice!


IMG_9092.jpg


IMG_9107.jpg


On the way we are passing by the stone monument - the sign says:
"JON BERGGAARD
1889-1958
En fjellets arbeidets og humbrets hedersmann."
Trying to find some more history behind the monument - I found the short description of his life and work - as the sign says - he was a mountain worker and a gentleman - he was doing a lot good stuff for local communities, he helped to build all the infrastructure in Tydal town and surrounded mountains. He was locally respected and very liked man. These was the reason to set such a great natural monument near the mountains he loved.


IMG_9112.jpg


IMG_9116.jpg


Next stop was already close to the border, the place near a big dam on Sulsjon lake - my final destination.
Here, water from a small lake situated above was flowing down to another small pond. Normally this place is covered with water, but now, the dam is holding the water so I could come closer to watch the flowing water.
Why there is a dam? - I will explain later.


IMG_9127.jpg


IMG_9134.jpg


IMG_9143.jpg


I walked among the shoreline of these small water reservoirs, but nothing really interesting going on there, just two more shots from the spot:


IMG_9147.jpg


IMG_9148.jpg


Little further I found this really nice motive - lonely wooden cabin, situated in a small hill, surrounded by autumnal vegetation, with Sylan mountains in background. Really nice cloud formations on the sky and changing light was making the rest of fantastic mixture.

Here I took a lot of photos to exploit the motive as much as I can.

Choosing several different angles, building different compositions and foregrounds, I was trying to find the best frame... still don't really know which one is the best....


IMG_9154.jpg


IMG_9162.jpg


IMG_9173.jpg


IMG_9179.jpg


IMG_9199.jpg


These was really just some of the frames... this is quite a big problem, where You find nice composition in every frame...

Anyway, back to exploration - very often these types of cabins are working as a winter shelters - In case of any problems, accidents or so - You can use the cabin as a shelter and wait for rescue team, so, the cabin are open or the key is just next to the door or nearby.
It wasn't different in this case - I found the key hanging on a nail, by the entrance to woodshed.
I walked into just to take the photo and feed my curiosity...


IMG_9218.jpg


In such places You can find everything - all the equipment, tea, coffee, some food, cutlery, beds, blankets, firewood... everything...

I think this cabin also was used for recreation purposes and could be hired without a problem.


IMG_9220.jpg


Now, finally - my destination - big lake Sylsjon on swedish site of Sylan mountains.

The water level in the lake is regulated by a big dam and can have 20 meters differences between the highest and lowest level!

I was hoping to see low level state because I new I will find interesting colorful rocks among the coast line - this was the reason I came here.
Plan B, in case of high water level, was to go back to main road and go to turist shelter Nydalshytta and hike towards the mountain. Luckily the water level was really low after hot and dry summer, so I stayed there until the end of the day.


IMG_9237.jpg


IMG_9241.jpg


Going back to Dam subject - this lake is a first of many lakes taking part in hudroplant system which generates energy for a big part of middle Norway. Huuuuge system of underground tunnels, dams, rivers and electric turbines generate incredible amounts of energy.

From here, to Trondheim, which lies more than 100 km in straight line, the water is regulated and used for generating power. Now the question appears - is it really "green energy" ? Is is really so ecological to produce power in cost of regulation of water on the ground and underground in area od many hundreds square kilometers... Many rivers have dried out becouse the system took all the water from surface, many lakes changed thei natural shore line flooding big areas of plains, swamps and other ecosystems, many local people had to moved from the areas where they live because of the changes which were made during building of this water power plants sustem....
Is it really so green - I will leave this question without answer...


IMG_9246.jpg


This will be it for now and this part...

In second part of the post, we will go to other site of the lake and shoot incredible colorful rocks, wavy shore using long exposure technique, distant Sylan mountains and much more!

Stay tuned, much more photos coming soon!


IMG_9259.jpg


All other parts of Travel Norway series:

Travel Norway #1 – Steinvikholmen and why Vikings didn't build stone castles...
Travel Norway #2 - Storfossen and Metifossen waterfalls
Travel Norway #3 - Magic shore in Muruvik
Travel Norway #4 - Live with big L - Cabin trip to Heia
Travel Norway #5 part 1 - Let's go Undergound! - Gronligrotta Cave
Travel Norway #5 part 2 - Let's go Undergound! - Gronligrotta Cave
Travel Norway #6 - Muskox from Dovre national park
Travel Norway #7 - Dovre mountains - Sunrise by Hjerkinnsdammen.
Travel Norway #8 - First visit in Trollheimen montains - Innerdalen
Travel Norway #9 - Austerdalsisen - first view on Svartisen's glacial landscapes
Travel Norway #10 - Innerdalen -First Summer trip to Trollheimen National Park - Day 1
Travel Norway #11 - Innerdalen - First Summer trip to Trollheimen National Park - Day 2
Travel Norway #12 - Magical place in Lofoten - Eggum
Travel Norway #13 - Visiting an old copper mine - Christianus Sextus Gruve
Travel Norway #14 - Nordgruvefeltet #1 - Before sunset
Travel Norway #15 - Colorful grounds of Nordgruvefeltet #2 - After sunset
Travel Norway #16 - Femundsmarka national park vol.1 - Lakes and forests
Travel Norway #17 - Travel Norway #17 - Femundsmarka national park vol.2 - To The Top!

SteemitWorldMap code: [//]:# (!steemitworldmap 62.940674 lat 12.042233 long d3scr)


<><><><><><><><><><><><><>

Any photo available as Digital Files. Join my Discord channel for details: https://discord.gg/ApdDcNh
If You like my work, check my portfolio site asphotovisions
Calendars from beautiful Norway on 2019 available to Pre-order on my site.

Thanks for watching and have a great day!


Upvoting, Resteeming and Following are the best way to show the authors that You like their work, it supports them not only finacially but what more important gives a huuuge amount of positive energy to create more interesting posts and work on future projects!

pv baner.png

Sort:  

Norway is a dream now. Great stuff!

Thanks, I am trying to gather as much material as I can... who knows how long I will stay here... ;)

Your balance is below $0.3. Your account is running low and should be replenished. You have roughly 10 more @dustsweeper votes. Check out the Dustsweeper FAQ here: https://steemit.com/dustsweeper/@dustsweeper/dustsweeper-faq

Hiya, just swinging by to let you know you're being featured in our daily Travel Digest. Please drop by to check out all the rest of today's great posts and consider upvoting the Travel Digest if you like what we're doing.

Welcome back, man! We can inspire again with your photos, bringing the beauty and richness of the Scandinavian countries. Congratulations for the new photos!

Thank You, good to see You like it!! These kind of posts take a lot of time to prepare - and time is something I still have very little, hope to find it more in future :). Have a good day!

I can imagine this lot of time... but we are spending it doing things we like to do, here in Steemit haha good luck and have you a nice day too!

True, spending time on our interests and hobbies are never wasted! :)

Are great investments we can do!

Yes it looks like great pictures in every frame. It is really autumn there! Gorgeous. All the links to your series at the bottom is great too!

Thanks a lot, this series is my "top" of the posts so I am trying to focus on it more than on others... These kind of posts I would like to do more often, because it is also great fun for me. Now the weather is getting really bad, so I don't really know if I will have more oportunities to take autumnal trips this season... hope I will...

The light and colors are so amazing! I love atmosphere. ❤
All are very beautiful view, nice capture ! love your style my friend photovisions.

Many thanks!!

Your photo work is just stunning @photovisions, I loved that cabin! I have a feeling that I would enter there to protect myself and never leave hahaha

I understand You :) would do the same if I could ;) Thanks for comment

wow another great shots..
Loved the background scenario.The view is incredible.
only one word for this all photographs "Awesome".

Thanks for Your great comment! It makes my energy level go up! :D

You are welcome...

Dear @photovisions,

Your story attracted our attention and we would like to introduce our tag #archisteem that could provide you with some extra support. For your information, we are currently running the project – 1001 Places to Remember. Your content is a fit for the project and could be qualified for the 10 Steem reward biweekly contest.

It would be great if we can have this story of yours included in the project. If you agree, please reply to us.

Do drop by and take a look :) Hope to see you around soon.

Stay tuned and Steem on!

Sincerely from,

@archisteem and team

Hi, thanks a lot for the comment and info, of course feel free to include the post to Your project idea, I am a big fan of all the supporting actions and projects and I am really happy You chose my post.
I will follow You to see more good posts and other worth following users...

You are most welcome @photovisions! We are glad to have you on board with us as this project will definitely need a lot of help from the community. Every story counts :)

Hope to read more of your stories as well, Steem on!

Fuck yes... Sorry for the language. This is how you do photography.

Posted using Partiko Android

Wow, thanks :D Strong reactions needs strong language ;)

Amazing photos and beautiful landscapes! I would be really happy to get my 5 memory cards and go on road trips and hikes there.
Yeah, no way 1 part will cover these travels. I went to Iceland in July and still posting of all the places I went and did there :D

Ow man, Iceland is my dream-destination for photo-trip, I am just waiting until my son will grow a little and maybe we will go there on a road trip or maybe I will go there alone... I will visit the place for sure!
It is amazing area, but to be honest, there are much more wild and beautiful areas far to the northern Norway... - also on my bucket list, to travel up there for a week or two...
Thanks for comment!

Expensive as hell to go on Iceland but I assure you its all worth it. I rented a campervan to make the best out of my time there. For the record, I did the whole ring around the country. When leaving I was sure that this is not my last time here and still am

Car GPS tracker map
Screenshot_2018-07-07-13-46-33.png

I am sure Norway would be as same as amazing than Iceland. I'm always getting jealous while reading posts of Norway here on steemit.
I'm sure I will visit Norway at some point.

Amazing trip You had! Maybe You won't like it, but I must say, Norway is even more expensive and to drive here from south to north for example would be like 2,5-3000 km... so I think Iceland is not the most extreme place to visit ;)... but of course, what I can say - it is better to travel around some areas than going through whole country. In south we have highest mountains, biggest glaciers and most famous places... in the north - magical Lofoten islands, Senya island, really wild and rough mountians... everywhere is great and every region has something to offer, but to visit all the places - can take few months for sure ;)... I live here 5,5 years and have seen very little...

Yeah the Iceland route was 2300km. Damn, gotta collect some real money to go to Norway then. Id probably do several different trips to there to see more in specific region. Not so far to come for me after all, im from Estonia :D

So it is quite close really, have You been traveling to Finland, maybe Lapland, Northern Sweden, that areas? They are also interesting, maybe not so spectaculat as Iceland, but very deserted and wild for sure!

I have been to Finland and Sweden both but at southern half in them both. I really should go to see Northern parts of these countries at some point. I think maybe its wise to rent a car( or even go with my own car but thats not fuel friendly in my case) from Estonia and drive up to these countries. All this is going to take time and planning of course. So maybe in 2 or 3 years years I will be doing this. Gf already made new plans for next year to go somewhere warm haha.

Renting a car here is expensive and using public transportation will eat all the money, the best option is using own car or maybe rent it where is cheaper... Traveling in Norway without a car don't have any sense for me ;)...
Too many places stays unreachable...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 71539.00
ETH 3603.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.75