Travel Norway #8 - First visit in Trollheimen montains - Innerdalen

in #travel6 years ago

Hello Friends!


Coming back to my photo-guide about Norway - Trollheimen National Park is a large mountainous area with many great locations to visit and to present. Today I wan't to share with You some of the shots taken during my first view on the mountains and my first visit to Innerdalen valley during winter time.

TR011-Innerdalen_valley_in_winter_time.jpg

Few years ago I finally had enough money to buy myself a car. This was a big dream for that times, because I was working over half a year and didn't had oportunity to explore any further areas than 20 km from town (one-day bicycle trip distance). I already new that Norway is a large country and very beautiful, has much more to offer and show than just a Trondheim area, which by the way, is not the best comparing to other places... The landscape photographers must travel - and I am sure You understand why ;).

TR003-Frozen_Sissihoa_near_Oppdal.jpg

Trip to Trollheimen mountains was almost first on my list as the travelling distance was not so big, I could do the trip both ways the same day. It is about 200 km one way... Trollheimen are the closest, large mountains looking south. From Trondheim we can also travel to swedish borders to Sylan mountains, which unforunatelly are not accesible with car during winter time. To explore that area we need to use ski and a lot of time to get not even close to the highest peaks.

TR007-Trollheimen_Hoasnebba_mountain.jpg

Studying maps and google photos I decided to go to Sunndalsøra for the first visit. It is located in a heart of highest mountains, with good view on the largest peaks and Sunndalsfjorden. On the way to the city we are driving in a narrow valley surrounded from both sides by mighty Trollheimen mountains...

TR004-Tussdalsnebba_and_Vinnufjellet.jpg

Trollheimen - the name of this mountain range means "The home of Trolls". It gives really nice mood and atmosphere for the place, when hiking around we can imagine this could be really the place where these magical creatures lived.
The highest peak of the mountains is called Trolla, it has 1850 meters.

TR006-Landscape_near_Oppdal.jpg

In the highest part of the mountains we can see glaciers. They are not very large but as I know, it is possible to hike there with proper equipment and experience these geological beauties. There was a large cave in the past but has already collapsed in 2007. I have in my future plans to go up, not maybe on the glacier, because I am not an experienced mountaneer, but to stand next to head of the glacier and shoot it from a closer distance.

TR010-Sunndal_mountains_covered_by_snow.jpg

This particular visit is very sentimantal for me. I was there alone, I didn;t really know what to expect in Innerdalen during winter time, I wasn't there before so this excitement of exploring new areas was very strong. On the ath to the valley I saw an old ski-tracks signs, but no any foot prints. Layer of snow had about 1 meter deep but was frozen enough I could walk on it without falling into it. The way to the valley is not very long but leads up quite steep, with all the gear, winter clothes and not so good condition that times, it took about an hour before I reached the top and the best view on the whole valley.

TR012-Mysterious_light_over_Innerdalen_valley.jpg

It looked deserted, quite unpleasant, like a dead place where not even a single form of live could live... It was cloudy day with just a little show of sun light. Very atmospheric and quite creepy... the home of Trolls - I hoped I won't see anything strange there...

TR009-Skarfjellet_reflections_in_Svartelva_river.jpg

Lake Innerdalsvatne was totally frozen and covered with large amount of snow... The landscape seemed to be almost black&white. Just a black silhouettes of mountains and a white paint of snow covering everything around. I remember the silence which was not very comfortable in that moment.

TR013-Frozen_Innerdalsvatna_lake.jpg

I will be coming back to Trollheimen mountains and Innderdalen valley few more times in this series, to show You how the valley is changing during different seasons. Since my first visit there I loved the place so much that i was coming back there at least 2 times a year. Thanks for reading!

TR008-Trollheimen_Kaldfonna.jpg

Other parts of the series:

Sunrise in Dovre Mountains
Muskox of Dovrefjell
Grønligrotta Cave
Cabin trip to Heia
Flatholmen - Muruvika beach
Storfossen waterfall on Homla river
Steinvikholmen - viking's castle?


<><><><><><><><><><><><><>

If You like my work, check my portfolio site asphotovisions
More information About Me
Any questions or opinions - write a comment. Great thanks for supporting my work!

Thanks for watching and have a great day!

Upvoting, Resteeming and Following are the best way to show the authors that You like their work, it supports them not only finacially but what more important gives a huuuge amount of positive energy to create more interesting posts and work on future projects!

Sort:  

Your post had been curated by the @buildawhale & @upmyvote team and mentioned here:

https://steemit.com/curation/@buildawhale/buildawhale-curation-digest-04-18-18

Keep up the good work and original content, everyone appreciates it!

Thanks a lot for great support guys!

good post...i like it...

Thank You for comment! Happy to read this!

These photos are next level, well done!

They are my old works, I am not so sure about highest quality, I am quite self critical person , but of course I am happy You liked them! Thanks a lot!

Hmmm... I was there too, but during extremly hot summer 27-30C :) with a lot of mosquitoes. I hiked there 5 days, slept in the tent and cooked water/food on the fire. And no internet of course ;) but views are reslly worth it, very beautiful place. I've tried to recognize some from your photos but I can't. By the way like the tones of your puctures.

You hiked through Trollheimen? This is photos only from Innerdalen area and views from the way to Sunndasora and around Sunndalsora. Indeed beautiful mountains. Nice to hear You liked my works, thanks a lot for comment!

Yes. From south to the north. I think we started close to lake Gjevilvatnet. I have written all my hiking experience somewhere... with a lot of photos of course. I made also short movie, but it's more for me than for showing to all the world ;) This is also waiting for me, after describing my Annapurna Circuit Trek.

Really nice ! I was thinking about doing a hike there called Trekanten - You start and finish in the same place but making a circle around the middle parts... Fantastic place, especially beautiful in autumnal months...

No, I start on south and finish on north, went through the mountains.

Ok :) as I saw on the maps, there is so many trails that You can walk whole summer there ;)

Amazing photography 😍

Happy to hear You like it! thanks!

Impressive pictures you show us here. Very beautiful!

Thanks a lot for compliment!!

beautiful pictures :)

Thank You for this comment!

Dude. That's sweet! :)

Wow - your photo feed is breathtaking! Very beautiful shots! Norway looks stunning! Greetings from Switzerland ;-)

Thanks for good opinion and comment! Actually greetings from Poland!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 54461.78
ETH 2294.45
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.28