Seeking Freedom On The Road To Nomad Day 8 Part 2 Of The Badlands Area

in #travelfeed6 years ago

This past week has been one of the most wonderful weeks of my life. So many of my senses are going crazy. The beauty, the sounds, the peacefulness, the smells and most importantly the time that I have been able to spend with @jbreheny and my son, Nick. So much of everything we do each day are things we must get gone. But have you ever thought how different your life could be if you removed all those "tasks"?

So as I reflect on the past 8 days, I want to make sure that I maintain the focus on seeking freedom even as I write about the experiences we are having along the way to Yellowstone.

Day 8, was packed full of so many wonderful experiences that were vastly different, I decided to write a part 1 and part 2. The Badlands National Park was deserving to have its own exclusive write up in Part 1.

After a wonderful day of exploring and hiking in the Badlands, we took a break from being out in the hot sun and decided to take a drive.

We drove about 30 miles east to the town of Wall, South Dakota. Wall Drug is a destination for every traveler. Don't let the name deceive you. They serve home style cooking that will seat up to 530 guests. The homemade pies, donuts and ice cream is simply delicious. Surrounding the restaurant area is a huge number of gift shops, pharmacy, video game center and so much more. From the outside, it looks like just a small building, but then it goes on and on.

Wall Drug has been around since 1931 and became well known for offering free ice water to weary travelers. It has an interesting and wonderful story, so be sure to click on the link about its history as you won't be disappointed. http://www.walldrug.com/about-us

IMG_0439.jpg

This is just a small glimpse of what you will find inside this treasure.

inside wall.jpg

@jbreheny and our son, Nick playing the largest Space Invaders game I have ever seen.

space.jpg

On our way back to our trailer, which really needs a name, we made a quick stop. Prairie Dog fields are everywhere in South Dakota. You can just walk into the fields and watch them. They are wonderfully vocal animals and so very cute. Nick loved them the most out of everything we saw that day.

pd1.jpg

pd2.jpg

Tomorrow we are heading to Hill City, SD near Mt Rushmore for a few days. Looking forward to a coupe days off the road.

If you have missed any of my previous posts, the links are below

https://steemit.com/nomad/@juliabreheny/seeking-freedom-on-the-road-to-nomad-day-1
https://steemit.com/nomad/@juliabreheny/seeking-freedom-on-the-road-to-nomad-day-2
https://steemit.com/travelfeed/@juliabreheny/seeking-freedom-on-the-road-to-nomad-day-3
https://steemit.com/travelfeed/@juliabreheny/seeking-freedom-on-the-road-to-nomad-day-4
https://steemit.com/travelfeed/@juliabreheny/seeking-freedom-on-the-road-to-nomad-day-5
https://steemit.com/travelfeed/@juliabreheny/seeking-freedom-on-the-road-to-nomad-day-6
https://steemit.com/travelfeed/@juliabreheny/seeking-freedom-on-the-road-to-nomad-day-7
https://steemit.com/travelfeed/@juliabreheny/seeking-freedom-on-the-road-to-nomad-day-8-part-1-the-badlands-national-park

Please be sure to also check out @jbreheny as he is writing about our trip from his crazy perspective.

A huge thank you to @tryskele for promoting me in the Pay It Forward Curation!!!

Sort:  

Isn't it awesome to be free of those daily demands!! It is an amazing feeling. I'm glad to read that your sons favorite part was nature! I mean with a huge space invaders game in the list of the fun he had😀 That's awesome in itself😁

It is so wonderful to see him away from technology and enjoying the wonderful opportunities we have to enjoy our world. I realized today looking through my pictures that I have quite a few of him enjoying geography, hiking, archaeology and history. I see a Steemit post in the making of the joy and delight through a child's eyes when we remove them from the world of technology for a few days.

This was just the first of several fantastic days. Such a great time with @juliabreheny and Nick. The prairie dogs were hilarious...
https://www.facebook.com/joseph.breheny.1/videos/10216611527863361/

I still can’t believe that there are wonderful places that you can enjoy wildlife in their natural state.

Such a cool post! I was just going to grab you for Pay-it-Forward myself, but I see I've been beaten to it. Maybe another week, lol. (There's no rule that someone can't be nominated more than once!) I will definitely be keeping an eye on your posts!

I hope to finally hit South Dakota this summer, since I live in Wyoming now, it's within reach at last! (I've been to everything around it!)

South Dakota is fabulous and we didn’t get to see half of what we wanted to since we have a deadline to meet. We will definitely return. Thank you for liking my post. I have followed you. You can feature me anytime as it is the best compliment I can receive.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64222.08
ETH 3135.29
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99