Seeking Freedom On The Road To Nomad Day 8 Part 1 The BadLands National Park

in #travelfeed6 years ago

Hello Steemians!!! It has been a few days since I have been able to do anything technology related. We are high up in the hills in the Black Hills National Forest and oh my, the Internet. What Internet??? We ain't got nothing up here. So here I am in the laundry room at the KOA in Mt Rushmore plugged into the wall with a cable to get Internet. Where there is a will, there is a way and this is a painfully slow way. How did we ever survive?

us.jpg

On day 8, we hitched up and drove from Kennebec, SD to the Badlands, SD. South Dakota is rich with so much history and an expansive variety of terrain. Kennebec was a whole lot of nothing, but as we enter the Badlands territory, a whole new adventure began. Please note this park is open 24 hours, so we were able to go back in the evening. The moon was bright, so the stars were not very bright, but it was serene with the howling of coyotes in the distance.

This post will be short in narration as the pictures say it all.Sit back, relax and enjoy the beauty.

Badlands National Park, aka Badass Lands National Park! (None of these pictures have been edited and are in their natural state).

GOPR0089.JPG

hills.jpg

IMG_0417.jpg

IMG_0463.jpg

IMG_0415.jpg

That little tiny spec of a person is my husband, @jbreheny!

jbreheny.jpg

The 2 little specs of people are my husband and my son.

GOPR0090.JPG

https://steemit.com/nomad/@juliabreheny/seeking-freedom-on-the-road-to-nomad-day-1
https://steemit.com/nomad/@juliabreheny/seeking-freedom-on-the-road-to-nomad-day-2
https://steemit.com/travelfeed/@juliabreheny/seeking-freedom-on-the-road-to-nomad-day-3
https://steemit.com/travelfeed/@juliabreheny/seeking-freedom-on-the-road-to-nomad-day-4
https://steemit.com/travelfeed/@juliabreheny/seeking-freedom-on-the-road-to-nomad-day-5
https://steemit.com/travelfeed/@juliabreheny/seeking-freedom-on-the-road-to-nomad-day-6
https://steemit.com/travelfeed/@juliabreheny/seeking-freedom-on-the-road-to-nomad-day-7

Please be sure to also check out @jbreheny as he is writing about our trip from his crazy perspective.

https://www.nps.gov/badl/index.htm
The entrance fee is $20 and is good for 7 days. However, you can purchase a National Park Pass for $80, good for one year if you are under age 62. We purchased one and it has already paid for itself in 4 days. If you are over age 62, it is $80 and good for life.

http://traveltips.usatoday.com/badlands-national-park-fun-facts-13159.html

Sort:  

This was such an awe-inspiring spot. We couldn’t get enough of this place. Thanks for bringing me here babe!

I could just sit there forever!

Looks amazing. Sorry I haven't popped in, in a few days...that work thing got in the way. Looks like I have a few posts to catch up on.

BTW I featured you this week for Pay It Forward Curation Contest - Rules and Postings

Thank you so much! I have never been in this part of the US and it is simply breath taking and certainly inspiring to the soul. We have had zero service the past few days, so we to have some catching up to do.

I found you through @tryskele
I'm looking forward to reading more of your posts.

@jbreheny and I will have a lot more to come. I will follow you!

I am so excited to be featured. I am following you as I love your statement.

@tryskele featured you in the @payitforward curation contest . thats what brought me to your post

Yay! I really appreciate the pay it forward. The world is such a beautiful place for all of us to enjoy. Thank you

Found you through @tryskele on pay it forward contest. Your explanation really cool. If you really like travelling then you can also try explorio.com
I read from @timsaid post that it is the first decentralised website for traveller's review

Thank you. I have followed you and will check out @timsaid.

Hello, found your post from a feature on you in the Pay it Forward initiative submitted by @tryskele.

Quite an adventure your family is on. Looks similar in terrain to here in Az, only our mountains tend to have a little more growth on them.

It is a wonderful adventure and I have AZ on my bucket list to travel throughout. Can’t wait to see the beauty of AZ.

Such a beautiful spot! Thanks for bringing back so many great memories for me! I was 'brought' here by @tryskele who showcased you in the ongoing Pay it Forward contest. Maybe think about joining in too :)

So glad that you have had the chance to visit such an awe inspiring spot. Absolutely paying it forward and rewarding others hard work.

Those pics are amazing!! I was wondering how the connection would be during your travels. Looks like you are pretty persistent in finding a work around.
Saw this posts was featured in the Pay It Forward by @tryskele

We have had our challenges with consistent connection, but working through it. We are looking into getting a booster or satellite internet to improve our connection and speed.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 62352.72
ETH 2953.59
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.62