Seeking Freedom On The Road to Nomad Day 1

in #nomad6 years ago

The definition of a nomad is a people that move from location to location without a permanent home. In the past nomads moved to different grasslands to find food for their livestock. A new generation of nomads appears to exist to satisfy their craving of adventure and freedom.

download.jpg

It has been a few weeks since I have posted since having my lasik eye surgery and adjusting to life back on the computer. The last few months have been a whirlwind for me and my husband, (@jbreheny) as we have been working to simplify and downsize our lives in a massive way. Basically, fuck the white picket fence. We want to travel the world, see new places, experience new cultures, meet new people, volunteer and contribute!

Girls can tow too!

me tow2.jpg

Historically, there have always been a community of wanderers, gypsies, nomads, etc. Technology offers anyone the ability to earn and live where ever and however they want anywhere in the world. While it seems that the millennial generation has fueled this growth, it has always been a lifestyle for many, but now we are able to see how others choose to live via blogging, vlogging, Steemit, Dtube, Youtube, etc. This has challenged the "normal" way of living life and created a new opportunity of how to live life.

Call it a mid life crisis, whatever you want, but I became addicted and envious of others that were actually living and enjoying life. I was like a crack addict joining Facebook groups, watching YouTube videos and now as a newbie on Steemit, I follow people that are nomadic in some way shape or form. So today I fed my addiction and we are officially on the road to nomad.

road.jpg

Our trip begins leaving Florida with a final summer destination at Yellowstone National Park. We will be living in Yellowstone National Park for the summer while working in the Canyon General Store. We will be sharing our adventure here on Steemit and Dtube, the good, the bad and the ugly of a couple in their late 40's, our eleven year old son, Nick and our 6 year old dog, JoJo.

Nick and Joe.jpg

We made it our first 120 miles, only 2252 left to go!

rig.jpg

Be sure to also follow @jbreheny as he is also blogging our trip and interviewing nomads and full time travelers that we meet along the way.

Sort:  

I completely understand that dream of true freedom! So glad you are getting to experience it! Be safe and enjoy each moment!

Thank you! We wish everyone to achieve freedom regardless of what their definition of freedom.

Uh-Oh! The day Julia planted the TNT next to the white picket fence, ya just knew change was-a-comin' :D

I commented on a post of Joe's recently that kinda asked what freedom is...And I think that, like happiness and fulfillment they are fairly abstract and open to opinion. I believe it is a constant re-evaluation of where your life is at and how happy, free, or fulfilled you feel. If you don't feel too happy with your situation for a while or it doesn't suit who you are anymore or represent your integrity, It's probably time for a change!

The world will likely think you have gone mad of-course! That vanilla coloured box marked status Quo does not leave too much room for movement or individuality. If you move too suddenly it makes them (society) feel uncomfortable!

It is almost that to be happy we need others to view us constantly as eccentric or weird.

We want to travel the world, see new places, experience new cultures, meet new people, volunteer and contribute!

Yes, there it is! Almost the entire meaning of life right?

People will wonder about the "risk" of just upping sticks and heading off down an open highway. I would venture to suggest that the real risk is of never knowing I have always loved the phrase

"Don't die wondering!"

You will not! Nick will grow with an entirely different perception of possibility than most kids, that's a hell of a gift and must not be under-estimated!

To sum up (only I could leave a comment that needs a summary recap) shakes head.

There are times in life when to desire the picket fence and that whole deal is cool and relevant. This may last forever...This may not. Each to their own, right? Jesus Christ, life's too short. (especially for my neverendingramble) Go chase ya dreams Breheny clan. Keep him on a tight leash (I don't mean Jojo, and obviously not Nick)

Have a whale of a time and so many adventures that you have enough posts to last forever :D

P.S- Remember to constantly focus on the next, next big adventure ;)

Amazing summary and so well stated. Yes, everyone thinks we are crazy, but they also say I wish I could do that.

Freedom is different for everyone, so each must find their own.

We were put on this earth to live, contribute and grow. My only wish for everyone is that they find the path that gives them peace and happiness.

Such an awesome experience we are having babe!

Today was only the first day of many for the rest of our lives.

Between the 2 of you, I can understand the appeal of being 'free-er' and the appeal of and to just get away and especially of being envious LOL . I am very much so looking forward to your stories too :D

@jbreheny already has some great stories. Just needs to get them written. I will be taking pics and video every day and hope to provide some great content that will be unfiltered, raw and honest about what is great and not so great about this lifestyle.

To me that's the best content. Yes words can be pretty, I love honesty and being straight forward more than anything. It's genuine, from the heart, not fluff to make others happy.

Woohoo! I hope you have the time of your lives. It's going to be an incredible adventure. Look forward to reading all your stories 💙

Thank you! We hope to provide some funny content and pics, along with a little spat once in awhile. We are married, so it happens. Our goal is to provide a real example of how we changed our old lives into something new, unfamiliar and unscripted.

Love it!

Oh it happens alright. I feel like it happens more on the road. But it can also bring you closer together. It's one of the best things we've done for our relationship.

Enjoy the ride!

are you a full time traveler?

I've been travelling for about 3 years now. I'm on the road for most of the year but settle for about 4 months in the Winter. I think it's almost time to go home now though. At least for a little bit. I love this nomadic life but I miss everyone back in Oz dreadfully.

Sometimes the absence makes us truly appreciate our loved ones even more when we see them again.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 57431.51
ETH 3085.99
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.35