OHS - Thai Style: Occupational Health and What.....

in #travelfeed6 years ago

Occupations Health and what Safety - Thai Style

going up.gif

We have had a hard day today with our newest addition, he is sick and didn't want to have his nap, so instead, we went out to lunch to save ourselves from going stir crazy in our hotel with a tantrum-throwing minion. While waiting for our delicious tapas we were greeted with a show of ingenious yet scary workmanship. One that would make the laxest of OHS officer's cringe.

sign going up.png

I know that not all countries have access to safety gear but Thailand still trips me out with the lack of any safety thoughts for themselves of those around them. The sign was welded on the ground and then jerry-rigged with a rope and guided up by two men, one on the ground and the other up on what I think is a pretty good scaffold for here as I have seen much worse.

weld away.jpg

Once it was in the air, they roped it on the sign above and the gentleman on the ground got up on the scaffold to hold it in place while the other proceeded to weld above this "couples" head with no safety glasses on and no regard for the public.

welding.gif

Before the job was complete some shaking and jumping on the welds was required... Another heart attack moment for me as he thread his way between the signs and the wires kicking his welding machine in the process sending it to the ground with a bang.

testing the welds.jpg

We were glad to see it done and that no one got hurt in the process including the workers, I do wonder how long their eyes will hold up looking directly into the welding flashes like that on a regular basis but we do what we have to do to survive.

As always thanks for reading and I hope you are having a safe day!

Power Up and Steem ON!


dots divider.png

Want some inspiration, a hint or a maybe a laugh, I'm pretty funny I have been told. CHECK out these posts, all brought to you by @insideoutlet!

Mini Motivation: Love the skin your in...
Khao San Road - Bangkok
#9 What is it? First to guess right wins!

My hubby @shai-hulud is also a great steemian worth a follow, check out some of his below:

Steemit Week 1: Who Are You
Don't get hooked by a Phishing scam. Actual steps you can take to protect yourself.
Steemit Day One #2: Why lock an Empty House
Welcome to Steemit. Day one: Get ready for the learning curve.

Shai & I.jpg

What to know more about @shai-hulud and I Check out these posts:

Butt naked with 2500 other cruise line passengers! Featured in @qurator & @asapers
Love isn’t always shit free. Featured in @thesteemengine and #themagnificentseven
How I got flipped Inside Out... For REAL! Featured in @thesteemengine
Our Adoption Adventure Written by @shai-hulud, my amazeballs hubby

Did YOU know that your upvote needs time to recharge? If not check out this post below, if you like it please consider upvoting a more recent post as this one has now paid out.

Steem & Voting Power, how not to waste it!

If you like any posts above and they are past seven days please consider upvoting a more recent post as these while very useful have already paid out.

Where else can you find me?

While most of my time is spent on Steemit, I do exist outside of it, happy to connect if you do too!

Health Blog - InsideOut Ostomy Life
Facebook - InsideOut Ostomy Life
Instagram - InsideOut Ostomy
Twitter - InsideOut Ostomy


Asapers.gif

One last thing! I am a founder of the @asapers and we have a profit-sharing curation post called Read me A.S.A.P. We curate from our followers so make sure you follow the @asapers if you want to be in with a chance to be curated next.

steemengineBannerAnimation(test).gif

Team Australia Banner - @insideoutlet.png

Steemit Bloggers

Upvote follow resteem.png

Team Australia Banner @bearone, @asapers by @shai-hulud, @steemitbloggers by @zord189
All images my own or directly sourced at the image.

Sort:  

It's risky indeed to work in these conditions. I don't understand, there are basics of regulamentation? just not implemented?
I think, not even the people sitting at the bar are safe.
Thank You for sharing.

Im not to sure if there are rules and they ignore them or dont have them at all. The tourists underneath were so not bothered by it all, it made me wonder if they were tourists at all.

Yep, gotta love Thailand. Yesterday I saw a man working a chainsaw wearing thongs and no safety gear. He looked totally relaxed as he worked. Love it. @insideoutlet, where are you in Thailand? I'm up in Chiang Mai.

haha, yep that is the way of it. We are in Bangkok atm, we went to Chiang Mai a few years back, I had been there before, right the way up to Chiang Rai, the white temple was amazing. Do you live up there or just travelling through?

In cases like that I wonder if they don't know that welding goggles are a bloody good idea or if they think they're overrated and that they don't need them or if they know full well they should have them but can't otherwise afford them x_x

goatsig

I do wonder the same thing if they just laugh at our over-cautious ways, if they can't afford it as you said or if it just doesn't exist in this country... It's odd the things its really hard to find. Tampon's are nigh on impossible to find, you need to go to an UK owned chemist and even then there is one style and its mini.... I mean what are we 16....

They are real profs if can work in such a bad conditions! While working in Ad agency I saw the same situations with installers in my city.

This is rare in large firms, because they will have to pay сompensation when an accident occurs. But this is common among small firms (private entrepreneurs with simplified taxation) or brigades that work illegally, without official registration. They save on equipment, so often do without stairs, safety equipment, or welding equipment, preferring other ways of fastening. Do not blame them for frivolity, they just try to survive and feed their families.

btw, they don't look directly into the welding flashes. This is a trick: you just close your eyes and do your job to the touch:) Meet welders, level 80 :)))

Haha, so just point and hope for the best, there were do many wires I would have been more shocked if they didnt look.

I dont blame them as I understand they do what they do to survive but it dosent stop my concern for not only there saftey but of those around them.

Thanks for stopping by and taking the time to write a great comment. Have a great week.

Watching that sort of spectacle is one of the things I find hard about travelling @insideoutlet. Glad no one was hurt in the process! 😱

Hope your little one feels better soon. 😊

Yeah, it used to shock me more than it does these days as they do it so proficiently that it seems a bit like an art, I do wish they had more options for OHS and not everyone is as lucky as we are in Australia.

He has some mecdine now that seems to be helping, he's asleep for now, so fingers crossed.

Wow! What a different world! I live in Switzerland and it is a complete opposite. During my travels I'm often shocked by how different things are in different countries. I can't imagine anybody in Switzerland doing something similar like what you've seen in Thailand :)

Nor in Australia, it would just not happen, OHS is huge at home. The power lines shock me too, there seems to be no rhyme or reason to it, I am amazed that everything still works some days, espically when its pouring rain, which is what we saw others working in with electrical tools the other day. Just crazy...

Something normal in Southeast Asia, except for Singapore and maybe Malaysia😰 there’s no proper safety officer to supervise and take action.

I couldn't imagine seeing this in Singapore, they are genius at engineering and structural design. We went through there before heading to Thailand, spent three days marvelling at the works. I have been to Malaysia too and can't remember seeing anything like this. It seems to be normal over here as it's not the first time I have seen it and it will not be the last.

True, in Singapore is super strict. Any hazardous activity found, the whole construction work will be halt indefinitely until the safety issue is resolved. While in Malaysia, there may be cases where the supervision is not that strict, but relatively better than the one you saw.

Australia is a lot like Singapore, sometimes its overkill but the job still gets done. I do wonder if the numerous people standing around directing the others couldnt be money better spent but what ever works.

Kinda two ways, both supervisors and workers should know their own rights too to work in a safe environment. We don’t want people to risk their life just for constructing a building or structure.

So very true. Life is too important to waste.

That is crazy! I can't believe that they don't wear any kind of protection. I guess if you are good enough you can close your eyes when you are laying the bead and hope that your hand is steady enough, but still. Crazy stuff! Glad no one got hurt!

haha, now I'm imagining them doing it all with closed eyes and I think it scares me more lol, the hundreds of wire he was welding in between and stepping on could have gone up in a flash and then power out for everyone... I am glad that no one got hurt but they do seem pretty skilled at there jobs and got it done in a relatively short period of time. It seems everywhere you look, something crazy is going on.

"We do what we have to to survive". A universal truth.

Babies crying can drive you around the bend. Actually, when you guys get home, that's what I recommend. Many hours were spent with my babies driving around at night until they were lulled to sleep. It almost always worked. Congratulations on a joy that will never end.

haha, thanks @agmoore, He is a pretty good sleeper when he is not sick, it's that he can't breathe cause he is all snotty so he keeps waking himself up and then can't settle. Its so sad to see, we have some medicine for him now and it seems to be helping with some of the congestion, we just hope it goes before we fly out on Friday as I would hate to have to fly with him sick, the pain in his little ears would not be fun for anyone.

It's been a couple of days now--I hope the baby's cold has cleared up. Today is the travel day, so hope all goes well. Most of all, I hope you keep us to date on the little one's progress. That is the most delightful journey, from infancy through childhood. Enjoy every moment.

Hey @agmoore, home now and all three of us are off to the doctors as we are now sicker than he was. His still not well but did super good on the plane. Such a good little man. Still sleeping now. As we didnt get home until after 1am so all exhausted.

We also have those kind of problems here in my country. You can see construction workers, not really having enough protection especially when they are high up. Electrical cables everywhere and some electrical posts are almost on the verge of falling.

Thanks for sharing this. :)

Yeah, I have seen some of them working at great heights with no safety harnesses and working off bamboo scaffold systems that sway in the wind so much so that I have to look away. I guess it's just not an option for some countries.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 61904.26
ETH 2409.59
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.68