Travel Digest #175

in #traveldigest6 years ago (edited)

Introduction


Heya, @martibis here with another edition of #traveldigest! Sorry, we're a bit late today, I'm traveling myself at the moment, causing a bit of irregularity.

All featured posts will be upvoted through @steemitworldmap.
All featured posts will be put on the Editors Choice Map.
For more like this check out #traveldigest.


Travel Digest


#1 Austrian Lindworm of Eternal Wall aka Ewige Wand

For our first featured post of today @dejan.vuckovic takes us to Ewige Wand in Austria. Where @dejan.vuckovic is based in Austria, a mountain biking event is taking place. The track for the event is 210 kms long and has 7100m of climb in one day, which is insane considering the average track is 30 - 50 kms. Record time so far: 12 hours and 22 minutes. Whilst being a cycle fanatic himself, that event was a bit too crazy for @dejan.vuckovic and so instead he decides to go to the Ewige Wand - or Eternall Wall. With a name like that, there has to be a story. And legend has it that their used to be a very impressive kingdom that got entirely destroyed on that mountain. With wooden statues telling part of the tale and impressive scenic views, the Ewige Wand hike is definitely one you should consider!

Find this post on the map Find this user on the map




#2 Hotel Review - Marina Bay Sands Hotel

It isn't very often we showcase reviews in our #traveldigest but @themoderness does such a strong job on the Marina Bay Sands Hotel in Singapore, we feel she deserves a spot in todays digest. This has to be one of the more famous hotels in the world, with its distinct architecture and infinity pool on the 57th floor. The first impression @themoderness gets is the sheer size of the hotel. It's huge, amazing and very modern. Behind the hotel lay the famous Gardens by the Bay, which is easily accessible from the hotel itself. The hotel offers four types of view, so depending on what you're feeling you can go for the Garden, Harbor, City or Sky view. A little afraid that the pool might be overcrowded - considering it's a big hotel with a lot of guests. It's a pleasant surprise to not find it that way. Alongside the pool you'll also find three restaurants, although the menu felt uninspiring for @themoderness.

Find this post on the map Find this user on the map




#3 Kamchatka second view

For our last post of today @narchuk takes us to Kamchatka, Russia. We get to see quite a few stunning aerial shots, laying bare its beauty. Volcanoes, valleys with rivers running through them and a stunning coastline. It's nearly impossible to see this place another way than from the sky, as it's not the easiest place to get to over land and there is not much of human life there. And where human life is little, other species take over. Making the area a dream for any wildlife photographer. Rare birds, loads of bears and sea animals, they're all there posing for you.

Find this post on the map Find this user on the map



Honorable Mentions



Support Steemitworldmap


The more support we get, the more we can give back!
Vote for the Daily Traveldigest
Follow our curation trail
Delegate Steempower

Want to learn more?


Sort:  

Thank you again for the feature, you are the best :)

I am currently traveling myself, but not quite sure where I'll end up yet, and you made Austria a possible stop on my itinerary just now, haha!

I envy you for that part 'not quite sure where I'll end up' :))) The Best way to travel! If you end up in Austria, I am absolutely sure that you are going to like it - it is a beautiful country. Those photos are from last year, but in two weeks I will have fresh ones because I am going there again and it will be the first time that I am going on the same place two years in the row ;)

Hahh that 'not quite sure where I'll end up' is really part to be envious about. Btw @steemworldmap, if you really end up in Austria, you really want to visit Innsbruck. I'm studying and living here 3 years already and it's the most beautiful city in the world :) Im saying this and I'm not an Austrian! :D Also, thx for mentioning me!

Yeah, it does feel good to be on the road again! If I make it to Innsbruck we should meet up for a cup of coffee or something in that case!

And you're welcome!

In that case, if you'll come, hit me up :)

https://www.facebook.com/martin.durcek.10

Yeah, I really felt like I needed to just get out for a bit again, haha!

I've been there once when I was very young, hiking as well, and hitchhiked past it, but never really experienced it myself. So yeaaaaah, maybeeee, haha!

Thanks for the mention @steemitworldmap :)

Hi @steemitworldmap. Seems theres a little abuse of your brilliant initiative going on. Your bot is giving visiblity to crap like this :-
https://steemit.com/contest/@doktor.pyramidis/upvote-pyramid-free-upvote-and-money-4-comments-cosmicrayedition#@nathen007/re-doktorpyramidis-upvote-pyramid-free-upvote-and-money-4-comments-cosmicrayedition-20180416t095616115z
Just thought Id inform you cos I dont like spam and scam and Im sure this wasnt the sort of thing your excellent travel and photography blog was set up to promote.
Thanks :-)

Yeah, unfortunately there isn't much to be done about it (I could remove this one, but others will pop up). What I am planning on doing is making the Editors Choice Map the standard map, as opposed to the map which has everything on it! We have a small build in function, where if a post is at 0 SBD it won't be shown, so downvoting is always an option (but something we don't do from @steemitworldmap as it means we would reward travelers less).

Ok, well best wishes with that and safe continuing travels my friend :-)

I did ask him to stop pinning these posts to the map, but he has declined to do so. Sigh.

No problem, I will continue to flag him, he is now telling his mates to do the same thing. Its sad cos I love the map and all the great pics and people like him are spoiling it.

sorry for hijacking this post, but u did not answer my other messages.

please delete my picture and my connection for the following post on the steemitworldmap
https://steemit.com/landscapephotography/@hatoto/der-erste-wirkliche-frhlingstag-2018-2018-04-10-19-27-01.
I do not want that this picture or this location is connected with my account!
https://steemitworldmap.com/?author=hatoto
,

No worries, I might have missed it as I'm traveling myself right now, I'll look into it now.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64107.21
ETH 3073.84
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.88