The Skywalk - Gardens By the Bay in Singapore

in #photography6 years ago


20180130-IMG_6458.jpg

Continuing on with my Garden's by the Bay series, today we are exploring the Skywalk that is suspended up in the super trees. If you are a regular follower you may have already spotted some shots of the super trees I took while I was there. Well here’s a post with all of ‘em.

PROTIP: You can buy tickets online in advance at a decent discount. Have a shop around on the internet, I managed to get a 25% discount.

It’s pretty easy to get to. Take the metro to the Bayfront station. That brings you out in the shopping mall under the Marina Bay Sands Hotel. From there, there are signs you can follow that point you to the Gardens by the Bay. Its a short 5 - 10 minute walk.

If like me, you are coming from the two domes (we did all three in one visit) then you will already know where you are heading. There is a ticket booth among the super trees where you can get your tickets for the skywalk.


20180130-IMG_6462.jpg

Earlier the Skywalk had been closed due to rain and lightning, but when we came out of the domes the storms had passed and the attraction had been reopened. I was so relieved. It was the one thing I wanted to go do the most while we were there.


20180130-IMG_6570.jpg

The place was super busy and everyone pretty much had the same idea as soon as it reopened, so at this point the real fear was that the attraction would close before we had a chance to get up there.


20180130-IMG_6574.jpg

Our fears were unfounded. We got to the front of the line relatively quickly, but we did wait a bit and I took the chance to grab a few shots here and there.


20180130-IMG_6576.jpg

We were standing in line at the time of the super tree display, which is this combination of lights and music that comes from the trees, they change colour and all sorts.


20180130-IMG_6578.jpg

It looked amazing, and really it distracted us from the line pretty well.


20180130-IMG_6583.jpg

The view is just awesome, you can tell that everyone there is in awe.


20180130-IMG_6586.jpg

The sound and light show only lasted about 10 or 15 minutes which was roughly how long we were in the line for. It was a pleasant surprise as someone had told us the line would be an hour long!

Once we got to the top you get a great view of the area. The whole walkway is suspended from the trees so it does wobble a fair bit. Even if you were allowed to take a tripod up there (which you are not) it would be useless as the wobbling would cause all your photos to come out blurry anyway. So for these shots I had to pump up the ISO to keep the exposure decent enough to shoot handheld. This meant more noise in the shots, but I don't think it matters much here.


20180130-IMG_6598.jpg

I took loads of shots as we walked across the skywalk, I think I will post them here without commentary.


20180130-IMG_6603.jpg


20180130-IMG_6610.jpg


20180130-IMG_6612.jpg


20180130-IMG_6614.jpg


20180130-IMG_6618.jpg


20180130-IMG_6626.jpg


20180130-IMG_6630.jpg


20180130-IMG_6652.jpg

That gets us to the end of the Skywalk. At this point you take an elevator back down to ground level, incidentally the crowds have also dispersed by this point so I took out the tripod to get some long exposure shots allowing me to get rid of some of the noise from the previous shots.


20180130-IMG_6654.jpg


20180130-IMG_6658.jpg

This place is so big, its really difficult to get the whole thing into a single shot. I wish I had more battery power and time to go exploring for better vantage points to shoot from.


20180130-IMG_6659.jpg

But as it happens, my battery was almost dead by this point. Over the course of 4 hours I had photographed the cloud forest, the flower dome and then ending with the skywalk and the super trees. I took about 500 shots.. so I was surprised the battery held out as well as it did!


!steemitworldmap 1.284152 lat 103.865803 long The Skywalk - Gardens By the Bay in Singapore D3SCR


image

Thanks for Looking.
Follow me and read more of my posts here: @fiftysixnorth
Don't forget to Upvote and Resteem


Sort:  

Amazing photography of amazing places !

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=fiftysixnorth
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=the-skywalk-gardens-by-the-bay-in-singapore


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Congratz, your post has been resteemed and, who knows, will maybe appear in the next edition of the #dailyspotlights (Click on my face if you want to know more about me...)
Please check the new rules of the Daily Spotlights!

Awesome shots!! Thanks for the trip!!

Thanks :) glad you enjoyed them!

So beautiful mesmerizing view. I really must make a visit to singapore soon since I am so nearby. Thank you for your time to post all these for us. ;)

Thank you! Yes, if you live close by you really should go, it's a great place with so much to do!

Loving this series what an amazing place

Thanks mate, it sure is. I've been missing it since I got back!

I bet

Have a Super Sunday

Wow! This is so amazing. I wish I could live within those supertrees. You are a great photographer, too. Thank you sharing with us because I doubt I will be able to visit this place any time soon. I would certainly love to, though.

My pleasure! And thank you :) It is a wonderful place and hopefully you will get to visit it some day!

You've captured some stunning photographs! I visited Singapore a few years back and didn't have the chance to visit all the domes. I definitely will when I get to travel back to Singapore. Thank you for sharing your photos! They really bring me back

Thanks a lot! :) it's a shame you missed it last time, definitely check it out on your next visit. It's totally worth it :)

Hello @fiftysixnorth, thank you for sharing this creative work! We just stopped by to say that you've been upvoted by the @creativecrypto magazine. The Creative Crypto is all about art on the blockchain and learning from creatives like you. Looking forward to crossing paths again soon. Steem on!

Thanks so much! That sounds like a really interesting magazine/project! I will go check it out :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 58613.96
ETH 3153.58
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43