Dublin - Discovery of a great city!steemCreated with Sketch.

in #travel6 years ago (edited)

Dear readers,

I can’t believe that it’s taken so long for me to visit Ireland. I have been living fairly close most of my life (in Luxembourg, France and the UK), however, it wasn’t until my little brother moved to Dublin for work that I finally came to visit.

As a European, this is unacceptable (I know!), but better late than never. I didn’t know much about Ireland, other than some movie references, authors and of course the Notorious Conor McGregor. It was time to learn more.

DSCN0932.JPG


I’m loving Dublin a lot so far. The people are extremely friendly and laid back, and the city is beautiful and lively, especially at night. It has a bit of a London feel to it, without the excessive display of wealth and shallowness. Dublin has a bit more of a hip, welcoming atmosphere I would say, and has many interesting historical sights to visit. Of course, as being part of the EU, it is also much more practical for European travelers using the EUR.

DSCN0871.JPG
it's not a smile, my face is frozen...

DSCN0939.JPG


My first night

As soon as I arrived, my brother picked me up at the airport and we took the bus to the center of Dublin. We hadn't seen each-other since he left Panama last year, so it was nice to see him!

bro.jpeg

DSCN0924.JPG
reunited

He decided to take me to an Indian restaurant because he knows how much I like Indian food, and also because I so rarely eat it in Panama. The food was great as expected, and luckily for me, my brother and sister-in-law are also vegan, which makes restaurant selection easier for all of us.

After dinner, they took me to one of the many popular bars around town to do some beer tasting. You can’t possibly go to Ireland and not drink beer =). As you may know, Ireland is famous for its Guinness beer, which is a dry stout produced in Ireland and also the most sold beer in the country.

The bar we went to was called The Porterhouse Brewery, and we ordered a selection of Ales, Lagers and Stouts.

DSCN0941.JPG

DSCN0865.JPG

DSCN0860.JPG
impressive beer menu

DSCN0861.JPG
booze, booze and more booze

While taking a little cigarette break, we met a group of students from Chile and Argentina, who were in town to learn English. It’s funny, because I’m usually on the other side of the spectrum, welcoming English speakers to Panama to study Spanish at our school. These students had only positive things to say about Ireland, and Dublin in particular. I was still a bit jet lagged from my arrival 2 days prior, so we didn’t go home very late. I fell asleep as soon as I put my head on the pillow.


Being vegan in Dublin

The vegan community and movement is virtually everywhere, and you can see it in the multitude of restaurants, bakeries and cruelty free shops in the streets. The below stand from the Vegan Information Project I came across had different vegan cheeses to taste, with the goal of raising awareness and educating people about animal cruelty. They also sell different items such as pins in order to raise money for different causes.

DSCN0877.JPG

DSCN0876.JPG

DSCN0880.JPG

The following morning, we went for a stroll in the city center, and looked for a place to have lunch after our tour. To my great surprise, being vegan in Dublin is a walk in the park. There are so many delicious vegan places to choose from, and it seems that it’s really becoming mainstream. There is really a vegan equivalent for anything! Chicken wings, chicken nuggets, burgers, sausages, cheeses of all sorts and much more! It made me extremely happy to see this, and I wish we had all these options in Panama, but I will have to be patient I think.

One particular dish that I craved from my meat eating years was a Kebab, and guess what! They even had vegan chicken Kebab! OK, this picture may not look that appetizing, but that’s only because I destroyed that thing before taking the pic...I had to tend to my basic needs first, sorry people.

vegan kebab.jpeg
kebab

During my stay I’ve tried vegan pizza, vegan Kebab, vegan donuts and today I tried the vegan Philly Cheese steak from McGuinness.

Philly cheese steak.jpeg
Philly cheese steak

I highly recommend that place, and make sure to order the cheese & garlic fries. I’m still wondering whether it was dairy or vegan cheese, that’s how good it was! Damn, I’m getting hungry again while I’m writing this. The menu at McGuiness is so large that it’s hard to decide what to pick (see below).

vegan menu.jpeg

The Aperitivo is another great vegan place I recommend!

DSCN0944.JPG

DSCN0945.JPG
waiting for my BLT sandwich and beer!

@moonunit, who is also from Dublin and a member of Vegans of Steemit, recommended some other vegan places that I have yet to check out, and you can find a more extensive list of restaurants here. Unfortunately we won’t be able to meet up as planned due to scheduling reasons, which is a shame. I think it’s great to be able to meet fellow Steemians in real life!


Interesting things I discovered so far

The Dublinia

The Dublinia is a historical museum where you can learn about the medieval period in Dublin, and learn about the Vikings. It’s interesting to discover how people lived during this period, and how the Dublin we know today has been created.

DSCN0913.JPG

DSCN0918.JPG
my brother and I goofing around

DSCN0917.JPG
Medieval toilet seat...they were playing farting noises to make sure we understood what this guy was doing

The Straight Blast Gym (SBG), home of Conor McGregor

SBG.jpeg

I know what you’re thinking, but I simply had to go and see the SBG. It’s very close to the center (10 minutes by bus), so it wasn’t a big detour. The funny thing is, I only went to take a sneak peak inside and get a better idea of where and how a world MMA champ trains.

I went inside feeling a bit intimidated, and because I didn’t want to reveal the real reason of my visit, I pretended that I was interested in signing up for BJJ lessons. I felt too ashamed to say that I was only here to take a look (I know this sounds horrible), so please forgive me Jordan from the front desk, I didn’t mean to deceive you. The more fake questions I asked about class times etc., the more I realized how much I actually wanted to train, and my initial lie turned into truth. I’ve decided to take a day pass (EUR 20 which is extremely reasonable!) and join a BJJ class on Monday morning. I will tell you all about it in a separate post.

The Crypto Cafe

cryptoocafe.jpeg

loyalty card.jpeg

As the name suggests, the Crypto Cafe a pretty little cafe in the heart of Dublin which accepts cryptocurrencies as forms of payment, and is centered around all things crypto. The manager told me that they organize Steemit meet ups there once per month, but unfortunately my visit didn’t fall within those dates. The next one is on April 28th, and you can read more about it here

Stephen’s Green Park

This cute park is just what you need if you want to get away from the city rush. You will be able to see swans, ducks and many other bird species native to this area.

DSCN0905.JPG

DSCN0898.JPG

DSCN0900.JPG

Thrift Shops everywhere

Dublin is full of cute little thrift shops that are using their proceeds for local charities. It’s a great way to go shopping without producing more waste, all while spending money for a good cause and look fashionable!


Getting around

Here in Dublin, the bus system is easy and efficient, so we went everywhere in these large double decker busses. They are identical to London busses, only the color is different, and people say “thank you” to the driver when they get off. This is something you don’t see often in other European countries, so it was a nice surprise. I’m always impressed when people are polite to each other, because nowadays, values get lost. Careful though, just like in England you have to get used to people driving on the “wrong” side of the street, and look right when crossing.

The weather

This is the only thing I couldn’t get used to was the windy cold. It’s April 14th at the time of writing this post, and it’s 10 degrees celsius. I knew it was going to be colder than in Brussels where I was wearing a t-shirt just last week, but I didn’t expect having to borrow a winter jacket and scarf from my sister in law. People here make jokes about the weather all the time, and say things like “this year summer falls on a Sunday”, or “you can expect to get about 2 weeks of summer”. The sky is notoriously grey most of the time, but people seem to be cheerful and happy regardless. Some c̶r̶a̶z̶y̶ ̶a̶s̶s̶ brave people even wear flip flops and shorts!


Alright people, I realize that this post is getting quite long, so I will end it here for now. I still have 2 more days to spend in this fascinating city, so you’ll probably read more about it soon! Of you have any tips in the meantime, feel free to mention them in the comments.


If you'd like to be mentored on your writing or presentation skills, and receive feedback on your posts, join our Discord channel here

Banner.jpg

Sort:  

I am so happy to see your visit! It really sucks that we couldn't meet up, I am totally bummed about that. I had 2 funerals to attend this week too so I probably wouldn't have been the best company!

Looks like you have had a real blast and you will have to do a return visit! It would be amazing to meet a real life steemian. I hope you enjoy the remainder of your trip too.

yes it sucks but no worries, I'll be back =)

Cool post. I am major jelly of all the vegan food you are trying.

Haha, I was thinking you did better than me by not throwing out all your winter clothes when you got to Panama, but then I see you've borrowed that big jacket. It's the same as usual here. Hot. Raining.

Also you should pin this post to steemit worldmap so we can curate it for you tomorrow.

http://steemitworldmap.com

If you're interested, simply go to the website, search for your location, click on code (down the bottom) and add a short description. It will then generate the code you need to copy and paste into your post (not the comments) to have it show up on steemit worldmap. Then your post will be on the map! There’s also a FAQ section if you need it.

ahhh I did throw everything out! I didn't really have appropriate clothes, but thankfully I can borrow some... =)

Pints in Ireland! That is seriously on my bucket list! I have friends in Gaulway so that is probably where it will happen. Too much time spent on such a great post. Go explore and reunite and have fun!

LOL you're right ahah that post took forever

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=evecab
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=dublin-discovery-of-a-great-city


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Congratulations! Your post has been selected as a daily Steemit truffle! It is listed on rank 6 of all contributions awarded today. You can find the TOP DAILY TRUFFLE PICKS HERE.

I upvoted your contribution because to my mind your post is at least 10 SBD worth and should receive 91 votes. It's now up to the lovely Steemit community to make this come true.

I am TrufflePig, an Artificial Intelligence Bot that helps minnows and content curators using Machine Learning. If you are curious how I select content, you can find an explanation here!

Have a nice day and sincerely yours,
trufflepig
TrufflePig

Your Post Has Been Featured on @Resteemable!
Feature any Steemit post using resteemit.com!
How It Works:
1. Take Any Steemit URL
2. Erase https://
3. Type re
Get Featured Instantly & Featured Posts are voted every 2.4hrs
Join the Curation Team Here | Vote Resteemable for Witness

I loved Dublin when I visited :-)

it's not a smile, my face is frozen...

I can well believe it coming from Panama to Dublin lol. Let me know if your gonna be in Liverpool @evecab

Looks like you had an amazing time =) I would love to go to Ireland. Haven't been there either :). I always love to visit new restaurants and try good food :)

What a lovely travel report! Pictures of vegan junk food, Irish booze and Conor McGregor even ... what else could I have wished for?! Thank you, my dear!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 59524.20
ETH 2999.76
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.77