My journey to Göbekli Tepe, the 11.500 years old historical site in Turkey +photos #steemtravel

in #travel7 years ago

20170918_112752.jpg

I have driven 1800+ km through Turkey, from Alanya to Gobekli Tepe, to the oldest heritage site known today, placed in Turkey, just North of the Syrian border. It is believed to be the oldest megalithic site on Earth, dated back to around 10.000BC.

20170918_112651.jpg
20170918_140709.jpg

I drove 14 hours to get there and back without sleep, altogether 28 hours. I don't know how I managed it but I highly enjoyed.
The sad thing that the site was closed due to renovation because the rain and sun started to ruin the site as well as some tourists. So I could not get in after driving 14 hours. I was sad, to say at least but I realized the beauty of the journey, so here are some of my photos of this amazing road trip.

20170918_162852.jpg
20170918_112705.jpg
20170918_151836.jpg

And I decided to visit it again in the near future.

20170918_112651.jpg
20170918_140543.jpg

It is very interesting, after driving around in the area how isolated and abandoned the place is, so it is quite hard to imagine that such a civilization existed in this land 11.500 years ago.

20170918_140530.jpg

Yes, I saw one refugee camp on the way but it was a bit far away, I could see the tents and the fences, and some construction around the camp, near the road D-400.
20170918_093557.jpg

It was a surprise how fast Turkey is developing, new buildings popping up like mushrooms after rain in the big cities but the Eastern part is still a bit behind due to the lack of tourist in this nearly deserted area.
While the weather was 32 degree Celsius in Alanya, in Gobekli Tepe it reached 41.

20170918_163450.jpg

20170918_175325.jpg

This is how it looks like, although I did not make this photo.
1024px-Göbekli_Tepe,_Urfa.jpg
By Teomancimit - Own work, CC BY-SA 3.0,
https://commons.wikimedia.org/w/index.php?curid=17377542

Sort:  

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @zoltanbristol to be original material and upvoted it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

To enter this post into the daily RESTEEM contest, upvote this comment! The user with the most upvotes on their @OriginalWorks comment will win!

For more information, Click Here!
Special thanks to @reggaemuffin for being a supporter! Vote him as a witness to help make Steemit a better place!

Upvoted on behalf of the dropAhead Curation Team!
Your post will be Resteemed by @dropahead witness account of the dropAhead curation team!

Watch out for the #xx-votesplus tag!

Do you want more earnings?

By doing the above you will give us more STEEM POWER (SP) to give YOU more earnings next time.

Keep up the good work!


Most recent post: Moving #25_votes_plus to Discord

This post received a 2.11% upvote from @randowhale thanks to @zoltanbristol! To learn more, check out @randowhale 101 - Everything You Need to Know!

Nice pics! Thanks for sharing your adventure :)

Thanks for sharing, very nice post.

Good post! I’m sure you will continue to shoot more.

This is a great post, I have seen programs on TV about Göbekli Tepe and that it might go back farther than mainstream science dates it.

it's a shame to see the graffiti on the one in your photo.

YEs, but that statue was a replica near the road so do not worry :) and this is an amazing site which brings up questions about our past.

Amazing post. I love the photos. I've never been to Turkey myself but Tunisia, Yes. I've crossed the Sahara and journeyed through the Atlas Mountains. At one point, I could see the border to Nigeria. Not that I wanted to get any closer mind. An eye opener for me was my visit to Kairouan. Its sad that places like these make people only think of things like terrorism. I hate it. Those not involved in these actions are tarred. I find them amazing people and I love their way of life. I recommend people to visit...

Yes, Tunisia is amazing, been there myself a well, and I crossed the Atlas in Morocco as well some years ago. Thank you for your comment.

Great post and I wish steemit had a sticky or pin option because this is one of those special posts. ??

wow thank you for the share these are some amazing pics.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60793.36
ETH 2909.65
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.64