Travel Super Foods #5: Passion Fruit in Laos

in #travel6 years ago

Passion fruit, with a name like that it must be good! I bought three fruits like this the other day at the morning market in Luang Prabang Laos. You want them to have some wrinkles on it, that means it's ripe and sweet. Three of these delicious little guys cost me about 60 cents.

To eat them you cut near the end of one side, leaving the majority of it in what turns into a mini-bowl. Then you spoon out the insides and enjoy. Essentially you have little black seeds encased in a juicy membrane. They have a sweet and tart flavor but the riper they are the more sweet and less tart. I've enjoyed passion fruit like this all over Southeast Asia and Latin America, they are nutritious and delicious!

What makes these guys so super? For starters they are packed full of antioxidants and vitamin C helping protect you from cancer while supporting your immune system in general. They are high in potassium helping regulate blood pressure. They are a good source of fiber, aiding in digestion while cleansing the intestines and colon.

They are rich in vitamin A which is great for your eyes. They are high in iron which helps those suffering from anemia. It has anti-inflammatory properties making it good for those suffering from joint pain, arthritis, and asthma. It also contains medicinal alkaloids which have been proven to improve mood, sleep, and depression. For all these reasons and more passion fruit is truly a Travel Super Food!

Not To be Missed!

Travel Pro Tip #20 : "Pay More Get Less Countries" "Pay Less Get More Countries" and Some Things to Consider. Part One

Travel Eats #3: Pad Krapao Moo

Travel Pro Hang Out Hot-Spot #2 :Hom Coffee in Chiang Mai Thailand

World Travel Pro Hits 500 Followers: My Steemit Experience After Five Months and a Big Thank You to Some Very Special Members

With over 10 years of travel experience I answer travel and international lifestyle questions. Leave a question in the comments and I may make a video just for you!

Photo Credit: World Travel Pro!

Sort:  

That looks like a different breed than what we have here in Costa Rica. Vivid color.

I love trying new fruits at the feria. We just broke into a dragon fruit. Such cool experiences.

Dragon fruit is popular here in Asia. Where it's from I believe. I don't care for it too much. Don't really like the texture. I love pomelo. It's like a giant orange grapefruit like thing, have you ever heard or tried one of those? I just published part two of that travel tip series. I think you'll find it insightful in the least. -Dan

Cool. Let me dig back for the series.

I've added pomelo to my list to try.

I love passion fruit, but have never seen one with light colored skin. Is that a passion fruit that is native to Laos?

I really have no idea. But I've seen two varieties all over SE Asia. The more traditional purple fruits and these yellow ones. They both taste the same, or at least I can't tell the difference. Thanks for stopping by! -Dan

Very good post.
I have Resteem and Upvote your article for progress and forward together.
Steemit
image
.

Yes, It is really good fruit ;)) I am glad that you eat it.

Oh !!! BTW leave some for me ;)))

Oh I will. Tomorrow I'm getting myself some pomelo. I'll have a piece just for you :)

Thank you for sharing. Tomorrow I would try to imagine how I taste it :)))

Oh I just looove passion fruit! When I was a kid we lived in Kenya and we ate them all the time. In Netherlands, have hardly ever seen them and the ones they have are expensive and not so tasty. Whenever I travel I look out for them. Apart from being delicious, they are obviously super healthy. Thanks for pointing out all those nice facts about this amazing fruit!

That's one thing I love about travel. All different parts of the world enjoy different foods a their local prices. Passion fruit is certainly is one of them here in Tropical Asia. Glad you enjoyed my post. Have a great day! -Dan

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63945.57
ETH 3135.76
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.00