Travel Eats #3: Pad Krapao Moo

in #travel7 years ago (edited)

My Steemit friends, today I come to you with an oldie but a goodie! I've been enjoying this traditional Thai dish every time I visit Thailand dating back to 2003. (Either I'm getting old or just that I started traveling at the age of 20.) This is Pad Krapao Moo, or minced pork with holy basil and chili with a fried egg on top of Thai jasmine rice served on a banana leaf with a side of pork bone broth and cucumber! The cucumber helps balance out the spicy chilies :) This is a very common dish and can be found all over the country, even in microwavable form at 7-11.

I love finding one dish restaurants filled with locals. That pretty much makes it a sure bet it's going to be good. If they are only dishing out one thing, they better do it right and if the restaurant is popular, it's popular for a reason. It's a good practice when choosing a place to eat in different countries. I found this one hit wonder a short walk down the street from my hotel in Bang Sean Thailand. I spent about three days there. It's a very interesting college beach town along side the Gulf of Thailand and it had great food options as you can see.

Being the only foreigner in there I got some looks but they were all smiles and extra attentive service for me. What they do is stir fry the minced pork with Thai holy basil and a little bit of fresh chili, and then fry an egg, that's pretty much it. They have a huge bin of Thai jasmine rice, a pot of pork broth soup, and water; which you help yourself to all you want. They put the nice portion of the Pad Krapao Moo on top along with the egg and cucumber and for about $1.50 US you've got yourself a fantastic traditional yet simple Thai meal. If you ever visit Thailand this dish is a good one to try.

Not To be Missed!

Travel Pro Tip #20 : "Pay More Get Less Countries" "Pay Less Get More Countries" and Some Things to Consider. Part One

Travel Pro Hang Out Hot-Spot #2 :Hom Coffee in Chiang Mai Thailand

World Travel Pro Hits 500 Followers: My Steemit Experience After Five Months and a Big Thank You to Some Very Special Members

Real Life Captured #8: Street Food Night Market in Bang Sean Thailand Part Three (16 photos)

With over 10 years of travel experience I answer travel and international lifestyle questions. Leave a question in the comments and I may make a video just for you!

Photo Credit: World Travel Pro!

!steemitworldmap 13.286718 lat 100.927352 long d3scr

Sort:  

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=world-travel-pro
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=travel-eats-3-pad-krapao-moo


Want to have your post on the map too?
Add the following inside your post:
!steemitworldmap xxx lat yyy long description d3scr

(replace xxx and yyy with latitude and longitude)

Exellent wroting . I get hungry :-))) greetings

Thanks Margaret!

Oh you are so welcome if you only share the jasmine rice with me :-))))

just preparing my post about a nice market.

Nice, looking forward to it!

I need to figure out how to get that broth. I'm not sure why I never seem to notice it. Your food looks yummy and I need to branch out!

Yeah any kind of bone broth is full of collegen and other good stuff. I imagine, "pig" is probably the least healthy and fish heads the most healthy! Fish head broth anyone?

Oh most definitely! I love any kind of fish and have to avoid some of it here. They make fattening fish in Thailand! I'm definitely on the pork here - it's the beef and chicken I avoid. I had the chicken a few days ago - big mistake causing 48 hours of misery. I need to learn to stop trying the chicken!

That's too bad Sharon. So I made i to Krabi, hence my late response. I'm traveling solo again. It's for the best. Bit of a bossy ego maniac. Totally contrary to how I am. So that's all good. I just posted my second part o that travel tip. Yes lay off that chicken if it messes with you. I'll be in Bangkok in a week if you want to have one last harrah!

Oh most definitely! Just let me know the times you will be available. Maybe we could go eat a real dinner somewhere. Or just do the street food at the park again. I need to load up on the liver and fish. I've been getting the full body cramping that cannot be believed unless you see it. I lost a bunch of weight - 4 inches off my waist! Now I'm eating again at least.

So what are you dates or do you know? Then you have "the big flight" right?

I'm out on th 27th 9am. Tim is gtting short!

Whoa! That's for sure. At least it's Florida so you will still be warm :)

What's the off-plate, upper left dish /cup?

That is chopped fresh Thai Chilly in salty fish sauce. I love that stuff. Spicy!

You look so happy :)

You just made me hungy.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60937.87
ETH 2674.97
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49