Travel Pro Update: Travel Pro Audible Has Been Made!

in #travel7 years ago

I made a serious Travel Pro executive decision the other day my Steemit friends. Have any of you found yourself going down a certain path, whatever that may be, and in split moment you decide to make a sharp turn in another direction? Well that is exactly what I did just the other day and I'm happy I did so.

My lifestyle is not about a check list of places to see (even though it may seem that way). If that were the case I'd probably be burnt out from travel and miserable. To be a perpetual traveler like myself you need to be comfortable, take it slow, take it easy, and if you find that travel sweet spot, stay a while and enjoy. This will have been maybe my tenth time in Thailand in the last 15 years. I haven't been here in five years and I love this country, it's an absolute favorite of mine.

This time in Thailand I wanted to go places I haven't been and see things I haven't seen. So, I went to the Island of Koh Phanagn and I loved it. I loved it so much I ended up staying 3 weeks when I intended to stay about one week. I then spent a month in Laos the only SE Asian country I've never been to other than Burma (Myanmar), now I have about six more weeks in Thailand before heading to South America. I've never traveled down the eastern coast of the Gulf of Thailand nor been to the small Island of Koh Samet; so that was the plan.

I read up on this area of Thailand and I wasn't overly thrilled with what I read; but I really wanted to check it out and see for myself. My first stop was an hour and half southeast of Bangkok, a place named Bang Saen. It was a Thai college town on the beach. I enjoyed myself, my room was a decent deal, nothing exceptional. The food was generally good and well priced. I got to see a lot of interesting Thai college culture, but overall I felt left in isolation, hardly anyone spoke English and I didn't see another foreign face my entire time there, except an old unfriendly guy from France; but I'm normally OK with that. After three days there, I went an hour further south to Pattaya City.

Pattaya has a reputation for being a seedy prostitute ridden city on the beach, with a high gay and lady-boy population, heavily influenced by Russian tourist and the Russian mob. Knowing this I mentally strapped myself in to see some sh%t. I saw more prostitutes in 24 hours than I've seen in all my years of travel combined. I literally never saw anything like this place and experience my first heavy bout of culture shock since arriving in SE Asia two months ago. Everyone there had a sick look on their face like they were guilty of doing something terrible. It was a real bizzaro-land and no amount of mental preparation would due, I wanted to get the hell out of there fast.

I researched my next planned destination quickly, Rayong Beach. It would have been cheap but again left me in isolation. So I figured I'd skip that and re-researched my last planned destination of this leg of my trip, Koh Samet. This place is one of the more expensive islands in Thailand and is a popular destination for wealthy Thais from Bangkok; again leaving my budget unhappy and myself in isolation.

After having my mind blown with the parade of prostitutes and the fat, old, ugly, Johns that frequent them, as well as being hit on by half a dozen old queens and maybe two dozen prostitutes; I said the hell with this, I may not be in Thailand again for years and I'm not wasting another minute. So I packed my bags and hopped on a bus back to Bangkok and went straight to the train station. I got lucky and literally bought the last ticket for a sleeper bed for the overnight train to one of my favorite destinations in Thailand, Chiang Mai. This is where I am right now! I'm out of isolation there are even Steemit members here @iamjamie and others.

I'm already making friends and feeling good about my decision. My budget is thanking me too. I found a really nice hotel in old town with great internet, hot shower, clean, with friendly management, in an excellent location for $6.50 a night! I'm in a like minded community with healthy restaurants serving organic vegetarian food and much more. There are $4.50 Thai massages, and a rich authentic Thai Buddhist culture with lovely temples and history all around.

So an on the spot Travel Pro audible has been made and I'm feeling good about it. I'll probably spend at least a week here as I love my comfort and I'm very comfortable here. I'm totally down for a Steemit meet up for any fellow Steemians in the area. This has been a "Travel Pro Update" and until next time, signing off. -Dan, Steemit's "World Travel Pro!"

Not To be Missed!

Travel Pro Eats #1: Hainanese Chicken Rice!

Travel Tip #19: Eating Out in Developed Vs Non-Developed Countries

Adventure in Laos: 25 Kilometer Hike to Utopia! Part Three

With over 10 years of travel experience I answer travel and international lifestyle questions. Leave a question in the comments and I may make a video just for you!

Photo Credit: World Travel Pro!

Sort:  

Good job listening to the inner voice and taking care of yourself, Dan!

I thought that's what you meant in your last comment. Glad you made it to a place where you feel comfortable.

Me too! The expression "Run for the Hills!" Has a whole new significance for me now! lol

That's why Pattaya is not even on our list of places to visit. Would be glad to get a post from you, with a list of places where you decided to stay longer than planned and enjoyed it allot.

Yeah, I sometimes go places I know I'm not going to really "like" just for the experience. But Pattaya was worse than expected. Over the last six months my list would be Vilcabamba Ecuador, Cuenca Ecuador, San Juan del Sur Nicaragua, Playa del Carmen Mexico, Vang Vieng Laos, Luang Prabang Laos, Koh Phanagn Thailand, suprisingly Surrattani Bangkok, and now Chaing Mai. All places I've enjoyed more than anticipated.

Thanks! Added to our ''To go to'' list :)

Enjoy! great insight in you yought process

I also did the sleeper from BK to Chiang Mai. I then had some stupid virus of the duration of my stay there so I missed out on most of the tourist stuff the rest of my group did. Despite all that, CM just has a vibe a really love, so I'll be going back.
There's apparently a pilgrimage challenge where you try to visit 9 temples in one day. I met an self-confessed ex-bad boy Thai who was doing just that. He got a monk to unlock a room with a face-changing buddha and let me observe his blessing ceremony. Sometimes I'm just so lucky!

Wow. That sounds like quite and experience with the face-changing Buddha room. Getting sick while traveling can be a real drag. I bought a bunch of vitimin C for cheap before I left the states for Thailand. I've been taking between 1,000-2,500 mg daily, and I can literally feel my immune system on working on another level. I'm feeling really good these days.

Thanks for checking and your continued support. At least for me steemit is feeling much less "third world" now! lol Hope you are having a great day!

have a nice time in changmai , I have not been there yet. I think their annual latern festival is coming soon which I really want to visit, safe travel dan. Me too, I am not checklist country person , but since I am not traveling full time, I do not spend so much time in once place though but it was okay as I love to be on the road, being on the long bus or train make me really happy!

That's very cool and I know what you mean. I think I'm at my happiest on the top bunk of a sleeper train! lol I had no idea about th lantern festival, and I'm the one in Chiang Mai! I'll have to look into that. Thanks for the tip :)

I'll. Be in Chiang Mi on Wednesday!

That's great. Let me know if you want to get together.

never been there but have also no interest in Pattaya. Only heard it is a shithole.

Now having been there. I can attest to that! Was a shocking experience to say the least! lol

Oh man I had heard A LOT of seedy things about Pattaya, but the way you describe it makes it seem out-of-this-world (and not in a good way)! Was never into that prostitute scene at all as it kinda grosses me out, but the culture shock you experienced seems like it'd be worth going to just to see; I no longer experience culture shock anymore & would love to be in awe again haha!

Keep up the great work Dan & speak soon :)

I'm not into it that scene either, grosses me out too. I went for the shock value and I certainly got more than I bargained for. I was literally passing through that city on my way to Ko Samet. Only reason I stopped for a night. Messed me up so bad I abandoned the rest of that rout and just headed to where I know it's good, where I'm at now, Chiang Mai. What a normal place by comparison. I'll be in touch. -Dan

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 57298.55
ETH 3059.61
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.29