Adventure in Laos: 25 Kilometer Hike to Utopia! Part Three

in #travel7 years ago

It's been an incredible adventure in Vang Vieng Laos which started just before the sunrise. We've seen and done so much and it's not even noon! You don't want miss part one or part two.

I wet my towel using a little of the water I have and I put it over my head. Having already walked for about 20 kilometers and the sun still rising, it's important to do all I can to keep myself from overheating. I want to get to the main road and get to my hotel, but sitting under the trees with the cows during the mid-day sun did cross my mind. It's now past 11am and hot with the sun blaring down!

As a cloud briefly blocks out the sun, I come around a corner and see an old man living here. I believe this is his store on the right.

Here's another house in the neighborhood.

And the Buddhist Temple just down the road.

I drink some water and continue on.

You can see a factory way off in the distance with smoke coming out of it. That must be where the main road is, the exit.

I believe this small factory is part of the rock mining industry. The blocks to the right of the building seem to be the final product. These trucks are suddenly starting to be seen all over the place as well as driving past me full of stone.

I soon pass through another village area and temple, I'm sweating heavily and people are starting to look at me funny as I walk in the mid-day sun. I just want to get to the main road at this point.

We make it to the bridge! While crossing the Nam Song river I look to my right and recognize the area. I stopped at that river-side bar while tubing down the river a few days earlier.

At this point I've reached a different kind of Utopia, I think I'm starting to hallucinate from heat exhaustion! I see a group of strange looking pig cows and continue on.

Even these huge intimidating buffalo know to go for a swim in this heat.

I made it to the main road. I rest in the shade and flag down a taxi to take me about 7 kilometers to my hotel. I'm relieved. The air conditioning in his truck was delightful.

This was no joke of an adventure. It turns out I walked about 25 kilometers leaving just before 6am, I hiked for more than 6 hours. Heat stroke was avoided by a wet towel draped over my head for the last third of the trip. Overall it was an exciting time and we saw so many interesting things! The carriage ride, the rock quarry, banana fields, rice fields, pig-cows, water buffalo, villages, temples, Koreans in buggies, even children spear fishing and much more. It was a great time and we did find Utopia! If you like this post please view some of my others and consider following. Thank you! -Dan "World Travel Pro!

Sort:  

Quite an adventure! Glad you could keep your head cool and protect yourself from the heat as much as possible. Taking a taxi the last bit would feel a little like cheating, but on the other hand, there are no rules and I understand how wonderful it must have felt getting into an air-conditioned car after that long hike in heat.
Where we are on the other side of the planet (Nebraska, USA) we're having a cold spell with night temperatures close to freezing. There really is only a very narrow span of temperature that we humans are comfortable in and need neither cooling or heating.

Thanks for the kind words. Yes being human is easier said than done sometimes! lol Good thing i don't play by any rules, that taxi was a life saver! lol But my main goal was to get back to the main road, knowng it would be about 7 kl north of my hotel on the same road.

Nabraska sounds very nice. Never been there. Stay warm and enjoy!

Ok I don't know what to think because when is sooo hot could it be very difficult to travel but on the other hand see so many interested places it is really worth it but honestly I am a little jealous because by my window is cold and raining. I am totally summery girl so you could know how I feel ;))

Excellent writing thank you for the trip I do really enjoy it ;)))

Thank you. Really appreciate your comment. Generally the heat and sun doesn't bother me, but there in Laos it's intense!

I see from the post you are very happy because many events inland life that we can see thank you

Thank you. You are from Indonesia? Where about?

I live in Jawabarat precisely in Bogor Bojong gede village not far from jakarta

Cool. I have not been there. But I'm familiar with Bali, like most travelers from other countries visiting Indonesia.

I see from the post you are very happy because many events inland life that we can see thank you

Glad to hear you made it. Heat stroke is joke.

I'm glad I made it too. Vang Vieng is an incredible place. It's like an outdoor wonderland. I'm heading to Pattaya this afternoon. That will be some other sort of wonderland. I'm more there for the observation than the participation if you know anything about that place. Hope you are well , and have a great day!

Pattaya certainly does have a reputation.

In Steemit World it would be like negative 25! lol

I actually just got here and it's already a freak show. I don't think I'll be staying long.

Amazing view and nice post 💕 Thank you for sharing my beautiful laos 🇱🇦 @world-travel-pro

I really enjoyed my time spent in your country. Full of great people too.

You are so nice 😊 Thank you for beautiful post you make form laos

Haha thanks for sharing ! That was quite the journey , glad to hear you didn't get heat stroke my friend ! Lots of temples there , and Pig Cows !?!? LOL! Great post , upped like the others !👍👍👍

Thanks Karen, so glad you enjoyed. Yes Pig Cows! I'm sure they are not called that. I wonder how they taste, a little porky a little beefy...hmmmmm

Hahaha your a funny guy today !! LOL! I would love to try one , perhaps a nice big juicy Beef/ Pork Steak !!! Mmmmmmm!😋😋😋🐷🐄🐖🐄🐖🐄🐖🐄

This post has received a 10.52 % upvote from @boomerang thanks to: @flipstar

@boomerang distributes 100% of the SBD and up to 80% of the Curation Rewards to STEEM POWER Delegators. If you want to bid for votes or want to delegate SP please read the @boomerang whitepaper.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.12
JST 0.027
BTC 61639.07
ETH 2982.91
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46