Travel Pro Health #2: Turmeric

in #travel7 years ago

I recently bought 2,000 empty capsules at a pharmacy in Chiang Mai Thailand. The first thing I decided to start packing them with was turmeric which I bought at the old world Muang Mai Market. I got two bags, each costing ten Thai baht, about 30 cents. From each bag I was able to get about 300 capsules of about 500mg in size.

On Ebay I see 1000mg capsules in bottles of 120 are selling for $50. I have ended up with the equivalent of 300 (1000mg) capsules. It cost me 60 cents for the turmeric and two dollars for the capsules. So by doing it myself for $2.60, I saved about $120 on turmeric alone. That is some serious "Travel Pro" savings! I just had to spend a couple hours packing them myself. Fortunately I had some tweezers and quickly came up with a method that worked really well.

I wanted to get turmeric for it's anti-inflammatory properties, as well as anti cancer. In this day in age I believe prevention is key. My thought process is; stay young, stay healthy, so this is something I can easily and affordably add into my health regimen. It is a great anti-inflammatory, it improves brain function, it is a strong antioxidant as well as increases your bodies capacity to carry antioxidants, it's also good for your heart and cardio vascular system.

It even combats cancer cells. The population of India uses this constantly in their food and they have some of the lowest cancer rates on the planet. Turmeric is one of the most beneficial herbal supplements out there and is great for anyone wanting to improve their overall health. To make this supplement most bio available I make sure to take it with black pepper and coconut oil (or any fat), which also have their own benefits as well.

This is just the start. Stay tuned to my "Travel Pro Health Series" to see what other incredible herbal supplements I made myself while in Chiang Mai Thailand. Until next time. Dan "World Travel Pro!"

Not To be Missed!

Travel Pro Health #1: Making Your Own Suppliments for Pennies on the Dollar in Chiang Mai Thailand

Travel Pro Tip #22: Get a Massage from the Blind in Thailand

Real Life Capture #16: Food Markets in Chiang Mai Thailand Part Three (16 photos)"

Travel Pro Hotels #5: Jonnada Guest House, Chiang Mai Thailand

With over 10 years of travel experience I answer travel and international lifestyle questions. Leave a question in the comments and I may make a video just for you!

Photo Credit: World Travel Pro!

Sort:  

Man, that's fantastic! Well done. I did some research on this a while back and had @corinnestokes get some, but it's been a long time since I took any. At these prices you should start a business!

Hi Buddy! Thanks the nice comment. I've been traveling from Bangkok, to Sweden, to London, To Orlando, now I'm in Tampa with my dad. In two days I'll be near Miami with my uncle, then I'm off to Ecuador for about a month. So sorry for the late reply. But yes, I did do well :) I'm feeling great. I've got a bunch of other posts on what I crammed into those capsules coming out soon. Ginger is one I'm about to post. Yes, at those prices it did totally cross my mind of having a factory full of Thai people cramming turmeric into capsules for export to the US! lol

On a more personal/ steemit note. This last post of ginger is all I have backlogged. I'm flat out of posts. I went through 900 photos on the airplane to the US. I've got a list of like 75 post I've got to write up. So I'm planning on spending the holidays in a hotel in Ecuador banging out post after post. Wait until you see some of the beaches and places I visited the last few weeks in Thailand.

To travel how I do and write new fresh posts everyday I've found to be a big challenge. Since you're my number one supporter and I thank you for that. You let me know if you ever think my blog is slacking or could go in a better direction. Thanks again for being there for me Luke. I'm a very happy steemien thanks to you and those like you. Best of wishes to you and your whole family! -Dan

Thanks Dan. I'm definitely looking forward to those posts about Thailand as @corinnestokes and I plan to visit there someday. I hope you enjoy time with your dad and the holidays. Don't "work" too hard on Steemit posts. It's just a blog after all, right? :)

Yes, I'm totally looking forward to sharing that Thailand info with you. You guys would love the country as long as you go to the right places.

Thanks so much for the great blog advice Luke! I'm just now beginning to understand what a blog is. Embarrassingly I really never read or saw a blog until I joined Steemit! I actually used to kind of laugh at the concept......but I'm not laughing now! :) Have a great day! - From Tampa Florida, Dan

I have not found any loose turmeric powder here - just spice bottles of it that are expensive. I've been eating the fresh roots since I used up the supply of powder I brought from the states. Plus getting some capsules at my fav - 711!

That's some dedication! I just pour it on my food, but I know it gets old for most people to taste it all the time.

I hope you are doing good back home and looking forward to Ecuador. I'm so glad I got to see you before leaving. My one restaurant meal for the year :)

Yes, lovely name of that restaurant too! I'm sure if you searched hard enough you could find powdered turmeric but that's is an adventure in itself. So glad we spent such good quality of time together all those times I passed through Bangkok including just last week. The US is good, my friends and family are well. The time I've appropriated here makes much more sense and I'm off to Ecuador Saturday! FYI. I'll be post a "ginger" capsule post in about 30 min.

:-) excellent idea. I love turmeric. I always add to my sandwiches, soups and etc. Stay healthy my friend :-)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 57173.66
ETH 3067.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.39