Real Life Captured #16: Food Markets in Chaing Mai Thailand Part Three (16 photos)

in #travel7 years ago (edited)

This is the final part three of my real life captured food markets in Chaing Mai series. Here you can see part one and part two. Chiang Mai is a great place to live comfortably on very little. No wonder it's one of the most popular digital nomad destinations in the world. The photos in this series are mostly of the main Muang Mai Market; where a tourist basically can not be found. Oddly enough this is the market to see. This is where the locals and restaurant owners shop.

The tourist are guided to Warrot Market and Tom Salat market where they pay to have a cooking class and a tour at the small touristy Tom Salat market. In my "Travel Pro" opinion I'd never pay for a cooking class and tour of a market. It's easy enough to make friends with locals and get a private tour of the real deal if that is what you are looking for; something I have done many times. Now lets take a final look at what I call the real deal when it comes to the market place in Chiang Mai!

Not To be Missed!

Travel Pro Hotels #5: Jonnada Guest House, Chiang Mai Thailand

Travel Pro Eats #4: Fried Bananas in Thailand

Real Life Captured #13: Chatuchak Weekend Market, Bangkok Thailand. Part Three (15 photos)

Travel Pro Tip #21: How to Long Term Budget Travel through "Pay More Get Less Countries"

With over 10 years of travel experience I answer travel and international lifestyle questions. Leave a question in the comments and I may make a video just for you!

Photo Credit: World Travel Pro!

!steemitworldmap 18.790211 lat 99.000678 long d3scr

Sort:  

It is always best to make friends with local and get to know the things their way, then acting all tourist. Are those worms in a bags? Woh! Good post.
Hey! Daniel, did you eat any of them? ;)

Thanks for your very kind comments. I've been traveling from Bangkok, to Sweden, to London, To Orlando, now I'm in Tampa with my dad. In two days I'll be near Miami with my uncle, then I'm off to Ecuador for about a month. So sorry for the late reply.

Yes I couldn't agree more, the most interesting way to travel for me, is to be and do like the locals as much as possible. That is a great way to immerse yourself in their culture and actually learn something. As far as those worms. They were much easier for me to photograph then to eat. No I didn't try them. That kind of stuff is just not worth the adventure as it kind of turns my stomach.

Hey! No worries at all. I will look forward to seeing your travel posts from Ecuador. I totally agree with you, its the best way to travel.
Thanks for answer my question buddy. Have fun traveling and keep up the good work.

Awesome my steemit brother! Your encouraging words and support is highly appreciated!

I'm glad to know that.

Hey there buddy. You've been on steemit way longer than I have. Please let me know if I have finally arrived as player on the platform with this latest post. And I'll look forward to shaking you by the hand at the next steemfest. Much appreciation. -Dan

https://steemit.com/travel/@world-travel-pro/travel-pro-adventure-2-lost-in-railey-peninsula-thailand-part-one-45-incredible-travel-photos

Wow ! That definitely is the "Real Deal" @world-travel-pro ! Live frogs / pig heads / duck / those little live turtles I think !? Talk about a fresh market !! I must say there's a lot of stuff I would not eat especially whatever is in those bags , some type of catapillars !? Sorry but No Thanks !! Haha , to each their own I always say my friend ! Thanks for sharing this part of the world with us , its fascinating ! Upped and resteemed !👍👍👍

Thanks so much Karen. I made it back to Florida! 10 days then out to Ecuador! Yes there is a lot f stuff at that market that I wouldn't eat either. But a lot of stuff that I would too. I think those caterpillar things are meal worms! Stiff fried! lol. Thanks again for the resteem and your continued support! Won't seem like I'm in the US, I've still got a tonne of Thailand post to put up, including some real great adventure one's with incredible photos. Have a great day. Dan.

Sound great ! Thanks for the update !👍👍👍😊

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=world-travel-pro
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=real-life-capture-16-food-markets-in-chaing-mai-thailand-part-three-16-photos


Want to have your post on the map too?
Add the following inside your post:
!steemitworldmap xxx lat yyy long description d3scr

(replace xxx and yyy with latitude and longitude)

wow, such a variety and strange items in the markets....beautiful and funny and sometimes hard to look at.

Yes, sometime hard to look at I would agree. Regardless I enjoy all aspects of these type of markets, as it has their unique Thai culture written all over it in every way. I'll pass on the meal worms and frogs though! lol

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 57979.07
ETH 3124.67
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.36