Travel Pro Hotels #5: Jonnada Guest House, Chiang Mai Thailand

in #travel7 years ago

This is my top recommendation for where to stay in Chiang Mai Thailand, in my opinion it's better than the Royal Guest House which I reviewed in yesterday's post. Jonnada is located in the north east corner of Old City right where you want to be. The street is quiet yet walking distance to seemingly everything; restaurants, bars, shops, cafes, laundry, markets, temples, and more. The hotel is very well maintained, but the rooms are a little on the small side. This is truly made up for in quality and a very friendly and responsible brother/sister team who run the place.

I had a very clean and comfortable fan room with hot water and great internet. In the lobby they offer breakfast at a very fair price. They make a great pot of coffee for 90 cents; which they'll generously come by and refill your cup for free. Here in the lobby is also a great place to hang out and socialize with other travelers. There are also lovely balconies that provide a nice relaxing space on each floor.

When I arrived I told the owners that I was going to stay for maybe a week or two and I'm looking for a good deal, so they immediately upgraded me to the 12 dollar a night room form the 8 dollar room. They then offered me a free night if I stayed seven nights. So all in all I ended up staying 16 nights in Chaing Mai at the Jonnada Guest House costing me just 6.50 cents a night. Now that's "Travel Pro!"

Chaing Mai one of my favorite cities in the world, is notorious for being one of the least expensive cities in Thailand and is very popular for digital nomads. To no surprise this is where I found one of my best hotel deals during my three months in the country. With 60 cent Young Thai Coconuts, six dollar all you can eat BBQ buffets, $4.50 massages, and $1.25 meals all over town; my two plus weeks here in Chiang Mai really gave my budget a chance to recuperate while still living incredibly well. Until next time - Dan "World Travel Pro!"

Not To be Missed!

Travel Pro Eats #4: Fried Bananas in Thailand

Real Life Captured #13: Chatuchak Weekend Market, Bangkok Thailand. Part Three (15 photos)

Travel Pro Tip #21: How to Long Term Budget Travel through "Pay More Get Less Countries"

Travel Pro Tip #20 : "Pay More Get Less Countries" "Pay Less Get More Countries" and Some Things to Consider. Part Two

With over 10 years of travel experience I answer travel and international lifestyle questions. Leave a question in the comments and I may make a video just for you!

Photo Credit: World Travel Pro!

!steemitworldmap 18.791791 lat 98.991387 long d3scr

Sort:  

That looks lovely. I really need the ac though. I love the outdoor areas.Someone told me to stay out by the University if I went up there, but I think in the old town would be better.

I really found that the AC would would have been quite unnecessary at night. During the day yes, but for each it's own. I'm pretty unfamiliar with the university area. I was very content with where I was.

One day I'll get up there maybe... I'm just spoiled with the ac. I lived without it for a few years in West Palm Beach, and I lived :)

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=world-travel-pro
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=travel-pro-hotels-5-jonnada-guest-house-chiang-mai-thailand


Want to have your post on the map too?
Add the following inside your post:
!steemitworldmap xxx lat yyy long description d3scr

(replace xxx and yyy with latitude and longitude)

A really good review :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60629.29
ETH 2636.33
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51