Travel Pro Deals #1: Three Travel Pro Deal Items Found in Ecuador!

in #travel6 years ago

Hey there my Steemit friends! One of my favorite things about traveling is finding Travel Pro Deals. Each country offers something to the world in the form of goods and products. Often when you are in the country that produces these items they are incredibly inexpensive compared to what you may be paying in your home country as an import.

Ecuador is famous for having a very strong agricultural economy. They grow everything here from coffee and cacao to beef and bananas. Finding quality food in this country is not only easy it's incredibly affordable, so affordable the prices may shock you!

Part of the inspiration for this series is that when I was recently back in my home country of the United States the prices did shock me, but not in a good way. I came from Thailand where I could get high quality meat and produce for very little, it seemed to be the exact opposite back in the states.

I really want to show my steemit friends how the price of a product in one country may be incredibly different in another. Now let's go ahead and start this series off with some of the foods I've been enjoying here in Guayaquil Ecuador!

Rib-Eye Steak

This is a top quality Rib-Eye "Tomahawk" grass fed, grain finished steak grown in Ecuador normally for export. They are now recenlty selling this item in the high end Super Maxi grocery stores around the country for about $3.50 a pound. You certainly are not getting this quality in most countries at this price.

I was so happy to find this Travel Pro Deal I bought three of them. Normally the steak in this country is cut oddly and is a bit tough but not this brand and cut of meat. As you can see I cooked this myself in my hotel room. I was happy to do so as you simply can't even find this quality of steak at a restaurant in Ecuador other than at the Hilton for forty dollars. Not only was this a Travel Pro Deal, it was a super Travel Pro Find!

Walnuts

Walnuts, one of the healthiest nuts on the planet! They are loaded with Omega-3 fats and very tasty. At the local open air markets you can buy a pound of them for six dollars. They'll weigh them out right in front of you. I asked where they were grown, and turns out they are an import from Chili. So I can only imagine what the price of the nuts are in that country. I'll let you know when I get there in a month or two.

Bananas

These little bananas are some of my favorite kind in the world. They are the perfect snack size compared to eating a bigger banana and either saving some for later or eating the whole thing. This bunch of eight only cost 40 cents at the local open air markets. If you're tight on cash, this can be a good food to keep you going all day on less than a dollar!

My Steemit friends, I hope you found my new Travel Pro Deals series interesting. Comments are welcome. Until next time. -Dan "World Travel Pro!"

Not To be Missed!

World Travel Pro Hits 1,000 Followers! A Tribute to My Steemit Experience, My Steemit Friends, and Twenty-One Photos Celebrating Fifteen Years of Travel!

Real Life Captured #60: Historic District Quito Ecuador! Part Three (14 photos)

Real Life Captured #59: Guayaquil Ecuador! Part Three (13 photos)

Travel Pro Art #8: Statues of the Historic Basilica Gothic Cathedral in Quito Ecuador! (10 photos)

Real Life Captured #58: Phantip Night Market Koh Phangan Thailand (15 photos)

Real Life Captured #57: Yellow Green Farmers Market in Hollywood Florida USA! Part Four (13 photos)

With over 11 years of travel experience I answer travel and international lifestyle questions. Leave a question in the comments and I may make a Steemit post just for you!

Photo Credit: World Travel Pro!

Sort:  

great...mouth waterring!!

Ever cook in a hotel? It's a favorite past time for me! lol

Very impressed with your in room cooking!

Looking forward to your posts from Chile. It's top of my list to visit.

Thank you very much! I'm looking to getting back to traveling. Next stop Galapagos on the 30th!

Are you planning on going to Easter Island? That's what got me interested in Chile at first but now there's so much I want to see that I'm hoping to spend 3 months there one day. Need to wait for my partner to retire first!

It's always those JOBs that hold people back from doing things dream of.....I hope he is retiring soon and you don't have to wait too long. As far as Easter Island. I'm not sure, I really haven't put any thought into it. But now it's on my mind. The problem with me traveling so much, I no longer get too excited about my destinations. Most people would be all excited about their big trip to the Galapagos. But for me it's now like, just living my life, will be an interesting experience that I'm looking forward to I think I may get real excited about going to some far out place in the middle of nowhere China or something. But I'm certainly not complaining very happy I live how I do.

I know what you mean. I've done a lot of travelling and I no longer have the passion about new places that I once did.

Chile is one of the few places I feel really drawn to as there is so much variety there.

The only other that has survived my list (and I'm even beginning to feel a bit blah about that) is Antarctica. We've been saving for that one for years!

Nowadays I look for the things I used to find through travel, in my everyday life. It doesn't really matter whether I'm at home or on the road. How much I'm present in my life is what counts.

Yes passion is for the lifestyle more than the location now. I just enjoy going to new places. Tourist destination excite me just as much as a random village in the amazon! Antartica! Not for me....too cold! lol

That steaks looks great!! :-)
And thanks for another enjoyable post !
See you around!
i enjoyed reading your post.jpg

Thank you! Keep up the great work with your art. I think it's fantastic!

Nomnomnomnomnom...man that ribeye steak looks incredible! How much did you end up paying for that down there in terms of USD? Think I might treat myself to a nice hot piece of sizzling flesh tonight...

Ecuador uses USD, Cambodia too. But I really paid in Steem in a round about way, tranfered to bitcoin- then loaded up on my bitpav visa debit card. I use that for puchases all around the world where ever Visa is accepted!

Glad you like my hotel cooking. For $3.50 a pound....I just went back and bought more the other day! lol

The meat that you cook probably was very juicy and delicious! Since I have a lot of experience in cooking. Since I work in the kitchen for 7 years already, I'll tell you that you've got a pretty steak and for marble streaks I'm sure it was not dry but very juicy and tasty! Well done keep it up!

It was! You certainly know your steak! Pretty darn good for $3.50 a lb! It's a Travel Pro Deal! lol

Together bro! One day I will join you on one trip! Very great!

That would be great!

Finding good meal for cheap is hard these days, but apperantly not in Equador :) i really do think this is an interesting information, will start looking from that perspective when i travel.

In that case I will certainly continue with this series. Thank you so much for your feedback and nice comment. Hope you have been well..... Where are you going next?

Well Cyprus in April and Thailand in May are booked and payed for. But other places might be possible in between, we'll see

Awesome. You are going to have such a good time for sure!

Banana is the life saver in travel. It fells full. Also you can add nut to the list :)

Yes, I believe I do have a nut of the list already! Thanks for stopping by!

nice i like your fried beef :P

Thank you! In the USA we call it steak!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63750.99
ETH 3130.22
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.95