Travel Pro Art #8: Statues of the Historic Basilica Gothic Cathedral in Quito Ecuador! (10 photos)

in #art7 years ago

Hey there my Steemit friends. If you are wondering why I'm spending so much time posting photos and writing about the Basilica Gothic Cathedral, the answer is quite simple. This is probably the most historic building in all of Ecuador! Religious or not religious, this Cathedral is huge, immaculate, and very Gothic!

The Basilica was built smack dab in the center of Quito and geometrically lined up with the enormous statue of the Angel of the Apocalypse several kilometers off in the distance on a hill (second to last photo). This building truly has historic significance unlike any other. It was first under construction in the late 1800s and technically it has never been completed.

The building and it's surrounding area of Quito's Historic District is considered so significant that UNESCO has listed it as a World Heritage Site. Not only is the building impressive, what is inside of it is quite remarkable as well. I was very impressed with the rows of statues so I started photographing them. It was a little tricky taking good photos of these statues lining the corridor as the lighting inside the Cathedral was quite poor, but I did the best I could.

These statues all perched on huge stone pillars really added to the Gothic vibe inside of this place. Surely they depict important figures from the bible, which I'm not too familiar with. If anyone recognizes any of these figures feel free to let us know their significance in the comments below. Now come along and let's take a look at these great works of art in the Historic Basilica Gothic Cathedral in Quito Ecuador!

Not To be Missed!

Real Life Captured #58: Phantip Night Market Koh Phangan Thailand (15 photos)

Real Life Captured #57: Yellow Green Farmers Market in Hollywood Florida USA! Part Four (13 photos)

Travel Pro Hang Out Hot Spot #5: Salad Concept in Chiang Mai Thailand!

Travel Pro Adventure #8: Kayaking, Caving, and Discovering the "Ancient Alien" Cave Paintings in Krabi Thailand! Part One (24 photos)

Real Life Captured #56: Quatro Manzanas Mercado, Guayaquil Ecuador! Part One (13 photos)

With over 11 years of travel experience I answer travel and international lifestyle questions. Leave a question in the comments and I may make a Steemit post just for you!

Photo Credit: World Travel Pro!

!steemitworldmap -0.214941 lat -78.507571 long d3scr

Sort:  

Miss your post, it's been a while now have plbeen online..still in Ecuador? hmmm what a cathedral, worshiping in there will even makes one closer God (on a lighter note). Thanks for the pics Well-done

Yes. Still in Ecuador. Good to see you buddy. I just bought tickets to the Galapagos. Well earned vacation. I've been steeming like a mad man this month!

Upvoted nice post keep it up

OMG!!! I am definitely traveling there some day!!

So glad I could inspire you! Hope to see you gain soon. -Dan

I am a big fan of Gothic architecture. I like the way they put so many secrets and mystries in their building. Have fun touring the historical places, you are like me a fan of history :P

Yes indeed. I am a fan of history, culture, food, archetecture, and of course travel! Thanks for stopping by! -Dan

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=world-travel-pro
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=travel-pro-art-8-statues-of-the-historic-basilica-gothic-cathedral-in-quito-ecuador-10-photos


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Oh Ecuador, how I would love to go there. I feel like whatever travel post I read, I say the same thig. The world is amazing and no limit to places to visit.

Thank you so much for your lovely comment. Really appreciate it. I'm sure you'd love this place and many other places I've been around the world. I'm going to go ahead and check out your page.

Thanks for sharing, Dan! This cathedral looks massive! Do you know how many people it fits? :-)

  • another thing to add to my Ecuador bucket list thanks to you!

Thank you Josefine! I have no idea how many people can fit in there, but I'm sure it's quite a few! Thank you so much for following along. I'm going to head over to your page and see how you are doing.

I could imagine! It looks so big! - and thank you :-)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.12
JST 0.027
BTC 63049.68
ETH 3022.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50