Real Life Captured #61: Mercado Este Guayaquil Ecuador! Part One (12 photos) Meet My Friend Luise and Learn Why Teaching English in Ecuador is Not a Wise Decision.

in #travel6 years ago (edited)

Hey there my Steemit friends! Mercado Este is one of my favorite markets in Guayaquil Ecuador. The food is fresh and they keep the place organized and clean. The vendors are very friendly and are always happy to give you a little something extra and with a smile as well.

Here with me in the photo is Luise. I got into a long conversation with him in Spanish. Real nice guy. He's from the city of Loja high in the Andes but has been working at this market for the past dozen years. He says he likes his life. He has family in the United States and has had the opportunity to move there himself but he says he prefers the laid back life he has here Ecuador.

He went on to explain that even though Ecuador is a poor country most people including himself have everything they need if they simply work. He said that there are other countries that are much poorer than Ecuador, he is proud to be Ecuadorian and he enjoys his life selling chickens at the market. His friends are all here and he doesn't need fancy things to be happy.

Luise asked me what I do for work I told him that I used to teach English but now I'm a travel writer. He went on to explain that the high school down the road is looking for an English teacher and that I should apply for the job, and he was sure they'd hire me in a heart beat.

I thanked him for the info, as I didn't want to get into how that would be the most Un-Travel Pro thing I could do at this point in my Travel Pro Life! Besides that I know Ecuador is one of the worst places on the planet to teach ESL. They pay horribly and the kids are not interested in learning, the classes have too many students, and it's next to impossible to maintain order in the classroom.

Compared to most Asian countries it's an awful deal. As far as I'm concerned South Korea is really the best place to teach English as a Second Language (ESL). Teaching here would be one big horrible job of stress and taking orders from a boss for like $400 dollars a month! I'm sure this has a lot to do with why they can't fill the position.

I've met several ESL teachers from the United States working here in Ecuador. They were all miserable, over worked, and getting paid so little they didn't know how to survive on their measly income. Things were so bad for this one girl her parents would send her money so she could eat once her $350 a month ran out. This was in Quito, the capital. I asked her why she took the job. "I wanted to teach ESL in Ecuador." Kind of fails to answer the question, but I guess some people are less thought out than others.

Not only is teaching Guayaquil stressful and pay very little. If you are forced to live off this small bit of money you will have no choice but to live in a rather poor part of the city. This is very dangerous for a "gringo". As your immediate neighbors may accept you after a while but just being in and around these parts of town on a daily basis is very dangerous.

If you are white, or just have a western appearance this instantly makes you a target to gang members, thieves, and criminals. This city has plenty of that. So spending much of your time in these areas totally raises your risk of getting robbed if not worse. You may be a humble English teacher, poor, living on your $400 dollars a month salary teaching English at the high school. But in their eyes, you are a rich "Gringo" and a prime target to rob or kidnap and hold for ransom.

That sounds like a nightmare. If you are kidnapped they will demand your family sends them thousands of dollars, and they'll take the money and still likely kill you and dump your body in the river. This is no joke. I've heard stories of this happening. I've met people who have taught here in Guayaquil, and spent a lot of time commuting to and from not the best areas. They have all been robbed! All of them, several multiple times.

One person I met has been living here for years and just thinks of it as no big deal. "This year I only god robbed twice, last year it was three times." Like it's to be expected and part of life. So I highly recommend not teaching English in this city. Quite frankly I would never live here in Guayaquil and I'm surprised how much time I've spent here. But I've just been in my hotel for the most part working on my computer and I'll soon be in the Galapagos then down to Peru.

As you can see it was probably best I didn't get into the details of why I wasn't interested in the job what so ever. However Luis is a real nice guy and we have become friends. We chat several times a week when I visit the market. Now come along and let's take a look at where Luise has made a career for himself over the last twelve years here at Mercado Este in Guayaquil Ecuador!

Not To be Missed!

Travel Pro Health #10: Ylang Ylang!

Travel Pro Adventure #9: Kayaking, Caving, and Discovering the "Ancient Alien" Cave Paintings in Krabi Thialand! Part Two (24 photos)

Travel Pro Places of Interest #2: Basilica Gothic Cathedral Quito Ecuador! Part Two (20 photos)

Travel Pro Deals #1: Three Travel Pro Deal Items Found in Ecuador!

World Travel Pro Hits 1,000 Followers! A Tribute to My Steemit Experience, My Steemit Friends, and Twenty-One Photos Celebrating Fifteen Years of Travel!

With over 11 years of travel experience I answer travel and international lifestyle questions. Leave a question in the comments and I may make a Steemit post just for you!

Photo Credit: World Travel Pro!

!steemitworldmap -2.204492 lat -79.886554 long d3scr

Sort:  

Great story!

Such a shame that the world is a place like it is nowadays. The obsessive search for materialistic richdom that people try to rob and able to hurt kill other human being makes me sick. The world is toughening. Love to see the feet down mentality of Luise in this case.

Keep them coming! Have a blessed trip further on the road.

Thank you such much. I really appreciate the comment. It's a great addition to the article itself. Plenty more Travel Pro material on it's way. Your support means a lot. Have a great day! -Dan

I liked your history and the salary, well better not go into details of how the situation here in Venezuela. I liked your photos a lot and I hope your post from Peru that excites me more, because for that reason I have plans to emigrate.

Yes, Venezuala....best to immigrate until things get better. Breaks my heart knowing what's going on there. Thank you for beaing real about it. Wishing the all the luck in the world! -Dan

Well that was an interesting read. I always thought Ecuador was one of the safe South American countries. It wasn't that long ago that Quito was being touted as one of the best places to retire to.

I was surprised to read that being white, or just having a western appearance instantly makes you a target to gang members, thieves, and criminals.

Also, surprising to read was "the kids are not interested in learning, the classes have too many students, and it's next to impossible to maintain order in the classroom."

Made me realise how much I assume about countries I know little about. Must do better! 😊

Really enjoyed the market photos. Particularly the ones of fruit and sweeties!

The sad thing is that between Ecuador and Mexico it is probably is one of the safest countries. Now maybe I should have been more specific that I'm talking primarily about Guayaquil when it comes to this crime activity, and especially the poorer neighborhoods, which you would be semi forced to live in at such a lousy salary. Ecuador as a whole, especially the touristy areas are very safe. The mountain towns, you nothing to worry about. But the stories I share are from people working in Guayaquil not in some laid back mountain town. So I don't want to alarm you too much. A place line Banos, zamora, Vilcabamba. Great small mountain towns with almost no criminal activity. And to teach one of these places would be much better. But the jobs are often in the cities of Quito (south Quito more dangerous) and Guayaquil, and that's where the gangs are especially Guayaquil. The city of Cuanca and Loja in the Andes. Very safe. So don't get too down on Ecuador as a whole. Every country has it's areas of good and bad. Thanks for enjoying y article. -Dan

Thanks for the clarification. That makes me feel better! hearts smile 😍

That is awesome that he has everything he needs and can produce a life there no problem with what they have available.

I think he would be very low pay and not worth your troubles unless you have a want to do that for the country and kids.

Interesting share here Dan. Not sure if I asked you before but what else do you do as a travel pro to earn your income? If you don't mind sharing. Thanks my man!

Thanks for your comments. I haven't done anything for over a decade for work. I just saved a lot of money with my teaching business in my early 20s, invested wisely and just live off my interest on a humble 500-1,000 a month "budget traveling" for seemingly ever now! So frankly I don't do a darn thing!

Which is why Steemit is so good for me now. To retire at 24 is not healthy. I've had nothing to really build and be proud of for a long time. Now I am proud of what I've accomplished here on Steemit! :) Thank you for your question. I hope that info doesn't come around to bite me. But it is what it is.

That is awesome and really inspiring. I think you did mention it somewhat to me before. I very much love life and travel and would love to do something similar. Use my daily content to build a blog on my adventures and take it from there. Steemit has also given me something else to be proud of and want to keep building on that for sure.

Good work here and everything you do Dan.

Thank you so much my friend. I think you're just about on your way to Guatamala no? I'm leaving for the Galapagos Tuesday :)

Yes Sunday I am taking off. Galapagos sounds awesome! So amazing to be connecting with people here that are flying around all over the world. Learning about what each other is doing in such positive ways. Truly great network/platform here.

Yes it is totally agree. Safe travels my friend!

Thank you Dan and you as well!

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=world-travel-pro
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=real-life-captured-61-mercado-este-guayaquil-ecuador-part-two-12-photos-meet-my-friend-luise-and-learn-why-teaching-english-in


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Teaching ESL in Asia is definitely the best. I'll vouch for that!
Thanks for the heads up on Ecuador. I'm sure a lot of future teachers could use the tip/warning. Cheers and happy travels!

Thank you so much for your kind comment. In the travel and teaching world of information, everyone is trying to sell you something. There for information like I share here on steemit is almost impossible to find generally speaking. What I love about what I can do here on steemit is be "real" and this article is prime example of that! Hope to see you again soon. -Dan

Yes it looks like you tell it like it is, or like you live it at least.
I taught ESL in Asia for 7 years and had my fair share of unpleasant surprises. Good ones too, but I sure could have used a few pointers at times.

I first built a business teacing English in South Korea at 20 years old. I was my own boss and earned enough to retire age 24. I know the business inside and out. If you even need help, or ideas with the teaching in Korea. Let me know! :)

Thanks Dan. I'm out of ESL now and a Montessori teacher, but I will definitely recommend others to read your posts and seek your advice should they need it.
Built your own business at 20?! You sure didn't wait around trying to figure out what to do with your life like most 20 year olds..
Have you been on the road since then?

Yes I've been basically living out of a backpack for 11 of the last 15 years. Were a few years like when I bought my house at age 22 when I tried to play home maker, but not at this stage in my life. I've accumulated so much travel knowledge with over decade of budget travel this is why I'm able to be so "Travel Pro!" lol :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 69995.16
ETH 3735.97
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.74