Travel Pro Places of Interest #2: Basilica Gothic Cathedral Quito Ecuador! Part Two (20 photos)

in #travel6 years ago

Hey there my Steemit friends. The Basilica Gothic Cathedral is one of the most interesting buildings I have been inside in a very long time. The history, the Gothic vibe, and architecture in general I found fascinating. In previous posts I highlighted the dozens of stained glass windows, the rows of status, and in part one of this "Travel Pro Places of Interest Series" I showed you around the ground floor of the church itself.

Here in part two, we finish our tour of the main areas of the Cathedral. We first revisit the main area on the ground floor, see an old stair case which we do not use. It's actually blocked off once you go up one lever. Instead we pay one dollar to use the elevator and access the upper floors and bell tower. Normally the price is two dollars, but the Travel Pro is an Ecuadorian permanent resident of this country! ....don't ask...lol

Before riding the escalator up we walk around the courtyard and view the outside of this detailed structure. We then view the the second floor which has a cafe looking out on the city. Then we head out on the very large balcony and take an excellent photo of the city facing south toward the Angle of the Apocalypse statue kilometers off in the distance.

We end this two part photo series of the main areas of the Basilica with a photo of me in the Bell Tower. I found myself spending so much time here I ended up with about one hundred photos. The final two posts of this building are to be published in the next couple weeks will be of the Bell Tower area.

This will include the dangerous catwalk above the church to access it, the incredible views from the highest point the church offers, crazy outdoor extremely vertical staircases, and much more! But for now come along and let's have another look at this incredible masterpiece of architecture dating back over 130 years.

And by the way, does anyone know the significance of that huge marble slab table situated perfectly in the middle of the Cathedral directly under the primary dome of the structure? Looks like a creepy slab of rock to strap someone down and do some sort of mid-evil torture or satanic human sacrifice or something. That really stood out to me. It's definitely not the normal alter, I found it very strange and how it was perfectly placed in the exact center of the building. What is that all about?

Not To be Missed!

Travel Pro Deals #1: Three Travel Pro Deal Items Found in Ecuador!

World Travel Pro Hits 1,000 Followers! A Tribute to My Steemit Experience, My Steemit Friends, and Twenty-One Photos Celebrating Fifteen Years of Travel!

Real Life Captured #60: Historic District Quito Ecuador! Part Three (14 photos)

Real Life Captured #59: Guayaquil Ecuador! Part Three (13 photos)

Travel Pro Art #8: Statues of the Historic Basilica Gothic Cathedral in Quito Ecuador! (10 photos)

Real Life Captured #58: Phantip Night Market Koh Phangan Thailand (15 photos)

With over 11 years of travel experience I answer travel and international lifestyle questions. Leave a question in the comments and I may make a Steemit post just for you!

Photo Credit: World Travel Pro!

!steemitworldmap -0.214941 lat -78.507571 long d3scr

Sort:  

Wow ! So beautiful this church is huge and very Gothic indeed ! im sure it looks so much better and beautiful in person ! thanks so much for sharing with us @world-travel-pro ! upped and resteemed for you my friend !💒👍💕😀

Fantastic Photos, the clarity is amazing! Very nice post here, Thanks.

A very majestic building. Thanks for posting.


  • English

Helloo @world-travel-pro
Me, @menulissejarah (writing history)
I see articles and photos on your post, have a historical and cultural value of an area. This post is certainly very interesting to add insight in the field of history.
If you do not mind, I will resteem this post in my account. Thanks.
Date: January, 24, 2018




  • Indonesia

Helloo @world-travel-pro
Saya, @menulissejarah #menulissejarah
Saya melihat artikel dan foto pada postingan milikmu, memiliki nilai sejarah dan budaya suatu daerah. Postingan ini tentunya sangat menarik untuk menambah wawasan di bidang ilmu sejarah.
Jika kamu tidak keberatan, saya akan resteem postingan ini di akun saya. Terima kasih.
Tanggal: 24 Januari 2018

All good! Thank you for resteeming! Glad you enjoyed! -Dan

What a magnificient place and photos! Never been to this place, but if i had a chance will definitely add this to my bucket list. Thank you for sharing @world-travel-pro. How wonderful!!!

Thank you so much. So glad you enjoyed! -Dan

The cathedral is so very beautiful. It reminds me of this church in New York City. The architecture is so similar to one another. I also love traveling to places just too check out the cool difference in building designs. So far the Bahamas were my favorite but it looks like Ecuador is definitely next on my list.

Awesome I could inspire you to come to Ecuador. There are so many incredible place to visit around the world. Bahamas is surely good too! Thanks for stopping by! -Dan

one day I want to go there to see the beauty directly with both eyes

Hopefully that day will come soon :) Thanks for stopping by! -Dan

Very good travel blog writing.thanks for us sharing

What an absolutely beautiful visit to this church! It is decorated so well, it should have cost them years to buils such a beautiful architecture! Amazing to visit and even climb up! Enjoy there!

Love,
Sha

Thanks Sha! I'm having a great time in Ecuador. Technically the contruction has never been completed! Good observation and thank you for your comments! -Dan

Youre welcome! Maybe some day I will go to Ecuador too, after asia I really want to take the plane if the money is there! Than I also wish to visit some of the places you have been too! Your blog is a good inspiration with many good pictures!

Love,
Sha

Thank you Sha. To be able to inspire others has been a real blessing form my blog your love and your comments are so greatly welcome and appreciated! Thank you- Dan

Than you are doing a great job! Many people appreciate your blogs! Thank you for that!

Love,
Sha

you are one of the best travel writers!
I really read it with curiosity and pleasure ...
I also got into my travel plans.
thank you :)

Thank you so much! What a compliment, that really means a lot to me. I'm so happy I can inspire you with travel plans of your own. If you ever have any "travel questions" don't hesitate to ask :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.11
JST 0.027
BTC 65626.89
ETH 3449.47
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.33