Travel Pro Adventure #9: Kayaking, Caving, and Discovering the "Ancient Alien" Cave Paintings in Krabi Thialand! Part Two (24 photos)

in #travel6 years ago

Hey there my Steemit friends! Welcome to the second haft of our adventure kayaking through caves in Krabi Thailand. What a great tour for only twenty dollars. Thailand has to be one of the best places when it comes to value for your money. Sure you can go to India, Cambodia, and other countries and do stuff for cheap; but when it comes to sheer quality vs expense Thailand reigns supreme as far as I'm concerned.

In part one we launched off in our Kayaks and visited the "Ghost Cave" also known as "Skull Cave" as human skulls were found inside. More interesting than that were the ancient cave paintings dating back 3,000 years! What made these painting so bizarre is that they were of a non human, humanoid creature.

Many locals think the whole "Ghost" thing is rubbish and actually believe that the painting is of an alien being. One painting is of a hand with six fingers along side of a hand with five fingers. Seeing these paintings high up on the ceiling of the cave where only a serious ladder or stair case could reach kind of made the hair on the back of my neck stand up. It was very strange to say the least.

This tour was a lot of fun. We got some good exercise kayaking all afternoon and enjoying such beautiful nature. Floating on your own kayak through caves and mangrove forest is an experience I'll never forget. Now come along and let's get paddling!

I really like this photo so I used it as my header for this post, but we don't head into this cave just yet.

Upon leaving the "Ghost Cave" with the cave paintings we re-board our kayaks and follow our guide not knowing what we'll see next.

Looks like the group got ahead of us again as I was fumbling with the camera. Oh well, as long as I don't drop this thing in the water I'm happy!

Ok we caught back up. The guide really knows his way around. Suddenly we are off from the main river and floating through a mangrove forest. Seems like we are headed towards a limestone cliff.

Oh wow! This is trippy, c'mon, let's go!

We have to duck underneath this rock hanging down, then we pop out the other side!

Wow, this place looks like something out of Jurassic Park. We are totally enclosed. Only one way in and one way out. None of us have ever seen anything like it. The cliffs that surrounded us must be several hundred feet high. The guide tells us most tours don't come here, but this is personally one his favorite places in the national park. I'm certainly happy to visit this almost eerie isolated spot. We hang out here for a short while then we head back out.

We continue along the side of this cliff. To our right it looks like this whole landscape is riddled with caves.

Suddenly we are back on the main river. Apparently we are not the only tour group. Looks like we've actually run into traffic. Let's try not to get into a head on kayak collision!

As we veer off on a secondary river channel we pass this sign kind of sticking out of nowhere.

We soon see the entrance of this cave. Looks like we are going to float ourselves right inside of it.

It's a little tricky to get good photos with such poor "cave" lighting. But I'm doing the best I can. Regardless this is one cool place. Let's paddle around and check it out!

After a short while we exit the cave. A good fifteen minutes later and some serious paddling against the water's current, we find our selves back at the dock.

We are served some green curry shrimp fried rice which I unfortunately forgot to photograph as I was enjoying conversing with our new friends from Singapore. After finishing our meal we had a little bit of time so we walked over to a shop. The owner was kind enough to take a photo of us. In Travel Pro Fashion I often get used to not wearing a shirt especially in this kind of hot sunny weather.

In Southern Thailand where there are many beaches and tourist it's very socially acceptable. When I stayed on the island of Koh Phagnan for a month, I don't think I put a shirt on once! Most guys didn't either as it was just pools and beeches all day everyday! However after seeing this photo I'm thinking I should hit the gym, I'm looking a bit thin.

What a great day it has been! I just love the outdoors; and kayaking through the caves and seeing the ancient and mysterious cave paintings, wow this was quite an experience! If you missed it need to see it here in part one. My Steemit friends, thank you so much for coming along! Until next time -Dan "World Travel Pro!"

Not To be Missed!

Travel Pro Places of Interest #2: Basilica Gothic Cathedral Quito Ecuador! Part Two (20 photos)

Travel Pro Deals #1: Three Travel Pro Deal Items Found in Ecuador!

World Travel Pro Hits 1,000 Followers! A Tribute to My Steemit Experience, My Steemit Friends, and Twenty-One Photos Celebrating Fifteen Years of Travel!

Real Life Captured #60: Historic District Quito Ecuador! Part Three (14 photos)

Real Life Captured #59: Guayaquil Ecuador! Part Three (13 photos)

With over 11 years of travel experience I answer travel and international lifestyle questions. Leave a question in the comments and I may make a Steemit post just for you!

Photo Credit: World Travel Pro!

!steemitworldmap 8.388148 lat 98.735847 long d3scr

Sort:  

Awesome !!!

Wow. what an amazing place. I am sure you had much fun and plenty excersise. Keep on travellling and sharing with us @world-travel-pro.

Thank you so much @artywink! I certainly will do so!

Thanks for this post it brought back a lot of good memories. I had just recently visited Thailand and went kayaking around Krabi myself as well.

20170809_144016.jpg

It was some of the most beautiful scenery I have ever seen in my life which you could probably agree with.

Absolutely. Just an incredible place. Thanks for sharing this photo and visiting my page. Hope to see you again soon! -Dan

You did the full day tour? That's very brave of you. We didn't do this when we visited Krabi. However, my brother and his wife did a full day and were exhausted kayaking after the lunch break. They still pushed on. They said they should have done the half-day tour and chilled by the beach the rest of the day. Still, they enjoyed the caves and the beautiful turquoise water as we can all see in your photos. :)

It was the half day tour, but we didn't finish for lunch until about 3:30. It felt like a full day. That would have been too much. I can imagine they were exhausted.

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=world-travel-pro
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=travel-pro-adventure-9-kayaking-caving-and-discovering-the-ancient-alien-cave-paintings-in-krabi-thialand-part-two-24-photos


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Well now you're whetting my appetite for travel again (after saying this morning I'd got a bit blah about it). 😁

My partner would absolutely love this. He's a keen kayaker. We'd need a double canoe though so I could sit behind and relax!

Those huge plants at the bottom of the cliff look amazing and just a little creepy.

Keep posting like this and I'll be getting itchy feet again! 😁

Yeah exactly those huge plants made me feel so small. Like it was something out of antoher time and place. Like Jurrasic park! as I mention in the article. Glad I'm giving you itchy travel feet. You've been really following my blog closely later. It about time I check out what you're up to! Thanks your great comments and interest! -Dan

I hope you find something you like. 😊

I am spending most of my time reading, commenting and replying. I've only been here a month and I saw very quickly that, in the early days, very few people see your posts so it's easier to connect via commenting.

I had intended to post a lot more of my art but I won a prize in the very first photo contest I entered so got hooked on that.

Then I introduced the "Quotes to Live By" which are going down surprisingly well.

So now I have many more things to post than I have time for. I have a load of articles ready to go and I'd like to have a go at some poetry. So it'a a great opportunity to live what I preach, to take the next step and see where it leads without holding on too tightly to want I think I want! 😊

Thank you for engaging me in conversation. I really appreciate it!

It's my pleasure conversing with you. I think you are have this place figured out better than most for being one month in. It's much better to comment and engage with others your first couple months then get into posting more of your own content. But surely do both. You are very personable and I think you'll really enjoy this place. I'll be in-touch- Dan

Well, you got me! You know I love caves :) So many stalactites in there, amazing to see.

Thank you so much. Glad you enjoyed!

Yes, you are looking on the thin side. Eat more steak and hit the gym. Okay, momma mode off. Awesome photos!

Ha ha. Thank you! Good advice :)

very well done again....greatly enjoyed this post!!

Thank you! I really had a great time out there!

I loved.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 66490.29
ETH 3513.26
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54