You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Real Life Captured #61: Mercado Este Guayaquil Ecuador! Part One (12 photos) Meet My Friend Luise and Learn Why Teaching English in Ecuador is Not a Wise Decision.

in #travel6 years ago

Well that was an interesting read. I always thought Ecuador was one of the safe South American countries. It wasn't that long ago that Quito was being touted as one of the best places to retire to.

I was surprised to read that being white, or just having a western appearance instantly makes you a target to gang members, thieves, and criminals.

Also, surprising to read was "the kids are not interested in learning, the classes have too many students, and it's next to impossible to maintain order in the classroom."

Made me realise how much I assume about countries I know little about. Must do better! 😊

Really enjoyed the market photos. Particularly the ones of fruit and sweeties!

Sort:  

The sad thing is that between Ecuador and Mexico it is probably is one of the safest countries. Now maybe I should have been more specific that I'm talking primarily about Guayaquil when it comes to this crime activity, and especially the poorer neighborhoods, which you would be semi forced to live in at such a lousy salary. Ecuador as a whole, especially the touristy areas are very safe. The mountain towns, you nothing to worry about. But the stories I share are from people working in Guayaquil not in some laid back mountain town. So I don't want to alarm you too much. A place line Banos, zamora, Vilcabamba. Great small mountain towns with almost no criminal activity. And to teach one of these places would be much better. But the jobs are often in the cities of Quito (south Quito more dangerous) and Guayaquil, and that's where the gangs are especially Guayaquil. The city of Cuanca and Loja in the Andes. Very safe. So don't get too down on Ecuador as a whole. Every country has it's areas of good and bad. Thanks for enjoying y article. -Dan

Thanks for the clarification. That makes me feel better! hearts smile 😍

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 57346.65
ETH 3107.45
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.40