Travel Pro Adventure #2: Lost in Railey Peninsula Thailand! Part One (45 Incredible Travel Photos!)

in #travel7 years ago (edited)

Come along my Steemit friends and lets get lost! We'll discover some of the most exotic beaches in the world, crawl through caves, hike through jungles, climb mountains, stumble upon unknown hippie villages, and meet some very unique people along the way. But first we have to take an hour ride on a Thai "Long Tail" speed boat for about seven dollars from Krabi Town to to the beaches of Railey Peninsula in the beautiful Andaman Sea of Thailand!

This is one chilled out co-captain of the famous Thai "Long Tail". Just another day at sea for him!

The night before we check the times and prices at a local tour agency. In "Travel Pro" fashion we try to make the most of our day and get an early start by taking the 8:30 departure with plans on avoiding the early evening rains and catching the 3:30 return boat, which the tour office told me about, as it's not listed on the this schedule. Total price round trip 400 Thai Baht or about $14 USD.

My fantastic "Travel Pro Hotel" was just a three minute walk to the pier. We greet our fellow passengers and we're off!

It's hard to miss Thia Buddhist culture in this country even when at sea. As we pull away from the pier a beautiful Buddhist Stuppa comes into view.

On the way to the beaches of Railey Peninsula we see all sorts of sea vessels. Some for fishing, some for shipping, and one that has been lost to the sea forever!

With the wind in our face we deeply breath in the fresh sea air and enjoy the views. But wait, what's that? A tree growing in the middle of the sea. How does that happen?

Before we know it we we approach a cove, other wise know as Railey Beach East. This yacht knows the right place to dock itself! And there is the pier. We take a quick photo of our lovely sea vessel and soon are back on land.

We walk down off the pier onto a little side walk turning right and see this little hide out spot between two crops of mangrove trees.

We turn left down a small alley to go inland just a bit. We take a picture of this clear map. The entire Peninsula has four beaches and is about one kilometer wide and several kilometers north to south.

It's about 9:30 in the morning, the day is young and here are two signs pointing us in opposite directions. Let's go caving!

Here is what looks like a cave.....hmmm? But no this can't be what the sign is referring to.

We walk a little further down the trail. I think we've found it.

This is called Phra Nan Ngai cave, Diamond Cave in English. We pay our 100 baht or $3 USD entry fee. Now let's check it out!

We cross a small bridge into the narrow entrance of this special place.

We slowly and quietly walk through this long narrow corridor.

The cave soon opens up into this huge room with a walkway going all around it. We see enormous stalagmite and stalactites, formed by the calcium limestone being melted away for millions of years.

With a real sense of calm and just happy to be in Thailand we exit the cave and in "Travel Pro" fashion we make a care free decision to just keep heading in the same direction. Within moments basically on the outside of the cave, we look up to our left and see a rock climber way up high hanging off the side of this incredible limestone wall!

We come around the corner and this is what we see.

Hey! We're not lost yet! Let's go to Tonsai Beach!

It's now about 10:00 am and it's a good thing I brought my hiking shoes; looks like this may take a while.

This is just a start to today's action packed adventure in Railey Peninsula and I sincerely thank you for coming along! In part two we head into the jungle, pop out the other side, explore the obscurely known hippie town and incredible beach of Tonsai!

Not To be Missed!

Travel Pro Update: Around the World and Back to Ecuador! (21 travel photos!)

Real Life Captured #17: Full Moon Party Ko Phagnan Thailand Part Four (13 photos)

Travel Pro Eats #5: Kow Mooooooo! In Chiang Mai Thailand (5 food photos)

Travel Pro Hang Out Hot Spot #4: Amsterdam Bar, Koh Phagnan Island Thailand (16 photos and video)

With over 10 years of travel experience I answer travel and international lifestyle questions. Leave a question in the comments and I may make a Steemit post just for you!

Photo Credit: World Travel Pro!

!steemitworldmap 8.007727 lat 98.839531 long d3scr

Sort:  

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=world-travel-pro
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=travel-pro-adventure-2-lost-in-railey-peninsula-thailand-part-one-45-incredible-travel-photos


Want to have your post on the map too?
Add the following inside your post:
!steemitworldmap xxx lat yyy long description d3scr

(replace xxx and yyy with latitude and longitude)

Steemit bizede bir güzelik eder diye bekliyoruz

Amazing post as usual @world-travel-pro! I love those boats and the caves.

Hey there Gavin. I've seen you all over Karen's page. So glad to see you stop by. Thank you and so glad you enjoy my blog.

Thanks for shearing this amazing stufg

Thank you very much!

Oh what I wouldn't give to go back to Thailand and explore the islands in the south. I have been to Ko Samui and it was amazing.
Beautiful post. Thanks for sharing.

I was first in Koh Samui just after that tsunami in like 2003 or 4. Then again 4 years later, then again several years after that. Honestly it's gotten so built up and touristy, it's nothing like I remember 14 years ago. I guess it's still nice but I've found there are better places to go now. Krabi and Railey being one of them. When were you last there?

Thanks so much for supporting my blog and I'm very happy you enjoyed this post. And Yes, overall Thailand is great and I already miss the place! Have a great day! -Dan

This is an awesome post! I felt like I was there, with you--beautiful adventure! 100% upvote, followed.

Awesome. So glad you enjoyed. Plenty more to come!

Wow great photos ! I loved the cave it was so cool what an awesome journey you are having !! Thanks for sharing with us all my friend !! Upped and resteemed !!👌💕✌👍🎄

Very cool! Thank you so much Karen! Hope the graveyard shift is full of steemit love and joy!

Thanks ! Im home now this week as that job was only temporary , and its a good thing to , I have so much stuff to do , its very busy times right now ! Your very welcome ! 🎀🎄😀

I'm glad your home, but even then there's so much to do this time of year isn't there.

Caves and rock climbing! This is fantastic. Thanks for pinging me about it. Been so busy lately. Hard to keep up.

I know, everyone is so busy these days. With the rewards way up, it's like everyone has ramped up their efforts here, and I'd hate hate hate....to come of like spam. But if you're serious I'll send you links to the rest of this series as I post them. This will be full of beach photos, jungles, hippie towns, even a thai hot pot buffet at the end. Will be about 5 posts. Give you a real good taste of what you'll experience if/when you go.

Thanks for the offer, but no worries. No need to send them to me. I plan to review them later once I actually get closer to a place where we're planning a trip. Right now I'll just be sad I'm not there. Hahah!

I haven't actually been posting as much lately because I've been busy with so many different things. I guess I'm missing out on those sweet SBD rewards. :)

All good Luke! Hope all my Thailand posts come in handy for you down the road. When you are ready to go you may want to check out @choogirls steemit world map. My post are speckled all over Thailand now.

http://www.steemitworldmap.com/

Don't forget to give your eyes a rest for the computer screen from time to time :). I'm now learning what that is like for the first time. Most I've ever spent online in my life! lol But I couldn't be happier. Have a great day! -Dan

Those caves look amazing! I was surprised that it was not filled with bats.

Went to a similar cave in the Philippines and it was filled with thousands of bats. Still, the calm and quiet in those caves are amazing!

Been so so busy, lately. Sorry I missed your comment George (hope it's ok I call you that) I makes me feel I'm communicating with a real person. Speaking of that between real life and steemit world. I'm trying not to get run down. The rewards are just so good I'm trying to post 3 times a days. Maybe it's too much.

There were bats in there. They were way up in the ceiling of the cave. Sometimes it's hard to get good photos when you are just on the go and trying to capture whatever, in whatever lighting. Phillippines is cool place, spend a couple weeks there. May have to go back but I was blown away by the food or culture, just leave it at that. Anyway brother. Hope you get included into the sndbox. That would great! Have a good day! -Dan

Haha, nooooo! No one can know my name! JK, it's all good. Also prefer the personal touch a bit more. Wow, 3 times a day is a lot! Hope you can keep it up, and yes the rewards are great lately! Wish I could post more of my own blogs but my main focus is on my projects for now.

Those caves are awesome, and even though so many hate the smell I find it quite refreshing. Something totally different that adds to the experience.

I have filled in my Sndbox form and hope for the best. I know they mostly support individuals instead of projects. Let's hope though, this way they could support 440+ individuals =P

Thanks again for everything!

Have a good one!

  • George

Ha ha. I know what you mean. Some people like to keep their real name hidden....like it maters so much. I'm just telling people my name is Dan....lol No it really is! Dan Gardner, 35 from Albany NY! How that for a personal touch! lol With all the NSA spying and crap, I've thrown in the towel and have gone Travel Pro Public! haha

So I've got my fingers crossed for you that you get in. It would be good for you, me, and hundreds more. I'm looking forward to seeing what they think.

Where abouts in Korea are yo? I lived in Seoul for four years. From age 20-24. I miss the place every now and then and still get strange cravings for Kim-chi on a weekly basis!

Have a great day my friend!

-Dan

Super late reply! Hahaha, I kind of know what you mean. With all the new tech we surround ourselves with, most of our personal info is out there. Still, try to keep it safe though.

Also got my fingers crossed and waiting eagerly to hear from the Sndbox Team. I am in Ulsan, it's a City not too far from Busan. The kim-chi craving will never die! Better to come visit and share some kimchi together!

Cheers mate and enjoy the holiday season! =)

the calcium limestone great cave with beautiful bridge. climbing picture is also great in Thailand.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 57062.81
ETH 3068.42
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43