Travel Pro Eats #4: Fried Bananas in Thailand

in #travel7 years ago

I don't eat much fried food but this is one treat I often can't resist, Thai style Fried Bananas! They are hot, crunchy, sweet, and tasty. They fill you up and are a great snack on the go! I first tried these in Thailand at the age of 21, about 14 years ago. Back then I would eat them every day, but now they are more like a special treat as they are deep fried there for basically unhealthy.

What they do is take the burro banana and slice it length wise. They make some kind of batter which contains sesame seeds. They dip the slices in the batter and toss them in the fryer. The burro banana has a slightly firmer texture, there for it's better at keeping it's shape when handled in this manner.

This bag here cost 20 Thai Baht, about 60 cents. At these prices it's compelling to just keep getting more! I bought these fried bananas in the northern city of Chiang Mai, however they can be found at vendors like this one all over the country. Until Next Time -Dan "World Travel Pro!"

Not To be Missed!

Real Life Captured #13: Chatuchak Weekend Market, Bangkok Thailand. Part Three (15 photos)

Travel Pro Tip #21: How to Long Term Budget Travel through "Pay More Get Less Countries"

Travel Pro Tip #20 : "Pay More Get Less Countries" "Pay Less Get More Countries" and Some Things to Consider. Part Two

Real Life Captured #12: Chatuchak Weekend Market, Bangkok Thailand. Part Two (15 photos)

With over 10 years of travel experience I answer travel and international lifestyle questions. Leave a question in the comments and I may make a video just for you!

Photo Credit: World Travel Pro!

Sort:  

Mmmmm ! I would really love to try some of those ! Im going try and make some sometime , I have a deep fryer mostly used for fries and I use the healthier canola oil. I have never heard of this before but I bet it would be delicious !!! Thank for sharing , upped and resteemed to share with my foodie followers in my @momskitchen blog !😋✌💕🍌🍌🍌

Thanks for the resteem as always. If you do make them I'm looking forward to hearing how they came out. I just love your images. Have a great day! -Dan

I like it too. Do you know it is very expensive just 6 pcs 500 yen (150 baht ) in Japan;(

EVERYTHING is more expensive in Japan!

yea, I gree with u.

It is malaysia food.

I've seen them in Malaysia as well. But I think they are a little better and little different here. The batter is crispier and they always have sesame seeds.

nice answer

Bit similar to our goreng pisang. We have more dough flour on the outside

Yes, that's what I remember, there's more breading less banana. That is why I prefer the Thai style, but those are good as well! Thanks for stopping bye! -Dan "World Travel Pro!"

You're welcome

I love fried bananas we call #maruya in the Philippines 👍💃

Very Nice. I love them too! They are all over SE Asia. Each country has their own banana twist.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60754.57
ETH 2658.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51