Hike #10 : Settle and Victoria Cave

in #travel6 years ago (edited)

This was the last hike myself and @bingbabe managed before my summer 2 month break from work was over. We had previously been in this part of Yorkshire quite recently while scaling the mountains of Ingleborough and Pen-y-ghent.

0khlw46576.jpg

The walk is described here and is another one from the library of the excellent iFootpath.

fiuw2ec75t.jpg

It was another excuse to visit that excellent restaurant, ‘The Fisherman’ really! Starting from Settle town centre the map took us up a steep windy road before it turned into a dirt track and then finally a path.

Some of these old abandoned buildings look like they are from the middle ages. It was a nice day, one of the last ones we were going to have.

You could really picture 'The Black Knight' storming out of this ancient looking building, and blasting through that door. Only the glass in the window spoils the ideology.

8lx4xhq3wa.jpg

The lovely weather of July was gone, August had arrived and brought with it more of the typical summer weather we have in the United Kingdom. Changeable at best and rain quite a lot of the time.

What I remember about this hike, was there seemed to be more uphill than downhill. Not possible? Of course not, but it was not until later that we found out just why this seemed to be.

18703amdca.jpg

The ascent included views of my nemesis mountain, 'Pen-y-ghent' which can be seen in the distance on this photograph.

The walk up was quite uneventful until we reached a sign marked, ‘Jubilee Cave’. This was not on the agenda, but what the hell it was so close that we could see the caves and a large family mulling around them too.

7jazxp4xo2.jpg

The family were just leaving and I asked one of them, ‘Is it worth a visit?’

‘Oh yes’, was the resounding response I got. That sounded good so we continued toward the caves. There were a couple of entrances, one was a little shrouded in nettles but nevertheless approachable.

blvyhkq9p9.jpg

We went in the larger cave first and realised they were all connected inside. They caves were not so deep that you could get lost, but might provide some shelter from the bad weather if needed.

3izayam43q.jpg

It was quite dark in there, and you had to crawl to get further in. I decided to stay in the most accessible areas while @bingbabe went a little further in.

4cykgvrecz.jpg

x2i2oddn67.jpg

Moving on to the main attraction, we had to climb a little to get to ‘Victoria Cave’ and we were not alone. It seems this is a popular place and was full of hikers having their packed lunches around the outside.

0tz6wien5p.jpg

Inside was quite empty, affording me some snaps without people. Warning signs had been placed to deter visitors going too far in. The cave entrance is large, and how far inside it goes I wouldn’t like to guess.

7m6p7aghlt.jpg

o7bm2hj5co.jpg

f736c82soy.jpg

It’s not big and exotic enough to demand an entrance fee but still has a decent following of people. I would guess around 20 of them all eating their 'butties'. That's a English only northern word for you @katharsisdrill!

06jddym1if.jpg

Leaving the cave it appeared to be all downhill. That was a welcome relief after all the climbing we had endured. This was to be short lived after yet more uphill was about to come upon us. You can see the heads of the 'butty eating crew' at the entrance.

wml335leqr.jpg

Further down the trail, I spotted this entrance. This area appears to be full of these caves, even this one seemed interesting until I went inside and realised it only went back around 10 feet.

Finally we appeared to be heading downward and the trek started getting steep. A little later we released why we had endured all that climbing.

The downhill trek was really steep, making me break into a run while tying to zig-zag to steady myself. It lasted just a few hundred yards but I would have hated to do the trek in reverse.

gkc0m9rsjp.jpg

This part of the trek would have been monstrous to climb up.

We were quickly back in Settle after our forced downhill run and into that ‘Fisherman’ for another bout of Fish and Chips!

ALL photographs were taken by myself.


Meet me at SteemFest 2018 in Kraków


DivindingLine.JPG

SteemEnginer.gif

Drooling Maniac.JPG

If you found this article so invigorating that you are now a positively googly-eyed, drooling lunatic with dripping saliva or even if you liked it just a bit, then please upvote, comment, resteem, engage me or all of these things.

Sort:  

I missed some of your hiking blogs! :D
Pretty awesome cave, usually those that "demand payment" is the worst imo.
Usually too crowded and too strict. I like these kinds of places more.
By the way are you gonna make a tasteem post blog for "the fisherman" ? I could use some inspiration lol.

I dont have many left in the kitty from the summer. Since working life's is definitely more boring again. I preferred the first lot of caves tbh, no people and no, 'you cant go here' signs.. they are always the best places.

I already submited 'The Fisherman' for @tasteem and got 3rd prize so I dont think they woud take too kindly for a repeat posting ;)

Oh I think I missed that one, or forgot about it, haha:) Congrats on that though! how much do you win on a third place?

The extra besides the big vote for finishing in the top ten was 2-3 STEEM, its not a lot .. just a bonus. I'm happy enough just to get the vote to be honest.

Still pretty good, as a bonus upon everything else!

Looks like an impressive hike, and the caves look impressive, too. I'm not too thrilled with caves or mines, but I go in just because I have to see.

I have a couple of 'headlights' in the tank bag on my motorcycle. I know right where they are and can find them in the dark with ease. I'd have certainly taken one of them with me...

I'm sorry your summer is ended. My good weather is just beginning for local trips.

Yes, your good weather is starting.. ie.. you are no longer roasting alive driving the freeway on two wheels.

Believe me, I have driven Superstition Freeway I60 in Mid July, no helmet, t-shirt, shorts, trainers... dangerous as hell and 10 miles is about the limit before you pass out.

I had a motorcycle when I lived there.

Aah nice it’s always good to explore some caves you discover while wandering around. Thanks for showing them to us. But sad to read this was the last hike. 😥 Hopefully the winter is over before we know it, so I can read along while you’re walking the trails. Did you enjoy the Fish ‘n Chips?

Dear @slobberchops,

Your story attracted our attention and we would like to introduce our tag #archisteem that could provide you with some extra support. For your information, we are currently running the project – 1001 Places to Remember. Your content is a fit for the project and could be qualified for the 10 Steem reward biweekly contest.

It would be great if we can have this story of yours included in the project. If you agree, please reply to us.

Do drop by and take a look :) Hope to see you around soon.

Stay tuned and Steem on!

Sincerely from,

@archisteem and team

HI @archisteem, sure why not. I'm always up for contests.

Cool, @slobberchops :) We are definitely looking for someone craving for contests.
We look forward to read more of your stories!

Settle seems to be an amazing place - you're really selling it, especially with reminders about The Fisherman. And the train fare from Glasgow is just £10! I keep saying I'm going to go, to do Gordale Scar and Pen-y-ghent, maybe Ingleborough too. It's just a case of finding the time!

Those 'mountains' will be like a stroll down a county lane to a hardened Everest scaler like yourself. Still, the fish and chips is not to be sniffed at.

A very nice hiking post. I try to avoid caves as I'm not very comfortable being in a closed, dark and humid space 😊 It's enough for me to see photos of others exploring them, so thank you for sharing.

Oh, and I prefer to climb up as the way down is not very pleasant for my knees. Well, once I'm up the hill I obviously have to hike back down but I would prefer if the path would continue up the hill 😁

The caves were not so deep to be honest. You could always see the entrance however far in you went. Anything deeper than that and the 'entrance fee' crew would be there charging you to go in.

Congratulations! Your high-quality travel content was selected by @travelfeed curator @guchtere and earned you a reward, in form of a 100% upvote and a resteem. Your work really stands out. Your article now has a chance to get curated and featured under the appropriate daily topic of our Travelfeed blog. Thank you for participating in #travelfeed!

TravelFeed
Learn more about our travel project on Steemit by clicking on the banner above and join our community on Discord

Congratulations! This post has been chosen as one of the daily Whistle Stops for The STEEM Engine!

You can see your post's place along the track here: The Daily Whistle Stops, Issue 270 (10/03/18)

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=slobberchops
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=hike-10-settle-and-victoria-cave-c62389a2c531est


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Hi @slobberchops!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 3.639 which ranks you at #5313 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has not changed in the last three days.

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 298 contributions, your post is ranked at #50.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • You're on the right track, try to gather more followers.
  • The readers like your work!
  • Good user engagement!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 57020.43
ETH 3081.72
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.41