The Fisherman, Settle

in #tasteem6 years ago (edited)

title_image


I have mentioned this Fish & Chip restaurant several times in other articles but it really needs to be added to the @tasteem database as it’s quite exceptional.

Fish & Chips is considered a staple food in the United Kingdom, and like it or not we are famous for this quite unhealthy dish.

Finding a good ‘chippy’ however is very hard in today’s times. There are lots about but most are average at best and there are some truly terrible ones.

SML-divider.png

The Fisherman at Settle in North Yorkshire is truly the best I have ever eaten. For us to visit it’s a 45 minute journey and we have made that journey just to eat here before.

IMG_4031.JPG

I can’t say I have tried anything else than, ‘Fish & Chips’ from the menu, but there are plenty of other things to choose from.

IMG_4034.JPG

The outside is nothing special and has a take-away attached to the left side of the restaurant. We have always eaten inside so I can’t speak for this.

IMG_4028.JPG

IMG_4030.JPG

Inside is relatively small, but never empty despite the photograph. The other side of the restaurant was quite full.

IMG_4024.JPG

Just look at those Fish and Chips. Every time we eat them, we depart feeling fulfilled and quite sustained. @bingbabe is a native of the Philippines and just loves eating here.

She only said to me after today’s helping, ‘they are so good!’.

IMG_4025.JPG

You just need to drink a full fat coke to go with this kind of food and don’t forget the malt vinegar.

IMG_4026.JPG

I personally douse my chips with this stuff as it makes all the difference.

IMG_4032.JPG

The restaurant is open EVERY day unlike some, and two helpings of Fish and Chips with two cokes set us back a cool £20.40. Great value in my opinion for food of the highest quality!

IMG_4027.JPG

You can see my plate is empty, a very familiar sight when departing from the Fisherman, Settle.

IMG_4029.JPG

I’m not sure about this sign. It looks like it’s from the fifties and genuinely looks that old!

SML-divider.png


Restaurant Information


The Fisherman
score
16 Church St, Settle BD24 9JE, UK


The Fisherman, Settle
This post participated in the Tasteem contest Your weekly choice


What is Tasteem?

tasteem_banner.png

Sort:  

[Tasteem Supporter]
#tasteem-warning

  1. Please write your post in English. This is to ensure that your post is understood by as many people as possible, including Tasteem.
  2. There must be a photograph of the restaurant that you yourself took.
  3. If you wish to include someone else's text or photography, please gain permission from the person or persons holding the rights.
  4. There must be a reasonable amount of information about the restaurant you wish to review.
  5. It is in your own interest to post something relevant to the themes suggested.
  6. Everyone should strive for fair competition. The usage of upvoting bots is forbidden.
  7. Tasteem may hide your post if it is not in line with the regulations set out here.
  8. If you persist in actions frowned upon by everyone, you may be put on a blacklist by Tasteem. The next time you enter one of our Contests, it will be nice if you could take more notice of regulation. Thank you for participating in a Tasteem Contest. Looking forward to reading more of your great reviews! If you're wondering what to include in your post, here are some tips!
  • Photographs of the restaurant extrerior
  • Photos of the food
  • Photos of the restaurant interior
  • Available menu
  • The taste and quality of the food
  • The overall feel of the restaurant Yours will be a great review with all of the above. Thank you!

Hello,
Minnow Support included in voting bot category. Usually I suppose to cancel your reward but as you are not on my blacklist, I will just give you a warning this time. For the future if this happens again, your reward will be cancelled.

Minnow Support included in voting bot category

OK, understood. I didn't realise this one was included.

Nice write up! The food looks amazing. Which item on the menu was the one you pictured? Was that the haddock and chips? Or was it the jumbo? It makes me want to hop on a plane over there for sure! I am planning on getting some fish tonight as well, but mine will be a little different.

LOL, its the regular Fish and Chips. I can't eat jumbo sized food, my appetite isn't what it was.

I hear you there! Thanks for clarifying. Since it filled the whole plate I would have guessed that was the jumbo!

I haven't had a good fish and chips in around 25 years. Never been that lucky with chippies in London. The last good one was when I was in Leeds (I lived in Bradford for a couple of years).

I have to say I'm very biased toward Yorkshire chippies. They simply have no equal, so I can quite believe what you say about the Leeds one.

banner-steemit-comment-light-v3.png

Thank you for entering our <Your weekly choice > Contest . Thanks to @slobberchops, Tasteem has become a more attractive guide. We upvote your post, wish you the best of luck in winning our Contest!

god i love fish & chips, perfect food for nuclear hangover

Hello foodie steemians!

You get an upvote from SteemKitchen! 👍

This was given by hand and not by a bot.
You have received this as motivation from us, so you can keep going on with your great dishes.

-A very good tasteem review, this is the way i should look like, now im also want to have some fish and chips. !-

We are looking forward to see you soon on our discord server https://discord.gg/XE5fYnk , so we can exchange fresh new recipes and delicious meals with each other 🌮🍔🍩.

With friendly regards, your curator of today @avizor


W3Schools

Thanks @steemkitchen, but I don't see a vote from you anywhere.

oh damn you are right :-) hahaha sorry here we go ^^ ! that can happen, when a human is at work :-) , please check it again ;-)

Tried fish and chips once in my life while being in UK, can't say I was fond of it(don't kill me please) But I have a feeling if I went to a proper place I could try a better version:) I would like the "chips" as you call it in UK to more crispy lol

Lol, I wont kill you... there are lots and lots of crappy ones about. There's many in my vicinity but all are average at best. The percentage of good ones is very small. Chances are you visited a bad one :)

I had the suspicion as well that it might just have been unlucky. Hopefully next time in the UK I will get to try it:) My sister was in Yorkshire for two months. She loved them as well she said.

Hahaha I love that sign! xD We had fish and chips yesterday too, but I am sure they weren't as nice as yours, they sound and look lovely! Not sure about the full fat coke though, we had Pepsi Max ;) Great write up!

Its gotta be the fat stuff, I don't get on with max, though coke zero I can abide.

I LOVE fish and chips. You are right, it is so hard to find someone who makes a good dish! This looks very tasty, have to add the malt vinegar too. The sign makes it! "give your child an expresso and a kitten"- classic! Thanks @slobberchops!

I love a good fish and chips... But we overdosed on the chips part during our holiday in England!

However, after living in Netherlands, I have gotten really used to the Dutch version of fried fish! You should jump over the channel and try it out!

I will try it if and when I get there again. Is it just called, 'fried fish' and where to get it from?

Lekkerbekken is the fillet and kibbeling is the smaller chunks. It also depends where you go, some do it too greasy, the best is ones that are freshly battered.

The batter is flavoured somehow... And it is made of cod.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 62427.05
ETH 2721.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.56