Walking Around YSP (Yorkshire Sculpture Park) in England, UK

in #travel6 years ago

ysp4.jpg

After my brief visit to The Herpworth Wakefield art gallery I made my way over to YSP, short for Yorkshire Sculpture Park. Luckily it was a beautiful sunny day and I was able to wander around the surroundings and look at the sculptures in this beautiful setting. Not only is this a great space for walking, I think it's about 500-acres in total, you can hunt for over 80 sculptures and installations out in the open air. There are also two gallery spaces on both sides of the park which hold special exhibitions throughout the year.

On my visit there was a Kaws exhibition taking place that was particularly interesting to see. I myself was infatuated with popular culture, graffiti and skateboarding when I was younger so seeing Kaws work was a little nostalgic for me. I really respect his work and enjoy his figurines so seeing them mixed here with Barbara Hepworth and Henry Moore was a little bit of a trip. I mean, there is a strong contrast and it shows how different the artists are in their approach and where the modern era is taking art.

Here I wanted to place up some photos from my visit, mainly conveying the overall landscape and some details in terms of sculpture and nature. This is the kind of place that you could come back and visit many times of the year, always finding new things that surely change with the season. Yorkshire is a little out of the way as a tourist but if you're ever in this part of the UK you should definitely visit as it's free and is a great experience for any age. Tomorrow I hope to highlight a few special sculptures from this park! Enjoy.

Find out more about Yorkshire Sculpture Park here →

ysp1.jpg

ysp8.jpg


More from my Travels:

Exploring Helsinki - Finlandia Hall by Architect Alvar Aalto
A Selection of Outtakes from Kettle's Yard in Cambridge
Exploring Naoshima - A Visit to the Lee Ufan Museum
Naoshima - Tadao Ando's Concrete Walls
Exploring Osaka - Inside the TRUCK Furniture Showroom
Exploring Tokyo - Hama Rikyu Gardens
Exploring Tokyo - A Visit to Sensoji Temple in Asakusa
Exploring Kyoto - Tenryuji Temple & Grounds


Please follow me @oen for more interesting art, design and travel content.

Sort:  

@oen that is super cool, how is that tree hahah shame looks like they cut and twisted it.

Yeah, this was by artist Ai Weiwei. It's made from Iron and was in front of this chapel. You can read about it here - https://ysp.org.uk/exhibitions/aiweiweichapel

Kind of peculiar haha Thanks for commenting :D

Very peculiar indeed thanks for the link :)

Thanks for sharing this. I had no idea that this place existed. On the visiting list for myself and partner now.

Such a great variety of sculptures in one place!

Do you know if its dog friendly?

Hey! Thanks for commenting :D Yeah, you should definitely go. As far as I know you can bring dogs but they have to be on a lead. Maybe there is more info here - https://ysp.org.uk/visit

It is very interesting. Thank you for sharing)

No problem. Thanks for commenting :)

@oen, thanks for taking us along on your adventure. Really appreciate all of the photos. 500 acres is a lot of area to explore.

Haha so true. It's a large area, but very beautiful. I hope you can visit in person one day :D

Nice, the first one and the colorful sculpture of the meditation are my favorites.

Yeah, those two are really nice! Thanks for your comment :)

Those sculptures are cool! I love that super colroful praying/meditating one with glass beads and tiles etc.. Your post reminded me I had a dream once where I was walking through a gallery with little sculptures made in my funky 80's inspired art style. As the dream progressed I was outside in a sculpture garden with huge ones, 20-30-40 feet tall. One day I plan to own a piece of land where I can set up my own studio, gallery and sculpture garden to make that dream come true :) I read that you were into skateboard and street art too, I've painted a few skateboards, like this one - "Dimension Shift" that I painted for a patron in California

IMG_0172.jpg

Yeah, this sculpture was impressive. It's by Niki de Saint Phalle, you can read more here if you are interested - https://ysp.org.uk/openair/buddha

That would be awesome Adam. I would love to visit if you did that! There are a few like that here in the UK and they are really great to walk around and see. I wish I could do something similar myself. Good luck and keep me updated on your progress ;)

The painted skateboard is really cool! Thanks for sharing it with me.

Slow and steady :) I only started painting 6 years ago, and only been doing art full time for 3 years. Having my own spot like that is more like a 10-15 year goal - but it's a good goal to aim for! lol Glad you dig the skateboard, I have fun painting them, they're a cool shape to work on :)

Congratulations! This exceptional post has been featured in Episode 10 of The STEEM Engine Express Podcast. Click the link to hear what I had to say, and keep up the good work!

Wow, thanks so much @ethandsmith. I will check it out now :D

You're welcome! I've enjoyed your posts about the art walks and museums!

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=oen
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=walking-around-ysp-yorkshire-sculpture-park-in-england-uk


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

If i make an analogy between your visit and a meal, i I’d say The open air and outdoor sculptures were main courses and kaws were deserts...

I’m not saying kaws is a fraud or has been making it grandstanding but those sculptures sitting outdoors have more artistic value and merit...

Haha Very true. I kind of skirted around the issue in my post. His sculptures were kind of monumental though. I've never seen such big figures of his made from wood but they seemed a bit processed, which is I suppose part of his concept. Pop culture etc. But yeah, I agree ;) Thanks for the comment @prch.

You got a 61.54% upvote from @bearwards courtesy of @oen!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 63003.41
ETH 3122.79
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52