Memories from abroad - The real beginning of photography for me

in #travel7 years ago

Kyoto photography 3.jpg

It's funny how the most important journeys of our lives

Sometimes have the most innocuous of starts. For me it was meeting a guy named Joe. I honestly can't even remember how we first got in contact. Like many things that happened to me in Japan, it was a random series of events. But something clicked when I met this guy all those years ago and to this day we exchange bad jokes and photo critiques with each other. Not as much as we'd like, but that's how life goes when you're separated by half a world and a decade of different life experiences. Getting married and having kids will do that to you, hehe.

I had a camera, and had been shooting since I was a kid. But, still like a child, I had no idea what I was doing. I knew the basics but my camera rarely left an automatic mode of some kind. I had lenses, an expensive camera, but no real direction.

Kyoto photography 4.jpg

Enter: Joe.

A man steeped in knowledge, from technical to artistic, and a desire to shoot, like, all the time. Because of him I saw more of Kyoto than most locals. Every time I went to teach my class student were amazed by the places 'I' (read Joe) had found. We did photo walks several times a week, digging into the nooks and crannies of the endless mysteries of Kyoto.

This particular series of photos has a special meaning to me. Seemingly just another day at that time, it now sticks out like a beacon. I didn't even shoot these on my camera, but one of Joes spares. I can't remember if he had just gotten a new lens, or a new body, but he dragged me up to the roof of his apartment and said, 'let's shoot!'

Kyoto photography 1.jpg

'Shoot what?' I wondered.

But, the more I looked around, the more I saw that was cool. The idea that even the most common of scenes could be turned into a part of a visual story, I don't think had really occurred to me before. I mean, I shot a lot of stuff, but never like this before. Depth of field, how to set things in manual, how to frame...lot's of unknowns brought forth countless questions that he was more than happy to answer. Before I had shot to remember, now I shot to create stories for other people.

I have no idea what I'd be doing with my life had I not met this man. What course it might have taken. None whatsoever. Which is fine because I'm on the path I'm on and I love it. Even on the bad days I turn to creation of some kind to get the nasty out. Without having been taught how to see the world differently, through a lens, not just for myself but for others, well, I'm glad I met Joe.

Kyoto photography 2.jpg

Moral of this story:

Pay attention and be open to the people you meet because you never know how they may change the course of your life. Be open, be willing to try new things, learn new skills, challenge yourself and step out of your comfort zone. I had the luck to be in an awesome place like Japan, but wherever you are can be just as awesome, if you just open your eyes and really look :)

Thanks for stopping by and reading another one of my memories. I'd love to hear any stories you have about friends that changed the course of your life, or about Japan. Let me know! :)

Please check out Joe's work HERE as he's an amazing artist that deserves to be seen!

Similar Posts
Memories from abroad -Night walks in Taipei
Memories from abroad - How I almost froze to death
Memories from abroad - Looking out the window

Kyoto photography.jpg

Sort:  

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=mikesthoughts
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=memories-from-abroad-the-real-beginning-of-photography-for-me


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Hey Mike great post! Interesting to hear about your journey into photography. I also started to learn more about photography when I started travelling about 4 months ago.

I had a nice camera like you but never had the motivation to learn because I didnt have of inspiration. Travelling has opened my eyes and allowed me to view the world with fresh eyes and had excited me to want to share my journey through photography. I look forward to following your journey!!

Thank you for dropping by! Let me know if you have any questions about any of my shots. Be glad to spread the knowledge :) If you ever want a critique, let me know. Thinking of starting a photo tag for people who want some advice from professionals in order to improve.

Thanks im still very ametuer and keen to learn more so a photo tag would be beneficial for me for sure

Any time. Just let me know :)


Congratulations!

This post has been voted Good! Upvoted and resteemed on Salt Water.

Follow @alphawhale to have your best post upvoted and resteem free.

Read some of our quality resteemed here
&
Click here to read about @alphawhale

Every giant steps begins with one funky step ☺

I love your story and the photographs accompanying them. I also studied abroad in Brazil and it changed my whole perspective of the world. I'm apart of the OCD team and I would like to nominate this gem of a post!

Reply to this comment if you accept, and are willing to let us share your gem of a post! By accepting this, you have a chance to receive extra rewards and one of your photos in this article may be used in our compilation post!

You can follow @ocd – learn more about the project and see other Gems! We strive for transparency.

If you would like your posts to be resteemed by @ocd and reach a bigger audience, use the tag #ocd-resteem, it doesn´t have to be the first one. Every day, three posts using this tag will be chosen by our curators to be RS. Good Luck

Oh my! That would be awesome! Thanks @mrslauren for the nomination :) I already follow y'all and love the content you curate. Always find someone cool to follow from your lists.

I loved the shape and sound of your choice of the word "innocuous." It feels different than what it means, in a good way. My guy was two or three "old" men. Teachers, mentors, who were in love with words and language and could do some incredible things. Open a mind, turn a thought toward a totally unimagined pathway. They were poets in the truest sense. They didn't really teach me anything, yet they taught me everything. They helped open my eyes and heart to other ways of knowing. Nice work brother. Peace.

Thanks :) True teachers are amazing when you come across them. It doesn't feel like learning at all, but learn you do, hehe. When it comes to words...they really can turn the hearts of people without them seeing it coming :)

Not to quibble over terms. In that they are at best leaky vessels for meaning, quibbling would be to harsh a term. I did learn some mechanics from them but what they did for me was to awaken something and helped me to remember what I always knew from a place that is too deep for words.:)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58906.05
ETH 2666.51
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44