Memories from abroad -Night walks in Taipei

in #travel6 years ago

tapei 9.jpg

One of my favorite things to do when I get to a new city

Is to take a walk around at night. There's a while new life that fills the streets once the sun sets. It's like a light has been switched on, and I don't mean the neon you see in these shots. In the darkness people become different, more energetic, as the daily grind lifts off to reveal a revelrous underbelly.

My wanderings had finally taken me out of Japan. I was on the second leg of a trip filled with unknowns. A month and change of hitchhiking around Japan, then goodbyes in my 'hometown' of Kyoto was over. Done. Finished. I was out of there. For good. Though connections remained, I was U.S. bound, albeit via a very roundabout fashion.

Settling in to my hostel in Taipei didn't take long.

I was eager to get out and see what was what. The tiredness I felt from the flight, customs, the usual crap of international travel, wasn't going to keep me down. I had streets to explore, things to see, experiences to have.

tapei 7.jpg

The public transportation in Taipei, I gotta say, is awesome.

Like Japan, they know how to connect places, keep things on time, and keep it cheap. Maps are easy to read, tickets easy to buy, and it's super clean. From Google I had learned of an area market not too far away and so off I headed.

The energy was contagious. People milling about, shoulder to shoulder, the endless rumble of indistinguishable conversation filing my ears. The words were unknown to me. Like Japanese before I learned to speak it, everything sounded musical. Street upon street filled with people buying, selling, eating, drinking. Life, compressed together on these thin strips of light that lined the city.

tapei 1.jpg

But, the press of people can get to be a bit much.

The sounds of talking, the endless pushing, harsh lights...you just need a minute away sometimes.

My eyes found a dark opening, a side street perpendicular to never-ending stream of motion, and I cut over. I know a lot of people would be scared to walk down an alley in a foreign country. I mean, what dangers might lurk down this unknown path? But, that's also where some of the coolest things can be found. After all, there are many people of a similar mind that desire a bit of quiet from the raucous crowds. Also, having been through the 'dangers' of Thailand, Cambodia, and Laos, I had a feeling I could take care of myself if needed.

tapei 8.jpg

The narrow street wound its way back and forth

Occasionally linking with others. Dimly lit doors, questionable characters, suspicious glances, came at regular intervals. The backside of the city, you could still hear in the distance the soft hum of everyone else. But, in this place, there was an odd peace. And a sharp turn revealed to me a scene reminiscent of one of my favorite movies, The Golden Child, with Eddie Murphy.

The whole scene felt, well, alien. Priests in bright robes, an alter, a free bird cawing, a monkey in a cage, men off to one side playing dominoes, chanting, the strumming of an unknown instrument. A world outside the world, hidden off to the side. The kind of place I love. Undiscovered by most, uncared about by most, an unforgettable instant on the timeline of my life.

tapei 5.jpg

You can only take so many breaths in a place like that

Before you need to move on lest you break the spell. I moved away when I felt the magic fading and headed back to the throngs. Pressed in again with the masses, motor bikes spewing fumes as they angled by, I headed back to the station. Back to the place where I had started. I could have continued further, farther, into more, but sometimes you need to take that special moment and savor it, not let it be diluted by other things.

After all, tomorrow was another day with new adventures to be had.

Thank you for dropping by and reading about one of my memories. I hope you enjoyed reading about it as much as I enjoyed writing about it. I'd love to hear about your stories in Taiwan, or what you think about mine :)
Michael

Similar Posts
Memories from abroad - How I almost froze to death
Memories from abroad - Looking out the window
Memories from abroad -Getting lost in a jungle

tapei.jpg

Sort:  

Quite an amazing journey, this is one of many places I would like to visit - thanks for sharing your trip - I feel like I have already been now!
c0ff33commentaimage.png
#thealliance

You have collected your daily Power Up! This post received an upvote worth of 0.41$.
Learn how to Power Up Smart here!

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=mikesthoughts
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=memories-from-abroad-night-walks-in-taipei


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Such amazing scenes, an energetic and communal place. It appears quite sociable? The Golden Child was a film and a half, I take it the place looked very old world :)

Yeah, once you got into the back alleys, especially at night. Darkness clothed normal places in an aura of unknown...and all that jazz, lol

World of Photography Beta V1.0
>Learn more here<

Thank you for participating in #streetphotography

You have earned 6.10 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.22
Server time: 21:17:18
Account Level: 3
Total XP: 502.88/800.00
Total Photos: 32
Total comments: 50
Total contest wins: 7
And have also received a 1.20 percent upvote.

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

I on the couch reading this and trying to imagine what the energy of that must feel like. The culture with its on particular sensibilities and sounds and rhythms. I have not been to that part of the world. And I wonder. Peace.

Yeah, it's like going from music you recognize, to having a friend introduce a new band to you. :)

Great post, I like your writing. Really enjoyed your description of the little alleyway you discovered. Things like that make travel worthwhile for me; it’s like you connect for a moment with something deeper. Thanks for sharing!

Thanks for coming by and leaving those beautiful words :) It really is these small things that stick out like pins in our memories :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66272.75
ETH 3183.00
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.09