Memories from abroad - How I almost froze to death

in #travel6 years ago

snow camping 2.jpg

I woke up, 2 inches of ice coated every surface of

My sleeping bag that touched the snow. Shivering, my feet felt like stone blocks and I could barely move. My breath in the frigid air left only a small trail. Man was I cold.

Here's my advice to you... if you ever decide to go snow camping, do a little research beforehand on what you need to do it properly. I hadn't, and here I was in the middle of the mountains freezing to death. A sleeping bag and waterproof sack is not enough, no matter how cold the bag is rated to. What gets you is contact with the ground. If there isn't something between the two of you, it's gonna be a rough time.

snow camping 1.jpg

I was learning that the hard way.

Creeping out of my rigid sack I felt for my pack in the dark. My spot was off the path just outside of a town and there were no lights. Arriving earlier in the day I had checked with the local hotels on prices and being one of their holiday seasons, everything was 2.5x the normal rate. Way out of my range, in other words.

My boots were frozen, my clothes stiff with frost, not a good situation. Not at all. It's hard to cold start your warm clothes when you're about the same as the air around you. Another lesson I was learning the hard way. Good boots, good coat, good everything, just not good sense apparently.

Luckily I was in a hot spring town...luckily.

I was able to hop a fence to a public one, not too far away from where my gear lay. Stripping quickly I practically jumped in the water. It felt like daggers on my skin and I had to hold back a scream from the sudden changes my body was going through. Warmth began to seep back into my bones pouring life into my veins.

winter camping 4.jpg

'So, next time...' I thought to myself. A hard lesson to learn and one that could have had some nasty consequences. There was always the last resort of knocking on someones door, but that was a last, last resort. Especially since it was 2a.m..

That meant I had 3 or 4 hours to wait before the first train and a route to salvation.

Time to walk, time to think, time to contemplate my stupidity. It did give me some time to snap some cool images, which was nice. But, all those hours of walking the same track through a small, one street town, did get really dull.

By the time the sun finally started to come up I was exhausted. From the cold, from the walking, from the lack of sleep, I was ready to close my eyes for a good long time. Unfortunately, to get to my next destination meant train transfers and a need to keep on my toes not to miss any stops.

winter camping 3.jpg

But, the strength of youth is an amazing thing.

You swig some coffee, shake your shoulders, and just bully on through it. You turn that frown upside down and do your best to enjoy your circumstances. A lesson that I think we begin to forget later in life as our body loses its resiliency, as well as our minds. One that through this writing I am trying to rediscover.

Thank you for taking the time to read through how I almost died learning how to winter camp. These lessons served me well in the years that came as I explored more and more off-the-beaten-path towns that few foreigners ever see when I was too cheap to just get a room. Even when I did have the money I usually found it more fun to take the crazy route. I mean, what makes a better story? Right?

Similar posts
Memories from abroad - Looking out the window
Memories from abroad -Getting lost in a jungle
Memories from abroad -Shirakawa

winter camping 5.jpg

Sort:  

If trolls exist, they live in that wintery town I'm sure.

I will not admit to seeing anything...they made me promise.

Fabuloyus makes me want to hear more from you , Great pictures But my my my that must have been one cold evening the very thought of my toes being so cold that they actually burn actually makes me skin shiver , xx

Yeah, it was. But looking back, so fun. Even then I couldn't stop laughing at how stupid I had been. There's lots written and plenty more to come. Still need to figure out tonights destination post, hehe.

OOoo I look forward to seeing it Tag me in a reply so I get to read it and Up-Vote it when I wake up in the morning ,
I have no get up and go today so my evening post was an argument with my MOJO ..
Tomorrow is a fresh day so I will get my mojo back ,
xxx dee xxx

Ended up doing a different style post instead. Didn't have the inspiration to write about my travels. Was distracted by, not sure what. Maybe I'll write more tonight. Think I might take off tomorrow so need to do tomorrows load today :)

I am going to stalk your post now like a like a mouse over cheese hehe x

lol, can't wait to read what you have to say about my written meanderings. :)

thats a scary situation, in high school i had a similar but not as scary happening, I ended up building a shelter with a tarp and slept outside in -20 degrees, it all ended well though, it pays to be prepared and knowledge in outdoor situations can be invaluable

Yeah, lessons learned. Best when you don't die learning then, hehe. You'll have to tell me about that sometime.

I can sleep anywhere as long as I am not cold. So, that type of camping off off the table for me.

Also, being female, I have had to be more selective when traveling and finding a place to sleep.

True, but Japan is pretty safe. You're more likely to be in danger in a city. Yeah, getting used to the cold is hard, but if you get the right sleeping bag it's toasty as being on a beach :)

My word, that must have been quite arduous indeed. But what an experience to hold :) Not any get to tell of such moments.

It was...interesting. Even at the time I found it kind of funny. I was never too worried. Cold, for a while, but luckily there was that hot spring :) It is kinda crazy when you really think about it, lol.

The most important thing is that you are alive to tell the tale. Lesson learned, but I am not a fan of snow anymore. That's another story.

Hehe, yeah, being alive is cool :) Ohhhh, story time?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 61662.20
ETH 3059.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.84