Memories from abroad - Looking out the window

in #travel7 years ago

georgetown 1.jpg

Georgetown, Malaysia.

For some strange reason some of my most vivid memories are of the colors here. Specifically green and yellow. Outside of the temples where red is the standard, it's everywhere. Bright, saturated, vibrant. The sun gave it this crazy life.

I came through here on my way to Thailand, following a slow path northwards. My first memories of here are of looking out the window of my hostel. The room I was in was stark, white, reminding me of an insane asylum. There were bunks everywhere, but only half full. A couple people were milling about getting ready for one adventure or another. A fan hummed on it's back-and-forth track in the corner.

Life was made up of sleeping bags, giant backpacks, and laptops.

Everyone was heading somewhere or had just come from somewhere. The spirit of adventure and travel was palpable, dense like butter. Padlocks, safety wallets, and wits the only thing between any of us and some random tragedy. Cautious yet engaging smiles all around. Was the person who just arrived someone to link with, to create unforgettable memories, or just another ship passing in the night.

That was my life for 5 months. Today I was in Georgetown. How long, TBD. Traveling with no schedule is a blessing, and a curse. Anything possible, but sometimes you get lost in the choices. I was at a strange point in my trip. Looking around I began to question, what's next? My engine had developed a stutter. Bag on my bed, I looked out the windows again.

'I wonder what's out there...'

Thanks for stopping by and reading. I'd love to hear what you think. Have you ever been to Georgetown, Malaysia?
Michael

Similar posts
Memories from abroad -Getting lost in a jungle
Memories from abroad -Shirakawa
Memories from abroad -Winter mountains

georgetown.jpg

Sort:  

Those sharp colours just grab you, don't they? Like you say, very vibrant and such an interesting place to visit too :) To find a place called Georgetown in Malaysia is strangely remarkable to me lol :)

Thanks for dropping by to read :) There's a story behind why the city is named that, and how if I remember correctly, it's split into two pieces. I might write about that in my next article about this place :)

That would be an interesting article to read :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 59114.57
ETH 2309.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49