[EN] Australia Journey - Perth Part 4 - Harrison Island and University of Western Australia

in #travel6 years ago (edited)

Version Française: cliquez ici

Hello everyone,

Today I will talk about the last two places I had the occasion to visit during my stay on Perth: Harrison Island and the university of the Australian west.

I think of making one last article on Perth concerning my experiments of work, and everyday living in this city during the 2 months and half that I passed there.

But for now let us focus on the subjects of this article:

Harrison Island:

I woke up one morning, with moral rather low, and I said myself: “Nothing better as a small trip on foot to put me on good mood !”. A friend of mine from the backpacker had talked to me about Harrison Island, located on the east side of Swan River. So let's go ahead! I grabbed a backpack, some water and a snack for lunch, and here I am ! I needed an half an hour walk to cross the city center and I was back in front of Swan River, on the Langley Park, that I had said some words in a previous chapter. Except that this time, instead of going on the west side, which leads to Kings Park, I moved on the opposed side, going along Swan River, via the park.

I used this moment to take some additional pictures of this part of the park which I had not taken time to visit earlier:

(The city center view from the park)

(and the fountain I missed last time)

After some extra walk, I saw finally the bridge which gave access the island, in the middle of Swan River. I crossed it, and there, it was far away from what I saw until now. You literally pass from a vegetation square and maintained the parks well, at a much more wild natural zone.

I let you judge by yourself with these first pictures:

(This is the Swan River, who separate the island from the rest of Perth)

(A view from the island. Ok grass is cut, but is not as maintained than cities parks)

Then, I started to make the turn of the island. Yes, I know, it's not a really big island, but there were nevertheless a lot of things to see! Some small lake inside it, an abundant vegetation, and some animals living in freedom. But as usual, some photographs are more speaking that a long monologue:

During my small round, I finally found Graal! Yes dear reader !  After a good month spent in this country, I finally made the symbolic animal of this country: the kangaroo! What a shame nevertheless! One month in Australia and I had still not seen even one of them! Cities are definitly not good to me! Ok ok, I stop my silly things and I show you the pictures:


(Sorry about that quality, I was a bit afraid for my first encounter with them, so I used zoom of my cheap camera, unstead of getting closer)

It's on this note that my visit of the island finishes! I passed the rest of this day exploring the southern side of Swan River while continuing via the bridge. As it is still much of park, I think I have said enough about it (beautiful, well maintained...),so this is some extra pictures of south side, to conclude this part:

(A small nice lake)

(and the view of the city center from the other side of Swan River)


University of Western Australia:

And now you'll wonder: “But why did he made a part about an university? Did he study there? Did he had anything else to talk about?”

In that I would answer: Wait to have the visual one, you will not be disappointed! For the structure, we are on an older building than the rest of the city, and within a really calm and quiet place. All necessary things to make you brain shine!

The university are surrounded by park with lawn and trees for the corners of shade (I will again talk about how they managed their park !), and decoration was really splendid.

This is some pictures to tease you:

(the view of the university from my bus stop)

(a part of the university park)

(and a shade place, which I could see myself sitting on grass, and read a book, under the trees)

Then, I ventured towards the central courtyard, and there was still lot of charms. I must specify that It was summer holidays during this period, so the place was rather empty. But for me it was better like this.

(the fountain on center place)

(I loved the vaults under this building)

(So of course I went under)

(University is really off the main structure of the city, these are older buildings, and city is rather more modern)

(A last one for the pleasure)

I noticed that each part of the university was dedicated to a quite precise discipline. We could find a Psychology branch, Literature, Arts, Mathematics, etc.

Here are some examples:

(I don't need to comment, the pictures talk for themselves)

Then why did I come here initially? I was on my way to work there an evening for an official reception as a waiter, and I had come at the beginning of afternoon for the debrief, which was short. I could have turned over to make a nap at the edge of the swimming pool of my inn, but I found more interesting to spend the rest of my afternoon exploring this place.

After a few reasearch,  I also discovered the price to be registered there: at the time I was on Perth, the six-month period was around 13,000 Australian dollars, which is equivalent to approximately 8000 euros. It's not expensive compared to certain private schools in France, but nevertheless, it's an investment to be able to study within such a beautiful place!


It's already the end of that article. I hope you enjoyed it, and that quality was also good. Do not hesitate to comment, vote or ask questions if you have some, It would be my pleasure to answer it.

My next chapter will be related to my various activities on Perth.

Thank you for your time, and see you for the next chapter !

Mike.

(Ready for my waiter time ! Yeah, I still had hairs in this time...)

 Sources:  

All these pictures are mine and came from my facebook account.

 To know more about the University of Western Australia: their website here !  

 For Harrison Island it's here

 [//]:# (!steemitworldmap -31.965702 lat 115.882596 long Harrison Island d3scr) 

[//]:# (!steemitworldmap -31.980494 lat 115.819204 long University of Western Australia d3scr) 

Last parts list: 

- Australia Journey - Perth Part 1 - My arrival : [FR] , [EN]

 -Australia Journey - Perth Part 2 - Visiting the city center for the first time : [FR] , [EN]

 -Australia Journey - Perth Part 3 - Kings Park and Cottesloe : [FR] , [EN] 

Who am I ? 

My introduction: [FR] , [EN] 

Sort:  

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=mikemoi
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=en-australia-journey-perth-part-4-harrison-island-and-university-of-western-australia


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Nice post !! Have you been also to Kings Park and its botanical garden?

Yes, And I wrote a chapter for that : check the chapter resume at the end of the article, and select the [EN] tag for english language.

Cheers.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.12
JST 0.027
BTC 61639.07
ETH 2982.91
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46