City Travel #8 | Wat Pho Temple - Bangkok

in #travel7 years ago

Hello Steemians, today I will show you my visit to the Wat Pho Temple in Bangkok, where I was amazed by the amount of Buddha statues that I saw and it's magnificent architecture.

DSC_4006.jpg

!steemitworldmap 13.746522 lat 100.493299 long d3scr

Wants to know more about Steemit World Map

We start by arriving at the temple and of course there is a entry fee. By entering the temple and just seeing the surroundings I was already bombarded with beautiful architecture and statues. I stayed there taking pictures and appreciating the beauty and at the same time reading about the temple and his history. It is very well made to take the visitor deep in to the culture and really spend some time there, not just taking pictures and then gone.

The architecture:

DSC_3999.jpg

DSC_4002.jpg

DSC_4020.jpg

DSC_4013.jpg

DSC_4005.jpg

DSC_4044.jpg

DSC_4032-1.jpg

The statues:

Besides the reclining Buddha that I will show later, Wat Pho is also famous for its giants statues that are in every entry. There are two in each entry with a total of four entrances, very intimidating, but I guess is to symbolize protection.

DSC_4060.jpg

All over the temple they have a series of small statues of all type.

DSC_4004.jpg

DSC_4027.jpg

There are a series of 872 statues of Buddhas in and around the temple, some of them are there since 1351 all renovated and well cared.

DSC_4036.jpg

DSC_4045.jpg

DSC_4007.jpg

DSC_4008.jpg

DSC_4011.jpg

The inside of the main temple is very calm, I didn't had the impression that I was in one of the most biggest city in the world.

DSC_4014.jpg

This is me trying to make a proper funeral for the mosquito...

DSC_4023.jpg

At the end of the visit we passed by the reclining Buddha where I had no idea of his real size, with the photos I though it was smaller but in reality I was very much surprised. When I entered the temple I was hearing drops of metallic water, I was asking myself what was it. Even with all the people there I had this sensation of peace coming up my body.

DSC_4052.jpg

DSC_4054.jpg

So a few steps further I saw this donation box where you have many coins you can put in 108 pots. This passage where you have coins and put in these 108 pot one in each, symbolizes positivity and you are supposed to make a wish in each pot.

Yo.png

Next post I will take you to the Grand Palace of Bangkok, see you there. 😁

DSC_4061.jpg

Thank you for reading to the end, if you like this post, be sure to follow me for more. If you find this content relevant leave a upvote and resteem-it, it would be of great help.

Follow me on Instagram, Twitter and see some advanced photos of the upcoming posts.

Check it out my others posts about Thailand:
The White temple of Thailand - Wat Rong Khun
Nature Travel #7 | The most beautiful beach in the World - Maya Bay

City Travel so far:
City Travel #7 | Strange morning market - Luang Prabang
City Travel #6 | Chiang Mai - Thailand
City Travel #5 | A glimpse of Prague
City Travel #4 | Visit Vienna with me
City Travel #3 | Visiting Budapest with a Segway
City Travel #2 | The most beautiful medieval city
City Travel #1 | My tour in Europe - Croatia, Pula

signature-fonts

Sort:  

Nice to see you back!

You're so nice for commenting on this post. For that, I gave you a vote! I just ask for a Follow in return!

Really beautiful place :)

You have no idea!

That's also true. Maybe it is a time to go Thailand :)

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=loic.ronsse
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=city-travel-8-or-wat-pho-temple-bangkok


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 64512.68
ETH 2615.54
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.82