Stranded in the Middle of Mexico Over Silkie Chickens: Where I've Been for the Last Two Days (Preface to Epic Mexico City Story)

in #travel6 years ago (edited)

We just got home from what was likely the most epic adventure we’ve had since coming to Acapulco, in a couple of ways. What was only supposed to be a twelve hour trip to Mexico City and back to meet a silkie breeder, that is of those adorable fluffy chickens I’m a little obsessed with. I’ve only got one and have been wanting more for a long time held back by things like the fact that they’re generally several hours away at the very least and pretty expensive as far as chicken prices in Mexico are concerned.

We found the birds on Mercado Libre, made the plan to make the trip on the bike starting in early morning with the goal to be home by sunset. In typical Murphey’s law fashion, lots of things went wrong from the very beginning starting with several reschedules.

This is actually the first in many posts on the subject because we’ve got everything from footage and photos from the drive, to actual photos of Mexico City, to a story about a police chase with a Federal officer outside of Mex City. Our bike slowly fell apart on the way home today and the engine blew somewhere south of Cuernavaca leaving us stranded with our 6 silkies and a John who was sun sick and stressed out, even vomiting quite a lot on this journey. There’s a lot to share obviously so stay tuned.

We hoped this journey would be hassle free, a quick dip into the big city and out back home to tuck in my new birds before the sun set. We were more worried about how to transport the birds than anything else and that honestly proved to be the easy part.

Our plan was to just bike them back in bookbags with reinforced cardboard boxes with soft bottoms and air holes. The plan was to take it slow and check them often and honestly they did great all things considered. We even had a stay with them at a sexy hotel, yes you read that right(theres a photo above of the outside), and they were remarkably easy to deal with. It helps that chickens power down in dark settings and silkies are docile.

We literally just arrived home to a Rebel Dog that somehow managed to hold both pee and poop for nearly two days and a farm that seems a bit annoyed with me but still alive. I still have to check half the birds but I think we will have gotten lucky.

Our adventure was a shitshow, don’t get me wrong but at the same time it couldn’t have ended better for how much of a disaster it was. We ended up having to spend money we really didn’t want to or have budgeted all for my addiction to those sweet fluffy butted birds but dammit if it wasn’t all worth it when I had them each leashed one at a time (with parachute cord and a slip knot around the ancle just enough to hold them) outside of the Pemex for some fresh air and microgreens that were growing under the garden plants (weeds to be).

If there’s one thing I got out of the trip other than the birds and the stories and photos its that I seriously love Acapulco. At this point I’ve driven through a lot of cities in Mexico and now Mexico City and those cities in between like Chilpancingo and Cuernavaca. At this point I can say it’s still my favorite. Something about the friendly people, mountain city and the fact that it’s so much more anarchistic keeps me loving this place. I was more excited to see Acapulco’s skyline tonight in the distance than Mexico City, partially because it’s so big it’s hard to grasp.

Another reason was that as we entered the city a Federale nearly killed us to ticket us for our lack of helmet. There’s also a law in Acapulco for helmets but many don’t follow it and it’s easy to deal with cops when they try to bother you, by running or by bribes. That story is a story for another day, likely tomorrow because it’s a good one and I’ve got photos of the back of his car and the traffic jam he caused by blocking all lanes over a motorcycle with some gringos. The photo above is just one of a few I'll share.

I appreciate the trees and plants of that area so much because I saw a lot of plants I haven’t seen since being in Mexico like comfrey and stinging nettle. We even found a patch of four leaved clovers, I picked one and we broke down soon after. We drove through a part of Morelos that reminded me so much of Oregon because it was filled with my favorite pine tree, the drooping ponderosa pine. We actually slept on a bed made from the needles in Oregon for weeks when we were living in a tent so I’ll always have a fondness for the tree.

The people were distinctly difference in both appearance and demeanor. Not nearly as friendly to me when I said hello, something considered somewhat rude here in Acapulco. There were plenty of friendly people, but the proportions weren’t the same as they are here. Not only that but they seemed more inclined to follow the rules, we were harassed repeatedly over our helmet, even by a guy in a motorcycle gang on a Harley, which was a bit sad. We recognize the importance of those things but this was one of those short spare of the moment trips. Also, John had a helmet for part of the journey but it had a broken strap and was uncomfortable. At the end of the day it should be down to the rider, not the government or other people. You only hurt yourself when you don’t wear a helmet.

There’s clearly a lot to share so stay tuned. At the end of the day my assessment on that place is that place is while I’d totally visit again I’m not interested in living there. The most desirable place as far as a place to live that we found in our journey was in the part of Morelos with the ponderosa pines where we nearly froze our asses off still dressed like we were in Acapulco. I basked in the cold air and the pine and cedar terpines and it was wonderful.

A special thank you to the people that helped get us home today, it was a mess and a half and now we’re safe and home and that is the best thing to happen all day.

Did you enjoy this post? Check out the links below for more like this one!

Adventures into Mexican Markets: Super Naturisa Health Food Stores
Acapulco Sunsets: A Glimpse into Life with John
Acapulco Sunsets: Not Ready for the Wet Season

In case you missed them, some of my recent posts:

Learning to Face Fears on Two Wheels
Rebel Dog Dream Dog Cute Bandana Fashion Photo Shoot
Natural Health Solutions That Actually Work: Gliser Migrane Blend

Hi there, if you're new to my blog here on Steemit check out this for more information on who we are and how we got here.

If you found this valuable don't forget to upvote, resteem or comment on this post!

Thanks for following and supporting us, until next time!

Sort:  

You are an anarchistic rock-star and you have guts. Also, I love that you said you found some four leaf clovers and picked one and then you broke down shortly after that,,,,lol. Look forward to the the story about the chase. No helmuts.....you lawbreaker you!

Yeah I should have known the good luck charm would be the opposite for us lol

the view is so satisfying

I'd be a bit afraid biking around Mexico. A Canadian silver mine there keeps getting it's trucks hi jacked and need armed guards in a convoy for protection I saw on the news. I know it's a big country and safe levels vary across it but those stories make me nervous

Considering the fact that there aren't the same restrictions on mining here as there are in say canada or the states, I kind of get the people robbing them. They're known to essentially rape the land and destroy the ecosystem and the livelihood of the people that live there. With nothing, I can see why they would attack those they feel were responsible in whatever way they could.

That being said consider that the mainstream media will put their spin on a situation they don't understand.

Now I will say I'm not for more governmental restrictions but these people should have a desire to do things right, not the fastest easiest way.

Quite fucking interesting.

This post has received a 6.37 % upvote from @boomerang.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 64854.61
ETH 3478.75
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52