Adventures into Mexican Markets: Super Naturisa Health Food Stores

in #health6 years ago

Mexico has had a long history of natural health in terms of medicine and food too but its recently experiencing a resurgence of sorts similar to the United States, especially in places like Acapulco. Much of the standard diet here is processed and there's actually only a small percentage of the population pursuing less processed more natural options, partially because they're a bit expensive even here. There's a chain here called Super Naturisa that sells all sorts of natural health products for very good prices, especially if you get a membership with them. We went in search of more of that migrane medication I love so much and ended up leaving with a lot more than that.

I've dabbled in gluten free baking in the past but haven't done much is partially because it costs a lot. Anyone that's tried to do gluten free especially with things like almond flour knows what I mean. Not only that but gluten free baking is harder, at least for me who came up as a gluten based baker, utilizing that digestively not friendly protein to my full advantage.

The unlabeled gatorade bottle with the thick stuff in it is actually a mix of bee products that goes by many names here, from revive to 5 elements (cinco elementos). It's just a mix of local honey, pollen, propolis and royal jelly and there was a guy walking around Costa Azul selling it screaming "miel". He didn't have any plain honey but I immediately understood what he was selling and bought the larger bottle for 100 pesos. That mix is a great way to start taking those bee products in a simple tasty way and so long as you don't over do it on the stuff it's great for introducing yourself to bee products. Some people can experience stomach problems and other things by consuming too much pollen or royal jelly too fast. I'll do a post soon on both of those items separately, as they're interesting and have made me determine that I really want to keep bees in the future.

What I got:

Almond flour: 160 pesos
Bobs Red Mill All Purpose Blend 105 pesos
Activated Charcoal Soap 20 Pesos
Honey Oatmeal Soap 20 Pesos
500 g Himalayan salt (which advertises flouride free, wahoo, gotta pay extra for that)
Quinoa Flour 90 pesos
Tapioca Flour 90 Pesos
Green Tea Mint Tea Blend 50g 70 Pesos
Green Tea (Fancy Organic Loose Leaf) 50g 70 pesos
Honey 1 liter140 pesos
Me Vale Madre Extract (blend I use for sleeping in caplets currently) 25 pesos
Garlic Extract 9 pesos
Migrane Medication 3 boxes at 70 Pesos Each

**Note: I think all bags of flour were 500 g.

It's interesting to see the types of products available from ones I'm familiar with from the states to ones that seem distinctly Mexican such as the "Mi Vale Madre" blend which claims to help with everything from insomnia to depression. I think I've seen it as a tea blend at the market, something likely extracted down or made into capsules for easy consumption and sold here for people like me.

I'm happy I have access to affordable health care products, many of which actually help.

Did you enjoy this post? Check out the links below for more like this one!

Natural Health Solutions That Actually Work: Gliser Migrane Blend
Lily's Secret Weapon: Neem Oil (What It Is and How To Use It)
Avocado Oil: Super Healthy and Versatile Alternative Cooking Oil

In case you missed them, some of my recent posts:

Rebel Dog Dream Dog Cute Bandana Fashion Photo Shoot
Acapulco Sunsets: A Glimpse into Life with John
Savory Bacon and Sausage Breakfast Crepes

Hi there, if you're new to my blog here on Steemit check out this for more information on who we are and how we got here.

If you found this valuable don't forget to upvote, resteem or comment on this post!

Thanks for following and supporting us, until next time!

Sort:  

Hi, I'm new to this platform. God bless your work and keep growing physically and mentally, I hope you go through my blog and follow me @carlosdap11

I wish these shops are around every corner

It is good to support those types of stores by consuming their products.

In the end, the products that fill the market are the ones that people consume the most, if people started to consume more natural products we will probably have more of them available in more places.

This is how markets work when unfettered lol

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 63569.77
ETH 3424.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50