Trotting Around The Best Venice in The World

in #travel6 years ago (edited)

You may be asking why "THE BEST" and how many "Venices" are there in the world? 10% upvote to whoever can explain that and 5% upvote for each Venice you can point at in the world. Yes, there's a lot of them and I've only been to two. I've been to the most famous Venice in the World which is in Italy and this vlog is about the second Venice I've been to - Giethoorn, The Venice of Holland.

My husband and I normally take strolls everyday and since it's the holidays, I insisted that he take me to The Venice of Holland and take a stroll there instead of going to the woods in the Hotel we love or shopping in the city because why not? It's holiday!

This was not so planned so we went there pretty late and the only thing that was really scheduled for that day is the trip to my mothership (I'll talk about it later) but since this is close there, we decided to go biking if the time permits cause we woke up rather late that day since we're both owls (if you know what I mean).

On the way there, I've entertained myself with the common stand bys on lamps and I was hoping for a hawk or a falcon, a real owl or a huge black bird but no luck. The gulls seem to have the lamps all for themselves. This is a common sight on the lamps along the roads and even on highways.

Something I love about Holland... is that nature seems very relaxed and never scared of humans here.. not the case in my country so I really appreciate it . Perhaps and if only, my people have treated animals and nature like the Dutch and the many EU peeps do, we'll enjoy the same sight there, too.

I guess it's time to get ourselves a new nav cause this one led us to this. We were waiting for it to go down for ten minutes and we really thought that we're just not hitting the magnetic sensor that we thought was on the road till another car came along and the driver stuck his hands out holding what looks like a remote control pointing at it, pressed a button and made us watch the damn thing finally go down.

It's a pretty narrow road so we didn't dare drive along with him and waited for another passenger with that RC to come hoping they'd let lend us the favor of going through first to no avail.

Everyone who passed by were in a haste we stayed there for 20 more minutes till another clueless driver arrives blocking another car whose owner has an RC for it and since that person's car is not too huge we decided to drive side by side him when those two metallic poles there went down and the now, no longer clueless driver sped up and tail gated that car to make sure he doesn't get stuck on those poles. A bit of a yield but driving around would cost us more time so cest la vie.

The plan was to bike in there cause we tried booking a boat in the morning but it was off I can't book anything online but we rang the place that rents a bike and they said they're just in the shed in case we really get there.

In case? It must be unusual to be crowded there at this time of the year and I jumped up and down thinking the whole place isn't as crowded as it is in summer. When we got there, I had to take a leak so I barged in the shed and asked for the key since the toilets were actually locked, another sign of "no or less tourists" in sight. Hurray!

I left my husband talking to the guys but for whatever reason he said he was told that it's better to just stroll the place that day so we drove off and parked in front of a grocery (free parking ^ ^ there!) and just strolled indeed.

I noticed that the boat rentals are close and so are the bikes, no cashiers on the panes and most boats are parked on the side... and like any other Venices in the world, boats ...

and more boats greeted us.

When I went to Venice in Italy, the whole water part smells like diesel due to the water taxis. The Dutch however, has found a solution to not polluting the whole place and making it diesel stink free! They're using what they call "The Whispering boats" here.

Does that mean the boats talk and whisper to you? Lol.. did that joke crack?

On my vlog above you saw some bridges right? They have hundreds of them here! Yes, that much! The road is too narrow here and the houses are in small islets like setting divided by water. I actually love the setting and to be honest I wanted to live there had it not been surrounded by water. It's fairy tale beautiful to look at....

We've only seen a tour boat full of Chinese taking a video of the whole trip so what's a naughty 40 year old Asian to do when you see them all looking at you standing there on the bank? You wave and smile your best (laughs)! What? That's my not even 15 minutes moment of fame there but then a couple riding one of those whispering boat came after that tour boat and did the same so make it 10 minutes.

A few steps away from the first house we spotted two guys from the boat rentals waiting for their boats to return and we asked if we could rent one but they told us we may not like it cause it's about to get dark. They estimated that dusk is a half an hour away so I took a peek and saw it was nearly half past three on my watch and gave them a "hmmmm..." but my husband said we'd walk then.

We were joined by two Chinese ladies who were also just sight seeing and every now and then a bike bell would announce its presence behind us. We passed by restaurants that night but you see, I already have an appointment to have dinner in my mothership last night and it's an all in buffet dinner date so I was planning to get there with anacondas growling in my tummy(chuckles).

Every now and then, I'd stop and gush over a house or a two in the water and peek in souvenir shops but my hubby slowed us down when we went in the museum. Before that, I passed by what looks like a huge bird's nest. 5% up on anyone who could tell me which bird normally uses this. ..but first, you have to find the picture good luck doing that.

I was allowed to capture these but beyond that I'd have to pay for it but since we already have an idea of what's in there cause we live in the city where a very huge open air museum is, we decided to pass and go back to checking the whole Venice of Holland out. Unfortunately, as soon as I went back out, the heavens were already abandoned by their father sun and dusk has caught up on us.

We couldn't decide whether to take the right or the left route but since the left route seems too crowded with more tourists, we took the route less traveled and I was already smitten by those row of bridges on the first house. I would again, stop every now and then to take some shots like the two Chinese did and no one seem to care.

Every now and then, I'd pass by a sack of salt for in case it snows again since the people here really have no other way to go but through those wooden - probably slippery when on ice -bridges and aside from those sacks of salt, the only mess I'd come along the road are fallen leaves from those almost bald trees.

The place feels so enchanted and I imagined what the Dutch looked like strolling around here in their national costumes way back the time before I was even born with their laced umbrellas and their wooden shoes, probably making much sound like my heeled boots were while trotting around the place.

Every now and then, I'd see boats and imagine the women sitting there having tea a long time ago, cows being transported (it's common here so I was told) as what I heard in the museum and goods and sacks of food or potatoes being transported back then. Yes, I am an old soul, I tend to travel back in time while strolling to such enchanted places and I wonder, am I the only one who does that or do you do that, too?

Imagining what the place and the people who lived there probably looked like a long time ago leads to another inspiration and even though I get carried away, I don't miss out on the details of how it really is in the now. Though cows are still transported here, tourists and tour boats rule the water more specially in summer. I would like to witness the cow part though.

The mailboxes of each house hanging on each of those hundred bridges they have, didn't escape my owly eyes and neither the many restos nor the men playing darts in one of them nor the couple adding more blinking lights in their front garden who both bid us "hi" with all smiles and the man on a boat who offered to help me take pretty pictures which I had to turn down.

My husband pulled me in the souvenir shop where these wooden shoes are but I saw the food in there so I ran back outside avoiding the temptation of eating and drinking something cause I'm saving my tummy's space for the yums in the mother ship.

It got darker and we lost sight of the two Chinese ladies who probably headed back to where we all came from and we'd bump along people who probably live there, taking their dogs to their evening strolls and I noticed that despite the fact that they must have lost their privacy here, they greet us very very warm and with all smiles or it could also because we no speak any alien language.

Apparently, my husband found a map of the place in the museum and told me we're not heading back but rather we're taking a different route closer to where we parked and asked a guy who's just parked his bike to what seem to be a resto behind me. What was I doing then?

The guy told us to take the first alley to the left after the first bridge and turn right and we'd find our way back to where we parked. We passed by backyards of restos and some houses with blinking lights outside and finally got to the city. I really needed to take a leak so on the way to the mothership, we pulled over and I ran to the bowling center before where the yachts are parked and got myself relieved in there for there'd only be roads after that.

You must still be wondering why on earth did I call it The Best Venice in the World, right? For the very reason that during this season it's not stinky nor crowded nor that the food there nor the souvenirs are overly priced like they are in the Venice in Italy, not in Giethoorn.

The boat ride costs 6, 50 euro and that's nothing compared to the 80 to 120 euro rip off gondola ride in Italy where you'd suffocate from the water and diesel stench. Ask the Venetians, they themselves are against the pollution that's being forced into their city and perhaps they could learn from the masters of the water - the Dutchys.

Though the place has a modern feel, it's tranquil and full of greens despite the fact that they have managed to keep the houses and the places look like what it used to way back a long time ago .

The people here keep the place clean, peaceful and tourist friendly as much as possible and most of all - everything WALLET FRIENDLY. I guarantee you won't feel ripped off based on what I experienced during my Dec 2017 visit.

For now, I',m showing you what it looks like in there during this time of the year and if you're planning for a visit, make it early. I intend to come back here and see its face during the other season, I'm sure it would look more enchanted but for now, I love it that it's not so crowded as it probably is in summer.

Have you ever been to any other Venices in the world? Which one? What was your experience like? 10% upvote to anyone who would dare spill with a proof of photo that you have been there yourself in the comment below.!

This content's 100% mine. I used my smartphones to take those pics myself as well as the filter "impressionism" to give the place a rather nostalgic look .



EDIT : replaced teeny tiny pics with slides instead because teeny tiny means no can see



Here are my most recent posts: **TIP :
DON'T WASTE YOUR VOTING POWER
on posts that are old and have already been paid out. ONLY Upvote POSTS THAT ARE 6 DAYS OLD below.
.



Are you new in Steemit? Kindly read the Complete Steemit Etiquette Guide Revised Edition authored by @thecryptofiend to help us all get along well with each other. Hopefully you do get to read it now since there's nothing else that comes after it except that picture below. Want more sneak peeks of this trip? Click here or here.



Follow Me ---> @englishtchrivy

Sort:  

Thank you for posting dear @englishtchrivy.

How lovely you look dressed for the weather...you are sure to keep warm.

Beautiful photographs......mon ami.....it is irresistible to watch birds on the light pole vie for position....is it not. So sweet.....

This sounds like a splendid place to visit.......there is something very romantic indeed about boats in the water.....and the past enveloping itself around you.....bringing queries to one's mind....how things were done back in the day.

Tea with you....transported in time....bleujay is in.

Wishing you a Happy New year...Mon Ami. Cheers.

I had to because we're heading to the mothership after that
had to look chic hahahah

it is hard and a bit of a distraction for anyone who drives but lucky me am always on the passengers seat :D

thanks, I've decided to present the pics tiny cause it doesn't matter what we post anymore whether its a good post or an over the top full of effort post we seem to get the same rewards plus am selling my story anyway, really haha they are still huge pics actually if one right clicks on one and then click image address it'll be bigger :D

tea with you in it on a boat sounds nice!
Shall we on a sunny day ^ ^
I'd like to bump into cows being transported if that happens hahaha

Took a long time on that picture, hehe the more I disturbed the picture, more unclear it became.
My judgment this bird becomes a Pelican.

"Yes, I am an old soul, I tend to travel back in time while strolling to such enchanted places and I wonder, am I the only one who does that or do you do that, too?"

If I do, just love places where you can feel the old culture. And I live in there and see pictures in my head, hehe, it's just my head that's kidding me.

My fiancé and me were in Venice Italy in the early 70's and found it beautiful to clean there. Have no pictures at hand, they are well hidden here somewhere

sorry about that
I've decided to replace the pics with slides instead :D
but am not sure you'd get to see it still :D

so am not the only old soul here then
that's good to know :D

well.. if its in the early 70s it must be interesting
you should make slides and post about your time
it must be very very interesting back then makes me wonder
plus it hasn't been done yet
you'd be the first to post pics of what it was like a long time ago
and if you do decide to post about what it was like in the past if you use slides makes sure to take one pic with all those pics together with that paper that says Steemit and you know the rest to prove they are your pictures :)
good luck and when you do keep me posted please I'd love to read

and thanks a lot again!

I must look for those pictures and listen to my wife where we have them. I also filmed a part with super8 slim movie camera, but they are not converted. They are still on film rolls. So we'll see when I get time to dig in old pictures

That place looks flipping magic.

I think I will tell the good lady and we will put it on our list of funky places to visit :O)

So the Mothership? I had a baby boom on my lap when reading but I am intrigued! Diod I miss something or is that yet to come? I couldnt watch the vids because the baby boomer is sleeping!

it is ! but come in another season ;)
cold and brrrr all the way and got dark freaking soon

the mothership will be tomorrow I'm tired now, too but I've been absent for two days already so I decided to post

no the mothership is a coming soon lol
don't wake the baby up!

edit : this post has a tricky part though and only those who'd really read would see it
I included two other videos here and I wonder who'd be able to see it hehe.

My city, Saint-Petersburg, called the Venice of the North. It's a big city on the water. We have within the city there are 90 rivers and canals. They are beautifully dressed in granite with openwork lattices. But still there is a comparison with the Italian city of Venice is the large number of architectural masterpieces, beautiful bridges ( we have 342 of the bridge). I write my blog, where every day tell and show you many pictures about this city.

aw! that's another proof of another Venice I'd like to go to one day! 5% for that !

by the way, are those your pictures ?

Yes, this is my pictures :) I make them during my daily walks. So interesting to see how the city was changing in different seasons of the year. Welcome, @englishtchrivy

I see, perhaps you should post about it, too
when you do, keep me posted :)

Well! :) I will make this post and let You know about it. I'm really interested in Your question that - as Venice in the world. I'm surprised, but I counted 6 different of Venice in addition to these.
1- Artificial archipelago of Nan-Madol Is Venice Oceania. They have a system of 92 artificial Islands.
2- On the coast of the red sea is - El Gouna. It is 30 kilometers from Hurghada. It is called the Venice of the Red sea. There are many cozy cabins on Islands connected by small bridges.
3 - Bangkok, Thailand's capital, all indented channels and some people live almost on the water. This city is called the Venice of the East.
4 - Dubai is called the Venice of the Persian Gulf.
5 - Suzhou is an ancient Chinese city near Shanghai. He is also on the water. It is called the Venice of the East too
6 - In the Czech Republic is Kampa Park. There are buildings towering out of the water. It is called the Venice of Prague
I think maybe someone from Steemians can tell us about? Those who have visited these places or live there. It would be very informative :)
Thank you @englishtchrivy, You have raised a very interesting topic :)

that's one good researching but there's more ;)
Hamburg for example and many, many more but let's give others a chance to guess them :)

it's more fun this way :)

It has been a long time since I was in Giethoorn. Sure was better weather back then. Think somebody wanted to move on walking to get warm there. ;-)

It is an enchanting place, would like to go there when it is all frozen. Must be so great to iceskate there, between the houses and over the lake.

Can imagine you both had a good time there.

we did !

even though it got dark fast, the place seem to look prettier and prettier
skate in there... hmmm.. you have to climb up some of the bridges .. I can't imagine doing that Oaldamst! but you probably can on the river you mean? That would be nice to watch .. you gave me another idea and reason to go back hehehe

It's near our place and we've always planned to go there but it always gets postponed back then, either we went to another place or overseas but that day, we're bored strolling in the same places so we went there hahahah :D

Yes, I ment iceskating. ;-)
Skeelers would be a bit of a challenge with all those bridges indeed.

Think it would be marvelous to see it during winter when there is snow and ice everywhere.

Good reason indeed to go there again.

ik heb nog twee videos hier
ik heb ze daar beneden geplaats
niemand lees en wij krijgen toch dezelfde rewards no matter wat dus ik twijfel om te delen maar omdat je komt ook uit hier, mag je het wel weten
ze lezen toch ook de comments zelf niet hahahah
het is helemaal daar aan het einde ;)

Hier en hier. ;-)

Ga ik nog even kijken voor ik ga slapen.

Never been to any Venice. I have been thinking of going with my mom and sister to Venice Italy; I didn't know gondola ride is so expensive. 'Venice' Holland seems more affordable and eco friendly.

thank you for reading
yes, the gondola rides are probably more expensive now cause this rate was years ago
everything goes up isn't it?
everything in Venice is too expensive, I bought water in a resto somewhere in the San Marco and paid 12 euro for the smallest bottle so the next day we got back and brought litters of bottled water we bought in the grocery in Campalto, the city before the bridge , its also better to buy the tickets in there
but I can't speak for it now though a friend of mine went there last August and said it wasn't as busy as in a summer and most of all not that expensive but still not cheap

Wow, that's some expensive water. I guess I won't be going anytime soon. Better pick another destination that doesn't drain the budget.
If I go I guess I'll pick the least busy month to do it; and I was thinking of going when the Carnival will be...

yes, crazy expensive
i suggest that you still go
specially that the carnival month is really interesting
if you go to restos that are not near the bridges or in the piazza's center, you'll find a reasonably priced good resto
we spent days there so we got ripped off on our first day
but the next few days, we found reasonable restos that offer the same food quality
but we got tipped by the hotel manager in Campalto where we stayed
if you stay anywhere in any hotels inside Venice you'd pay through your nose :D
just go ! I'd still go if I were you ;)

529546_482999201735212_1223715854_n.jpg

I have been to Venice Italy about four years ago, on a work related visit. I didn´t get a change to go for a ride with the gondola.

ah .. the photo of proof :D
you're lucky you didn't it would have cost you much
it's no difference with the water taxis
except for you get to go around alleys of waters but you could also walk around it we saw the route they were taking that's why we didn't take it

Very Stunning pictures of you in that dresscoast

Have never been to any Venice before tho, but I had an intanlian-born friend who grew up in Nigeria she usually shared some of her life style while she was in Italy, there are many pictures taken by her in Venice which made us asked series of questions.... From what she shared.... Venice is a beautiful looking possesses an incomparable series of architectural ensembles illustrating the hight of the Republic’s splendour. From great monuments such as cathedral, Museo, to the more modest residences including the 13th century Scuole hospitals and charitable or cooperative institutions, Venice presents a complete typology of medieval architecture, whose exemplary value goes hand-in-hand with the outstanding character of an urban setting which had to adapt to the special requirements of the site.

There are also liveable things which is pleasant to sight like; hop on a water taxi to truly experience the ever receding, Eat yourself Italian Pizza, pasta, crossing the Venice bridge, Cool down with flavour Gelato, ride boats and sitting to enjoying the beautiful atmosphere.

I tasted gelato before she moved to northern part of Nigerian where her parents relocated from there back to Italy..
Your post remind me of her "Dogetti Paggani " when next time you visited Italy Venice help me say hi..to her... hehehehe 😀😀😀😎

Re-steemed

Hello Cutie! Looks so wonderful out there! Have a great time, enjoy your holidays :)))

thanks belle ! I did !
you, too!

Heb je nog gepunterd?

wat bedoel je ?

edit :
de punt? like ride a ferry?
ik begrijp de "gepunterd" niet :D

Punteren of bomen is een bootje voortduwen met een lange stok. Traditioneel in Giethoorn, maar verder knap irritant om te doen 8-).

lol, nee, helaas niet
en het was te koud !!!
ik zag een Chinees meisje in de fluister boot met parse lippen te koud ook als je jas aan hebt, had spijt dat ik mijn muts in de auto laten liggen toen
het weerbericht belooft dat het een mooi weer wordt maar het was dus niet
pech! hahaha

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.12
JST 0.027
BTC 60185.13
ETH 3290.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44