Sedona, AZ (USA) - Give us your leylines!

in #travel6 years ago (edited)

Previously on Aussie Ninja goes to places and maybe or maybe not gets on top of some things...


This hearty tale of rocks and woo woo directly follows on from this guy and was training for this dude. Previous training sessions where we never got to the top of things are Table Mountain, Kings Mountain and Dog Mountain.

Do we make it to the top of something? The answer may not surprise you.

Where are you?

Thanks for asking, we're in the town of Sedona, in the state of Arizona in the country called USA.. (pronounced OOOSAH!, I believe).

What's in Sedona?

Rocks..!
Heaps of them... and they're amazing!!


We drove up from Phoenix which took about an hour and a half. An hour of that journey had no scenery except for AMAZING and AKWARD CACTI on hills! We honestly never got sick of those guys just waving at us all trip long.

Sedona is a small tourist town.
The locals look super weathered (I imagine summer is pretty brutal) and the tourists look calm. It's takes approximately zero seconds to determine if someone is a local or tourist.

Not only is it famous for rocks...
There is so much of this going on too.

Image produced by Google

I asked around about all of this... the words 'leylines' and 'vortexes' are everywhere you look. It's basically described as the lines of power within the world that make people feel good/at peace/powerful.

Obviously lots of people have their own opinion about it all... but it seems to be totally a business decision by the town... which seems to be working really well... every second shop sells jewelry or yoga classes. One guy I spoke to mentioned that the local Native Americans say that it's not reflective of the history of the area at all... and that they themselves call the guys making bank of the tourists 'White Indians' - basically charlatans pretending to play a character.

It was a pretty intense conversation, I kinda regretted asking, but it was totally interesting nonetheless.

Whether you believe in the natural energy of the place or not... it is spectacular and absolutely worth the visit.

We stayed at the Marriott Courtyard in Sedona which was super nice. The two photos above were just taken from their rooftop bar area, and the whirlpool was so super hot and the gym was one of the newest and best hotel gyms I've ever been to... and I've been to a trillion (like, 30).


The hotel is a little out of town, so you'll probs need a car. There are buses... but y'know, that seems hard.

My partner was looking for some gifts for friends and family for various birthdays and was hoping to get something cool made out of local rocks... everywhere she looked, the merchandise was really daggy AND she was the youngest customer by at least 30 years, maybe 50, possibly 100 and it wasn't until we were leaving town to go to Flagstaff that we saw where the cool indie hipster shops were hangin'... but we couldn't stop because it started to snow for the first time ever this winter.



Brazen words and circles are mine, everything else is from Google Maps

Are there any interesting sunrises that you may have captured in GIF format?

None.

What's there to do in Sedona?

Walking! So many walks!


Our first hike in Sedona was the Tea Cup hike, and it was super lovely. It wasn't difficult at all, and while it was long, the scenery was just stunning.


This hike was unofficially called Tea Cup to CoffePot for no reason.




My partner has been using an app called AllTrails which has been awesome at keeping us on track on all our various hikes. Not this time on the TeaCup trail... the blue is the trail... but the confusing all-over-the-shop red is us walking on the actual trail. The previous blue one was closed for regrowth... but we didn't know that until we pretty much had to retrace our steps once we got to an eventual deadend we weren't expecting.

The app said we'd link up with another trail and get straight back to the start. SO MUCH LIE.
It wasn't a problem... but I did get over it with a half-hour to the finish line... my big ol heavy camera was not my friend by the end.
IMG_52091001.jpg

Did you get to the top?

No, of course not... look at that Coffee Pot... that's not a beginner hike... you'd need a jetpack car to get up there.


We did get to the top of the rooftop bar of our hotel to take this sweet sunrise GIF though:




Categorylandscapephotography
SettingsISO 100 300mm f/5.6 1/100sec
CameraCanon 6D
LensCanon 75mm-300mm
LocationTea Cup Trail, Sedona, Arizona USA

Thanks so much for reading!
All the photos in this post were taken by me except obviously the Googly bits and the AllHike app screen shot.

@steemitworldmapAuthorPost

What's next?

In our next instalment of Did you get on top of something? we tackle our hardest hike yet to try to reach the Vortex at the top of Cathedral Rock... do we make it? Is there a guy up there playing flute while yoga-ing like a boss? Find out next time! Or just ask me in the comments, I can't keep secrets from you guys.


U5dsQr7CGFGwnndcgKT9P6ha21s2vtN_1680x8400.png


U5duMFYJ5U8QRLDXqY5CgKHQcJ5dooB_1680x8400.png
steemaroo divider and ninja upgoats drawn by the incredible @ryivhnn

Sort:  

Ahhh it's so crazy that you were just there! I went to college in Flagstaff, so you were likely near all my old haunts! I miss it up there! Isn't it so crazy how you go from vast nothingness, to some cacti to beautiful red rocks to green trees to pine trees, all in two hours or so? AZ is a crazy place!

Flagstaff seemed way more our style in terms of a cool little city... it totally snowed on us the whole way up there as well. I really liked it, we stayed downtown on like Humphries Rd or something.

AZ is super cool, I really loved seeing the change from Phi-Phi to Sedona, and then again to Flagstaff was totally different again. Love it!

I really liked Flagstaff when I was there. Pretty much stopped in Sedona for an hour. Your map cracked me up. Actually, the whole post. And this part:

in the country called USA.. (pronounced OOOSAH!, I believe).

Dying. lol! Also, some good info in here. This is a great series of articles!

Oh my God, this is hilarious. I love it! Very well written and your map pointing out where stuff is so handy for future travellers.

Thank you young lady! Just trying to be helpful to young people and old people. My blog posts are multi-generational!

Young lady!? You sound like an old fart now.

Hahaha, I mean that's pretty much true. I love to yell at kids on my lawn and 9pm makes me sleepy.

Plus, I'm like 4 months older than Choogirl so I have every right to be as condescending as possible. You'll understand when you get to my age.

Nice, I can picture you sitting on the porch with a shotgun just like Clint Eastwood in Gran Torino.

But like, actually how old are you though?

I feel like I'm inadvertently outing Choogirl here... but I'm 39. Turning 40.... ah, HOLY CRAP... next month.

I wouldn't have guess that you were so ancient, but I definitely respect you more now! Weird that I haven't gotten my invite to your birthday party yet, must be something wrong the the mail delivery.

I'm turning 40 in May. At least we're in good company. ;)

Epic post dude! Other than the obvious lack of sunrise gifs of course!

I know right.... next time maybe!

Actually no, I remember I didn't take any others.... next holiday maybe!
Thanks man!

Woah no way dude! I just drove through Sedona last week, the area around it is so beautiful! Sedona itself wasn't terribly exciting, but the drive between it and the Grand Canyon was absolutely gorgeous. Too bad we didn't run into each other! ;)

Waaaaaaay!
Super too bad... that would have been ace! Impromptu Steem collab!
When drove to the Grand Canyon via Flagstaff, but that whole area is just amazing. Most of it felt like we were actually on a movie set instead of actual real life.

So much ace! I say that all the time! Not really...

Anyways, agreed, I would have loved to meet up! Dude yeah, it was such surreal lanscape. I was driving a vanload of people and most people fell asleep, but I was just in awe the whole time. I don't know how people sleep through stuff that cool!

It was just so different to really anything I'd seen before.... there was definitely no sleeping at our end... just heaps of "COOL!" with pointing and then "WATCH OUT" as we'd gently drift off the road.

Haha that's exactly what I was doing! Just I didn't have anyone awake to keep me on the road haha. Thankfully we made it alive :)

Thankfully x 1,000,000. We would have never known about Wife Mountain if you went out in the most Wile E Coyote way possible...

Phew! Close one! The best mountain of all the mountains.

Awesome post, looks like an amazing place to go for a hike! I love the "did you make it to the top?" no of course not" bit haha, one of these times you need to make it to the top!

Hahahaha, but if I made it to the top... what would happen to this series? But you're right... it's so weird not to get to the top of things, it hurts my soul a little bit.

This is true, keep them coming!

Awesome post my friend @aussieninja! how are you?

Alexandra! My friend!
I've been great... very busy with all my steem projects, but having an absolute ball. I see you've been holding your own competitions... that's so exciting. I'm going to have to participate myself!

looks like an amazing time! Sedona is on my list of places to visit, I love the fiery red of the rocks there! Glad you got to go on some hikes and looks like a nice resort :) Theres a flute playing yogi on the next epsiode??? Can't wait! hope he was upside down playing the flute too

Sedona is so pretty... we were just constantly blown away by it all. It makes you think so much about yourself and your world... suddenly things don't seem like such a big deal when you're staring at 260 million year old rocks.

hahaha, uh oh, you might be in for disappointment... but you'll just have to see!

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=aussieninja
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=sedona-az-usa-give-us-your-leylines


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Heya, just swinging by to let you know you're being featured in our Daily Travel Digest!

Never ever stop writing in your witty style, you had me laughing out loud a couple of times here, haha!

@martibis! This is so rad of you! Thank you so much!! I loved the bit about "as we've come to expect from AussieNinja..." it made me laugh. So good! I can't believe I made the top bit... especially given how amazing everyone's photos were. This is the best!!

World of Photography Beta V1.0
>Learn more here<

Thank you for participating in #landscapephotography

You have earned 5.05 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.01
Server time: 07:55:25
Account Level: 0
Total XP: 88.70/100.00
Total Photos: 6
Total comments: 57
Total contest wins: 0
When you reach level 1 you will start receiving up to two daily upvotes

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 66902.20
ETH 3248.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64