The hunt for the Table Mountain

in #travel7 years ago (edited)

DSC_1348.JPG

I'll put it in a separate post, but it looks like we're hiking through the Grand Canyon for at least 3 days. The tour that we'd like to go on has warned us about the physicality of the hike, and so we're both trying to get some conditioning in 3 weeks before we leave.

Adventure!

On Saturday we decided that Table Mountain in Washington state was adventure worthy for us.

Being a dude that moved continents, I don't really have any things, so we had to buy some hiking boots for me on Friday night, and Saturday was a good chance to wear them in a bit.

Anyone who has been to or heard of Portland, knows that it totally rains of all the times, but it was totally clear and nice the whole drive there... until we got there and then the skies opened up and gave us so many rains.

DSC_1294.JPG

Exciting start!

Like pretty much everyone in the region, we've seen the movie Wild we always get excited to see the PCT markers. The Pacific Crest Trail is a 1,100 mile hiking trail from Mexico to Canada that you can only do during very specific windows throughout the year.

We've had friends that have done it, and it's super hardcore.

DSC_1305.JPG

Mystery!

So, ah, you can see in the pic above, that someone has had to hand write in directions for Table Mountain. Not disconcerting at all. It seems like the kind of trick bears with great penmanship will pull...

DSC_1314.JPG

Disaster! Not really, I mean, kind of!

After about 10-20 minutes, so really, totally at the start, the souls of my feet started really hurting. My brand new clompy shoes were way too clompy, or way too shoe-y. Either way my feet weren't happy. I had brought my other shoes just in case, but it was so super muddy that those shoes would have lasted maybe 2 seconds.

DSC_1326.JPG

Problem Solving!

My partner, who is way smarter than me, suggested that I swap the souls out between my shoes... which I would never have thought of, I was looking around for banana tree leaves I could use as thongs. This helped immensely... do a degree the damage was already done, but to a much more manly degree everything was fine and it was onwards and upwards.

DSC_1334.JPG

Volcanic!

The whole area seems so super volcanic, and annoyingly behest by power lines. It's somewhat fair enough because we pretty much parked in the hydroelectricity power plant, and I really like power, I use it all the time, but still, how is a dude supposed to take photos of weird mossy rocks if there's metal giants all over the shot.
panaroma.jpg

DSC_1337.JPG

Drama!

This is about an hour down the hiking trail... and we heard a whole heap of gunshots. They vibrated through the valley to the point where it sounded like each gunshot was setting off a series of fireworks. So loud!

Obviously I wanted to check it out, but it was really hard to tell exactly where they were coming from. My wife convinced me that popping my head over a crest or around a tree was a good way to get shot. That seemed highly unlikely, but I didn't want to risk copping the nicknames holehead or bulletbrain. No one wants a bad nickname.

We were trapped at this point... the gun shots didn't let up, and we had no idea which way was safe... except the way back... so we called it a day. Neither felt like we'd had a proper workout, but my ol clumpers weren't making friends with my feet so I was pretty okay to head back.

DSC_1349.JPG

HoleHead gets lunch!

The above pic is Table Mountain, taken from the carpark... I'm honestly not sure if we even got anywhere close to it.

Since we were heading back, I decided to ignore all the snacks we packed and focus all my stomachly wants on lunch. We got to the closest General Store/Café but they decided to pack up early just as we ran in... so we drove like maniacs to the next town, my stomach growling the whole way. We found a Bar & Grill with a rough crowd... and got kicked out almost immediately. My partner didn't have her ID on her, and they wouldn't serve us even though we're ancient AND we didn't even want any beer.

By this point I had reached murder death kill levels of hungry and general small-town frustrations, when we found the coolest little hipster Texas BBQ place in the middle of nowhere. It was a full on delicious oasis in a desert of drab. It was amazing. I had two lunches.

We did not need dinner.

The End?

So we learnt that my shoes and feet need a lot more work, and we need to find some hikes to get our quads and calves a massive workout. The Grand Canyon hike will be a full day going down, and a full day going up (with a day of Canyon hikes in the middle) so we've got to get on it. I've never really hiked before, but I'm determined to be the best in the group! Not competitive at all.

All photos featured here were taken by me on my Nikon AW1. The exception is the Panorama shot taken by my partner on her phone.

@steemitworldmapAuthor LinkPost Link


U5dsQr7CGFGwnndcgKT9P6ha21s2vtN_1680x8400.png


U5duMFYJ5U8QRLDXqY5CgKHQcJ5dooB_1680x8400.png
steemaroo divider and ninja upgoats drawn by the incredible @ryivhnn

Sort:  

Heya, just swinging by to let you know you're being featured in our Daily Travel Digest!

Really enjoyed the read a lot here! Pity you couldn't make it to the top, but it definitely sounded like an amazing adventure nonetheless, haha!

Whoa! Thanks so much @martibs! Given the amazing photos you guys have been featuring lately I thought I'd be no chance to make the digest... so I'm super rapt. This is amazing!!

You seem to be doing better on average post payout than I.. I think perhaps there is something to the idea of daily stories etc as they are interesting.. I may shift gears away from the TA stuff as it takes a lot of time and the time vs reward ratio for giving folks that type of advice is nill.. It may be better to just do quality stories like this or like the female in my life does.. I think that following is more loyal than crypto folks.. Great article as always..

Thanks man! If you can have a quick look at the 12 dot points I add in Thing Number 2 in this post I'll do my best to put you forward for the curie vote.

My rep will pass through that pretty soon I'm sure..I'm just trying to fine tune my writing to provide the most reader value and create the most loyal following...

Haha, you already have the most loyal following!!!
But yes, there could be more of us...

I hope so.. I'm about to bring a big or could be big player to the platform... a twitch streamer and my Gf's brother.. he is actually a sponsored professional gamer Lol.. but he has 15k twitch followers.. I'm supposed to talk to him about it today or tommorow.. younger kid (obviously) but may be beneficial in the long run..

Looks really raw up there man, interested to see your Grand Canyon blog if you do one!

Thanks Tony! Yeah, between the volcanic rocks and and the hydro plant set up, it was really raw... but yes, very keen to do a Grand Canyon post, I'm collecting camera parts in order to do it justice.. Thanks so much for your comment Tony!

Thanks for the insights, following

your tour of table mountain is filled with lot of action, drama and adventure. Yes hiking for the first time is a tough job. Have a safe and cool trip next time:) keep sharing @aussieninja

Thanks @kamchore!
Hahaha, you're right... for a quiet walk in the forest it certainly was dramatic!
I'm actually wearing my hiking boots right now to try and wear them in a bit.

Thank you so much for your continued support, hope you're well.

it's always good to do practice. In our custom groom wear Khussa (traditional shoes) in his marriage party. I was not used too for wearing traditional shoe so it gave me bit pain at my big day:). you are most welcome keep sharing

Great post! amazing pictures! love the way you tell your story in between. You don't really expect to hear gunshots while hiking in the nature, must be deconcerting ;-)

... keep on steeming.. I'll be following :-)

Big Up to @steemitworldmap

Thank you!

Ah, it was downright alarming. I wasn't overly worried, but my smarter partner thought she could be hit at any moment... which , honestly, wasn't our primary goal in going on the hike.

Thank you so much! @ipv, I'll try and keep things entertaining. Big ups to @steemitworldmap indeed!

Beautiful! I love the cascades. I plan to run the Grand Canyon R2R2R in October. I had planned to do a three-day R2R of it last year, but couldn't get the back country permit. Anyway, I have already started doing a fair number of trail hill repeats to prepare, both for Grand Canyon and summer mountain races. It isn't the same, but the repeats on a short but steep hill does do a lot for the calves and quads.

OMG! I've been doing the same... I did some hill sprints yesterday and they were death. So good... but I get to the point where I feel like I'm running on the spot not getting anywhere. It's definitely motivating to get stronger legs.

We had dramas with permits for the Grand Canyon too, but my partner somehow sorted it out. She's pretty amazing.

Thank you so much for your comment. We've got a friend who does 100 mile trail runs, so I hear the pain you must go through on your mega races! It's actually amazing what people can do.

That whole permit system is quite the crap shoot. We have tried multiple times. Enjoy your trip! I'm actually running a 100 miler soon. Feb. 3!

Um, wow! Good luck! I'm sure you'll smash it, but that really is an incredible effort! Feb 3 is so close!!

Yes! It is coming up fast. I am already stalking the weather, obsessing about packing, and driving my husband nuts talking about it. 😂😂😂

Bit of a baptism of fire for the brand new hiking boots! Definitely a good call to head back, probs not worth the risk!!

Hahaha, it totally was... they were muddy in the first 7 seconds of the hike... so I was all 'these'll have to work out now... can't take 'em back'. I've worn them a bit this week, so very different from my ninja shoes, but they are super invincible, so when I need to be all manly and stuff they're pretty great.

Hahaha, I know you're right... but I was so curious to what or why someone was shooting... but yeah, kinda difficult to explain to the in-laws why your wife got hit with a bullet because I wanted to see someone shooting. America!

Really good socks make all the difference too. I'm not sure about brands over there but over here we have Bridgedale and they make some awesome thick ones that seem impervious to blisters!

Definitely not the best convo to have with the in-laws, honestly the whole guns in America thing always seems so crazy to the rest of the world! I guess we have people with rifles who go hunting, but not really the same kind of easy access to guns!!

Man that looks super nice. Makes me want to go for a drive up to the rainforest for a walk. Takes about an hour but totally worth it. Great post! Hiking is heaps fun, I've always loved it!

Yeah! That's a great comment! I love to positively influence people like that... I always think of the top end of being so desert-y, so I'm super happy to hear you have rainforests nearby. I really need to visit one day... so much of Australia I haven't seen. it's embarrassing.

WHAT I loved the AW1! I don't know why they didn't sell better!!
I loved this post 😊 you're great at storytelling!
I never get to my destination when hiking... I'm slow and I like to stop and take photos. Now if @mstafford is leading the way to a climbing wall I do go a bit faster for fear of being left behind lol
I hope you guys find some good burn-y hikes.. I have no suggestions as I've never been to Oregon !
Take lots of pics!!

I've had the AW1 since it first came out! I was so super pumped for it.... it was a fifth of the price of my other camera... but with super mega ISO and so incredibly small and tough... and interchangeable lens! Amazing!

I've had it for a few years now... it's the perfect travel camera... the shots can be quite flat, it almost has no depth of field, but for landscape stuff that totally isn't an issue. I'm going to try my new 6D on our hike this Saturday, so we'll see how they compare with the luggin' and the photo takin'.

You know, ironically, I wasn't intending to tell any stories with this post... I was just going to chuck the photos in... but then I kinda wanted to space them out a bit, and well, before you know it daggy headlines and amusing chaos.

Thanks! Don't worry about us... we have all the hiking books and read all the hiking blogs for Oregon, we're sorted!

Hey, I found out about your post thanks to the Steemit World Map, thanks for using it. Keep making amazing content! Cheers

Thank you so much @anomadsoul for your comment and amazing upvote.
I love the Steemit World Map, it's super encouraging me to go out and fill in all the local sites with those little markers. It's so my fun!
I've also been using it to find hikes others have done, and read their experiences... it so much more detail than those quick Google Reviews and so so so much less biased than Yelp. I'm really excited about it and it might honestly be my favourite part of Planet Steem.

Thank you again!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62170.06
ETH 2415.65
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65