Only Kings make it to the top of Kings Mountain

in #travel6 years ago (edited)

Kings Mountain in Tillamook State Forest (Oregon)


Yesterday we continued our training for our Grand Canyon hike in 2 weeks by taking on the Kings Mountain. In the old days, there would be an annual race to the top and whoever made it first, and threw down any challengers would be named King of the Mountain. Very literal naming by the olden days peeps, also, probs not true... or maybe, it should be why it's called Kings Mountain.

We thought we were going on a 9 mile circular hike because I read this post but we must have gone a different way... but that's cool because we were excited a Difficult Trail, and ho boy, that's what we got.

IMG_3636.png

I know I shouldn't be surprised, but I just can't get over how green Oregon is... it blows my mind... we were actually walking in the full on rain, but we hardly felt it because of the tree cover above. Oregon is like, really good at trees. Like, I think it might be it's best skill!

IMG_3648.png

IMG_3661.png

Ahhhhhh, and then ah, this is where we should have Instagrammed the trail or something, because, ah, how could two Aussies ever expect they would walk up a mountain into snow. We'd only been walking an hour or so (admittedly straight up, the elevation was easily a kilometer by this point)... but still, what's with snow being on trails? Still, I was super excited to see it until we bumped into some super nice Canadians who said it was knee deep at the summit.

IMG_3664.png

This photo (below) is so weird me... I know it's just some trees... and I've already chucked in a bunch of trees, but it was the complete nothingness past those trees that got me. We were well and truly up in the clouds, and the whole rest of the world ceased to exist. Ah, apologies to anyone that had any wars or anything you needed some ninja help with... you just didn't exist at that point, nothing personal.

IMG_3684.png

Soooooooooooooooooooo, this was the last photo (below) I took before we turned back.
We were not Kings. Not this time.

I didn't get any photos of the treacherous sections because I was trying not to crash a camera or die... in true dude fashion my priorities were; lil wooza, camera, own life... clearly I've learnt nothing from all those airline safety videos.

My partner was absolutely struggling with her footing in the snow... there were some scrambly sections, which were covered in snow and she was not looking real ninja goat. I was fine, but the snow was ankle deep and I was wearing tracky daks which we getting a bit soaked.

IMG_3685.png

Turning around was a great call, because the trek down was mega hardcore.

We were super jelly legs within minutes... and once we got clear of the snow we started to jog down, which helped with the quad pain, but at that elevation was tough... tough and fun.

We are both reasonably fit, but our legs were absolutely destroyed by the end... we couldn't wait to find the car again. We somehow both developed knee troubles, the jogging down meant we tackled tricky areas really quick, so we were twisting all the different ways... guess are knees just aren't the party animals we thought they were.

Once we got back to the car... all our aches and pains melted away.
Even though we didn't get to the top, it was such a brilliant hike and I honestly can't wait to tackle it again. We'll be stronger and more prepared new time... and it is going to be absolutely sensational in summer.

13/10 Would King Again.

IMG_3695.png

For the lovers of the hiking/photography combo, how do you carry your camera? My guy is a bit of a heavy boofster, and kept swinging and banging into me when hung around my neck, and wasn't so easy access when worn like a man bag (around neck and shoulder)... is there like a bumbag/fannypack thing designed for cameras? I'd love a way to strap it to my hip but with super quick easy access...

IMG_3697.png


Categorylandscapephotography
SettingsISO 320 24mm f/2.8 1/30
CameraCanon 6D
LensSigma 24 mm 1.4 Art
LocationTillamook State Forest, Oregon, USA

Thanks so much for reading!

All the photos in this post were taken by me with my new camera which was so good and I loved it so hard.

@steemitworldmapAuthor LinkPost Link


U5dsQr7CGFGwnndcgKT9P6ha21s2vtN_1680x8400.png


U5duMFYJ5U8QRLDXqY5CgKHQcJ5dooB_1680x8400.png
steemaroo divider and ninja upgoats drawn by the incredible @ryivhnn

Sort:  

your photography is out of this world.
do you know if its possible to get a cheap camera like a phone camera and take REALLY HIGH QUALITY photos?
im trying to get a better camera but i want to go as CHEAP AS POSSIBLE.

Hmmm, photographic technology is so good these days that I'm sure it's possible. Have a look at the bottom of this post and see if that helps at all...

Glad to see the camera getting good use! Loving that shot of the tree with mossy branches (well, the 4 inch kind) looking up.

Thanks dude! It was the first big outing for it and it stood up well.
I had set everything to Auto so I could just concentrate on the hike and had no idea I was taking shots at 1/30... which I'd normally never do without a tripod... but I have to say they came out surprisingly sharp regardless.

Hey, question for you... I shouldn't really be using the photofeed for these sorts of posts should I? It's really just for single super high quality images yeah?

At least it was wide enough that, at least looking at it on my phone I can't tell it's blurry, haha.

As far as Photofeed is concerned, multiple pictures in a post are fine, but it's going to most likely be the first photo that will be the most important, since if we would resteem it that's what everyone sees (without investigating obviously).

Really cool post makes me want to go hiking tomorrow!! followed and up voted looking forward to more post! I'm new to steemit and trying tom get my blog out there if you get the chance please check it out i think you will enjoy it!

Thank you so much Tom!
If you do go hiking tomorrow, please make sure you blog about it! Let me know if you do and I'll come by.

Perhaps next time you'll be worthy of the title. :-D
Great pics!

It was ah, very humbling actually... thinking of yourself fit-ish doesn't automatically mean you'll successfully tackle a big walk... it's definitely given us an idea what we might be in for at the Grand Canyon, and, conversely let us know that we should be able to handle it but it's probably going to be painful.

Thanks dude! First outing with the new camera, it really did alright... some of these I shot from the hip because I kept getting tangled with bags and jackets and raincoats and stuff.

Looks like an awesome hike dude! Good work! Sounds like turning back was the best call! As for transporting gear I either use a Spyder Holster (They are friggin awesome, but the belt would piss me off for hikes/days out) or a backpack which has a bottom compartment for my camera, I'd quite like one of those slings that you can just swivel round, but the backpack does the job really well, it's perfect for walks!

Haha, I just looked up Spyder Holsters on Amazon and 1 camera and 70 gun versions came up... perfect for America. In terms of the sling, do you mean something like this? I'll also have a backpack, with 3 liters of water and all my junk, but ideally I'd like something that allows me access to my camera while I'm walking... so I'm not holding people up too much.

Haha that sounds about right! No, more like this - https://www.amazon.co.uk/Case-Logic-Compact-Protection-Hammock/dp/B002ISXBFI although I guess it would depend if it works with your backpack! Mind you, you may have answered my question there, in which case the Spider Holster attached to your backpack straps would be perfect!

Oh man, it's hard to believe places that green even exist! I need to get out of the desert for a while! Too much beige everywhere!

It's crazy isn't it... I come from a desert country... where summer means brown grass and huge bush fires, and even though I'm surrounded by forest every day I can't get over how green it is.

It does rain a lot, obviously, but in summer Oregon is so super nice. All green, no rain.

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=aussieninja
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=only-kings-make-it-to-the-top-of-kings-mountain


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

World of Photography Beta V1.0
>Learn more here<

Thank you for participating in #landscapephotography, the weekly selection will be released on Wednesday.

You have earned 5.40 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.08
Server time: 03:11:25
Account Level: 0
Total XP: 55.15/100.00
Total Photos: 3
Total comments: 39
Total contest wins: 0
When you reach level 1 you will start receiving up to two daily upvotes

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

Thank you so much for the resteem @tamacvet! That's so super lovely of you!

Money well spent on a camera Ninja. Your day looked much colder than mine by the way.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 66902.20
ETH 3248.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64