[DE - ENG] Arts and crafts in Mexico (Series on Mexio part VI) ✈ 🌵

in #travel6 years ago (edited)

Mexican arts and crafts - the colourfull, playfull and expressive side of Mexico

In diesem Beitrag möchte ich euch die farbige, verspielte und ausdrucksstarke Seite Mexikos zeigen: das Kunsthandwerk (arte sania).


In this post I want to show you the colourfull, playfull and expressive side of Mexcio: its arts and craft (arte sania)


Ich war ja nun zum dritten Mal in Mexiko ✈ 🌵und kenne die Souvenirs für Touristen und einige Lebensmittel inzwischen ganz gut.


Dieses Mal habe ich auch nichts Außergewöhnliches mitgenommen, da ich

  1. nichts brauche und
  2. das, was ich vielleicht mal zu brauchen glaubte, schon auf einem der früheren Aufenthalte gekauft habe.

This was my third trip to Mexico ✈ 🌵and meanwhile I pretty much know the souvenirs for tourists and some oft the
foods.


This time I also didn’t bring anything spectacular with me, since I

  1. don’t need anything and
  2. did already buy whatever I once thought I needed on one of my previous trips.

Trotzdem habe ich meine Fühlerchen ausgestreckt und mich auf diversen Märkten und in Geschäften umgesehen. Und ja, auch auf der 3. Mexikoreise durfte ich noch Neues kennenlernen.

Eine Sache, die mich schon faszinierte, als ich letztes Jahr in Mérida war, sind die Motive aus Sonne und Mond. Beide gehen in diesen Motiven ineinander über.

Nevertheless I “extended my feelers” and browsed around some markets and in some stores. And indeed I was thankfull to actually get to know something new on my third trip to Mexico.

One thing that did already fascinate me one year back in Mérida, are the motives of sun and moon. They are both merging in these motives.


Ich habe wirklich schon Stunden damit verbracht, den Ursprung dieses Motivs zu ergründen. Wenn irgendjemand etwas darüber weiß, bitte kommentiert und verratet mir, was es damit auf sich hat.

Für mich ist der Mond eher ein weibliches und die Sonne eher ein männliches Symbol. Ja, ich weiß, die Artikel im Deutschen sagen etwas anderes, aber in anderen Sprachen ist es wiederum genau umgekehrt 😉

I did already spent hours wondering about the orignal meaning of this motive. If anyone knows something about this, please leave a comment and tell me what it is about it.


In my opinion the moon is rather a female and the sun rather a masculine symbol. Yes, I know, that the German article is saying otherwise, but in other languages it is exactly the opposite 😉

Gerade wegen dieser Verschmelzung eines männlichen mit einem weiblichen Symbol gefallen mir diese Wanddekorationen sehr gut und ich hätte fast eine mitgenommen.

Sie sind aber leider so schwer und klobig, dass ich einfach nicht wusste, wie ich sie in meinem Gepäck verstauen soll.

Das ist aber auch nicht weiter schlimm, denn eigentlich möchte ich daheim nichts anhäufen.


It’s precisely because of this merging of a masculine with a feminine symbol that I like these wall decorations a lot and I almost brought one home.


Unfortunately they are so heavy and chunky, that I simply didn't know how to store them in my luggage.

But that's not too bad, since I don't want to hoarde anything at home.

Das Kunsthandwerk (arte sania) hat in Mexiko einen hohen Stellenwert.

Soweit ich weiß, wird das meiste wirklich von Hand hergestellt. In den touristischen Zentren wie z.B. Playa del Carmen erhält man aber nur Waren von Zwischenhändlern.

Für die Hersteller wäre es natürlich am besten, sie direkt bei ihnen zu kaufen. Ich glaube, es gibt auch Manufakturen oder Ähnliches, wo man sie erhält.

The arts and crafts (arte sania) is of great significance in Mexico.


As far as I know, most of it is actually made by hand. In the touristic centres like for instance Playa del Carmen you only will get the goods of intermediaries.

For the actual producers it would be best to buy them directly by them of course. I guess there are also manufactories or similar, where you buy them.


Ich mag das mexikanische Kunsthandwerk sehr und kann mich gar nicht daran satt sehen. Wenn ihr in Mexiko mal auf einem (richtig, echten, mexikanischen) Markt seid, haltet unbedingt nach arte sania Ausschau.

Ich glaube, dort hat man gute Chancen, sie direkt vom Hersteller zu erhalten. In Mérida gibt es auf einem zentralen Platz regelmäßig einen Markt. Solche Orte sind immer eine gute Anlaufstelle.



I like the Mexican arts and crafts a lot and can’t take my eyes of it. If you ever happen to be on a (real, authentic, Mexican) market in Mexico, you have to keep you eyes open for arte sania.


I guess, there you would have good chances to purchase it directly by the producer. In Mérida there is a regularly market on a central space. Such places are a welcome place to go.



Mir geht es auf Reisen immer so, dass ich Bräuche finde, die ich in Deutschland auch gerne sehen würde, und andere, die ich eher kritisch sehe.

Gegen Ende meiner Reise 2018 bin ich in einem Lebensmittelgeschäft, das Spezialitäten aus aller Welt führt, auf lose Waren gestoßen und dachte sofort: Sowas brauchen wir in Deutschland auch.

Als ich sah, dass man sie in Plastikbeutel füllen muss, dämpfte das meine Freude etwas, aber immerhin durfte ich ein paar neue exotische Düfte inhalieren. 😮🙏


During my trips it always happens to me that I find traditions, I would like to see in Germany as well but also others I regard as critical.


Towards the end of my trip 2018 I came upon loose goods in a grocery store handeling specialities from all over the world and immediately thought: We need that in Germany as well!


When I saw, that one would have to fill them in plastic bags, my joy was dampened a bit, but at least I was allowed to inhale some exotic smells. 😮🙏


Ich stand lange ratlos vor den vielen Kisten und Containern und habe mich dann für Erdnüsse, Haselnüsse und spanischen Paprika (Ob der wohl scharf ist? Edit: Nein, ist er nicht, er ist würzig und leicht rauchig, so wie Paprika sein soll!) entschieden.


For a long time I was standing clueless in front of the boxes and containers and finally picked peanuts, hazelnuts and Spanish pepper (Wonder if it’s spicy? Edit: No it isn’t. It's aromatic, a bit smoky, just like pepper should be!).


Ich habe noch einen weiteren Artikel über Mexiko vorbereitet. Hier findet ihr die letzten Beiträge dieser Serie :

I prepared one more article about Mexico. Here you may find the last posts of this series:





Meine letzten Beiträge // Recent posts





Bildquellen // image sources

{ | | | }

Sort:  

Great picture! I like it :)
You got an upvote, so it would be a nice gesture to follow this account for more upvotes in the future :)

Thank you! I am looking forward to more of your posts.

Please vote me

You mean your comment? Just kidding :P I did.

Resteemed your article. This article was resteemed because you are part of the New Steemians project. You can learn more about it here: https://steemit.com/introduceyourself/@gaman/new-steemians-project-launch . If your post has more upvotes, your post will appear in the trending page. To get more upvotes, you can bid for @steembidbot vote. please check it out here: https://steembottracker.com/

You got a 22.76% upvote from @steembidbot courtesy of @antikesdenken!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 63793.25
ETH 3410.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.59