Off Grid DIY Powerwall Adventures: Cleaning the Solar Array

in #technology6 years ago

Nearly a year ago at this point we announced that we were going off grid due to overly high power bills compared to our actual usage. The idea was to make a DIY Powerwall and we are late but we have it functional finally. Today John asked me to clean the panels which I knew needed it badly and I decided to take some photos to show you how I did it and why it's important. I'll also share how I plan to tweak my methods in the future.

Tools for the task:

Paper towels
White vinegar
Sunglasses

It was a hard job in the sun but that view helped. We generally don't go up on the roof during this time of the day because it's so bright and hot it's just hard to exist up there.

I expected more bird poop but there was honestly more dust than anything else. Anyone that has lived here or even stayed here for an extended time knows Acapulco and Mexico in general is a dusty place.

I just poured the vinegar on and cleaned with paper towels. This is generally my go to thing to do when glass is involved but I wish I would have honestly hosed them down then dried them off from there. Would have saved me a lot of time, vinegar and paper towels.

I ended up with a huge pile of seriously dirty towels like this.

Generally when I clean glass with vinegar I end up with a streak free shine. It was much harder to achieve on these super dirty panels.

See? Gross. That dirt reportedly reduced our power yield by 10 to 15 percent from what John was saying. That's a lot.

So if you've got solar panels and want to get the absolute most out of them you'll likely want to clean them pretty regularly.

For those wondering about the details of our off grid adventures, in the next week I will take photos of everything and explain what we've been doing, our setbacks and where we are now as far as our power situation is concerned.

Did you enjoy this post? Check out the links below for more like this one!

Off Grid DIY PowerWall Update: Our Current Off Grid Internet Setup, Explained Step by Step
Off Grid DIY PowerWall Update: We Now Have Fully Off Grid Internet!
Off Grid DIY Powerwall Update: Building the Rack for the Powerwall

In case you missed them, some of my recent posts:

Adventures Around Acapulco: Random View Point Shots from a Mountain Walk
Farm Update: We Have Baby Chicks! Lots of them!
Acapulco Sunsets: Not Safe, But Free for Those Who Want to Be Free

Hi there, if you're new to my blog here on Steemit check out this for more information on who we are and how we got here.

If you found this valuable don't forget to upvote, resteem or comment on this post!

Thanks for following and supporting us, until next time!

Sort:  

Thanks for sharing this. I'm envious of your off grid set up and I want one of my own someday. Is it enough to meet your power needs? I'll be sure to check your other DIY posts and I look forward to more about this off grid set up.

We could honestly use a few more panels at least to be more comfortable but as it stands we are able to power everything, especially if we are mindful of usage. During the day, we have more than enough power.

A question to address in the follow-up article: I’ve heard a lot of scaremongering about the damage salty air can do to all kinds of electricals but especially ones that are as exposed as solar panels. Any personal observations?

It's something that people in Bonfil have complained about. We've noticed that our tools and such rust more than they would at home but we don't seem to have quite the same issues as other people here. I think it matters how close you are to the beach, it's not so big a problem up on the hill.

Psst: Acapulco IS your home.

Acapulco and Bonfil are separate lol and I live on top of the mountain which is literally a different climate. Stuff does rust faster here though and Himalayan salt lamps are useless unless you like puddles of salt water on your table LOL made that mistake ahahahahah

But yes if you don't use AC the high heat and humidity mixed with saltiness in the area will make for a decreased lifespan of electronics.
This has been alarming to people coming from northern climates/not near the ocean( all of a sudden your usb ports rust or something)

This is a good reminder for anyone with solar panels. Vinegar is a great cleaner and sanitizer, and it does not take long for the dust to build up.

Agreed. its something I intend to try and do more frequently.

Nice and simple DIY to clean your solar panels. Very nice. Thanks for posting. Everyone has a little vinegar and hopefully a pair of shades!

I highly suggest doing this task in the morning or at sunset when shades aren't necessary.

Very cool. I've written at length about what a technological marvel solar panels are, but you're living it. Do you two make use of any portable solar gadgets when traveling?

Nothing portable yet but I see it happening whenever we do any sort of serious traveling.

The solar panels really work. We need to have more for our future. The world will run out soon

Congratulations, your post received 9.69% up vote form @spydo courtesy of @lily-da-vine! I hope, my gratitude will help you getting more visibility.
You can also earn by making delegation. Click here to delegate to @spydo and earn 95% daily reward payout! Follow this link to know more about delegation benefits.

Best way to go off grid, to save money and the planet

You got a 3.39% upvote from @upmewhale courtesy of @lily-da-vine!

Earn 100% earning payout by delegating SP to @upmewhale. Visit http://www.upmewhale.com for details!

You got a 1.15% upvote from @postpromoter courtesy of @lily-da-vine!

Want to promote your posts too? Check out the Steem Bot Tracker website for more info. If you would like to support the development of @postpromoter and the bot tracker please vote for @yabapmatt for witness!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 65128.68
ETH 3442.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52