Acapulco Sunsets: Not Safe, But Free for Those Who Want to Be Free

in #travel6 years ago

Recently there was a bit of controversy over the safeness of Acapulco as far as expats are concerned. When I came here it was not with safety in mind but with freedom. I intended to start a new life, immerse myself in a new culture and all that comes with it.

Now I've talked a bit on the safety here in the past, citing things like my ability to travel freely at all hours without really worrying to be bothered. I've never been robbed or had anyone attempt to rob me even in situations where they could. That's not to say that this isn't a big populated city with a lot of people in it. Anything can happen and sometimes things do, as they do in cities all around the world.

To be clear Acapulco is no where near as dangerous as the media plays it up to be. Even with it's sketchy past the current reality of the city spells a completely different picture. There's violence but in this day and age where there are people there is violence.

I don't think our goals in a place to live or even visit should necessarily be safety, as it's a bit of an illusion at the end of the day. Take a critical look at the idea of safety and you'll understand that obsessing over a thing is a bit pointless. I wanted to find freedom when I came here and I did, but it's not handed to you when you get here on a silver platter.

The freedom we experience here is because we are willing to take it. Having the ability to say no and actually doing it are two very different things. The fact that we won't stop for cops or check our bag at the grocery store (suggested policy that the security are generally pretty pushy about, even though there's no law saying you have to leave it. There's also a notice saying they're not responsible for anything stolen, something I always refer to if they hassle me a lot.

To live a life here the way we do it's not enough to just come here and live, you've got to live fully. I often say "I didn't come all this way to be told what to do" and I stand by that.

So no, Acapulco isn't safe and it doesn't need to be. What we need in this world is more aware people so bad things don't happen to good people.

But Acapulco is free in many ways and it's filled with good hard working people that'll be good to you if you're good to them. That's what I came here for.

Did you enjoy this post? Check out the links below for more like this one!

Acapulco Sunsets: Early Starts Make For Good Nights
Acapulco Sunsets: End of a Busy Day
Acapulco Sunsets: Late Night Thoughts on Change

In case you missed them, some of my recent posts:

Cast Iron Pan Fried Chicken
Jungle Shots: Common Acapulco Nature Sights
Strawberries, Nuts and Cream Overnight Oats

Hi there, if you're new to my blog here on Steemit check out this for more information on who we are and how we got here.

If you found this valuable don't forget to upvote, resteem or comment on this post!

Thanks for following and supporting us, until next time!

Sort:  

It is a beautiful place, but the camera has not transmitted that message clearly.

There is violence in my city in Canada, lots of it I don't let fear of violence stop my travels or I would never go anywhere

Indeed. I remember when I was a child I sat for several hours contemplating the concept of safety. I came to the conclusion that no matter what measures we seem to take as people there's always something we don't expect. Accidents happen, people get sick and bad things happen to good people.

This is why I prefer the non-agression principle instead of a non-violence way of doing things. I've got no problem going psycho on someone trying to hurt me or someone I love lol. We should all have at least that basic sense of self ownership, the desire to strike back when aggressed against

Do you have any filters for taking pictures of the sun (for seeing flares or sunspots)? I think it'd be really cool.

I have no filters lol, just a few lenses. I don't even know how to use manual settings, which'd likely help with that too. I kinda like the rays of sunshine effect though.

We have raw versions of these photos that could be edited with filters

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64573.45
ETH 3441.06
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51