Off Grid DIY PowerWall Update: We Now Have Fully Off Grid Internet!

in #technology7 years ago

I've got big news but only a short time to share it for now, so I'm just sharing the pictures I made John take the night he installed our solar panel, to take our internet off grid. We ran off of battery power that night until the morning where the sun powered our internet for the whole day and charged the battery to full.

It's just a temporary little 24v system, technically running at 21v fully charged. The batteries we're currently using are actually intended for our big system, this was just to get that panel out of the house where it was wasting time and money and on the roof, making electricity.

Stay tuned for the followup post later where I show step by step pictures of the system as it stands now, subject to change at any time.

Check out some of my other recent posts!

Acapulco Bay: Clouds, City and Predatory Birds
The Voluntaryist Dogs
Lily's Sensitive Plant: Cool Action Photos It Closes When You Touch It

Sort:  

Freedom from the system :)

Love it! @lily-da-vine

Hi @lily-da-vine - mine has been sitting on top of my ancient old motorhome providing energy for laptops and lights (LED of course, although there is one 20W neon in the mix as well, less frequently used) since about mid 2015.

I'll never be a griddy again - I'll rather go candles and a pedal gennie if ever need be. And my water comes from Above as well...

Enjoy your direct link to universal energy - much more efficient, reliable and pleasing than having to pay for dependance!

@lily-da-vine You are addicted to solar Power :P

I just want consistent electricity :)

so sun is only great source for consistent electricity

We installed panels and a backup battery two years ago and love it! I can monitor our energy generation constantly and there is definitely a difference between sunny days and rainy ones, with a huge decrease on some (not all) cloudy days, but nonetheless, we are incredibly happy about our local home energy generation!

We had a small system 4 years ago and it left us wanting an even bigger one, which we're now building :)

technology is growing up day by day.
it will be more and more beautiful...

Great article friend

Spectacular! it continues that like that you have my support :D passes for my blog and sees my new content, you have my vote :D

That is a nice technology

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 58984.78
ETH 3102.33
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.40